We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”

Hotel Alte Post Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Oberammergau
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

the staff were lovely and joked with us at my daughter asking for a mouse ice cream the food was excellent too

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RINGSTEAD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    91
    36
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Schnitzel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Superb Bavarian fare. Excellent service. Reasonable price.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank AmateurAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Located in the center of the old town, the restaurant at the hotel provided an outdoor, umbrella covered patio to enjoy a quick lunch. The food and service were good and the prices were reasonable. The sitting was nice and we got a good view of the wonderfully painted old buildings.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Up4aTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“View and Location Only Good Things About It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I ate here (on Frommer's recommendation) in May 2012. I can't understand the positive reviews on TripAdvisor as we had a very poor dining experience. As others have noted the location and street views are excellent. The big street front picture windows give even indoor diners a nice people-watching view. The food is typical Bavarian with prices on the high side. However, in this case the high prices do not buy quality. The food was like something served in a retirement home cafeteria. Prepared and served with little care or interest, it was bland, over cooked, over-sweet, and over salted - no appeal whatsoever. My salad was ok, but the schnitzel was small and very greasy, and the fries looked and tasted as though they had been reheated by being run through the fryer multiple times. Bad fries, really? Neither one of us could finish our food, and to make make matters worse, our waiter disappeared when it was time to pay. We eventually were led to the hotel reception desk to pay our bill.
Bottom line: Would we eat here again? Never, never, never! Stay away.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James_In_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
344 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Had a wonderful lunch here on a sunny Saturday in April--perfect spot to watch the world go by after the shops close...I had an excellent gulaschsuppe (I eat gulaschsuppe at every meal if possible!) and my husband had a meat platter.....good for a light lunch if you're planning to eat a heavy German meal for dinner...and of course, the beer (Hacker-Pschorr) was outstanding as well! Friendly staff, courteous service, and good outdoor dining location!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Alte Post Restaurant also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Hotel Alte Post Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing