We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice and warm restaurant..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Wolf

Restaurant Wolf
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ankaraAnkara
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a nice and warm restaurant..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The atmosphere is congenial to the atmosphere of town because of being well decorated and giving you the feel of being in a warm Alpine town's restaurant. The stuff is friendly and the service is quick enough. The waitress in her traditionla clothes had always a smiling face and friendly:) We tried steak in Vienna style and it tastes good with wild-berry marmelade. Prices are a bit high but it is acceptable when you compare the others' in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UgurCetinkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    62
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
434 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“We had afternoon menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in 1972 and loved it so definitely wanted to go to the restaurant again. It was mid afternoon and the menu was limited. I had pork roast with slices of very bready dumpling that was not so good but the meat and the sauerkraut was.

My husband had mixed salad with strips of hot roasted chicken which he liked very much.

We shared an apple strudel with great vanilla icecrem but the strudel seemed mostly tasteless dough - a disappointment so all in all it was a mixed meal in quality.

The atmosphere was warm and comfortable even with an old tiled heating oven as you see in Ludwig's castles.

Prices were good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for dog lovers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel has a dog training centre attached, for obedience, agility and assistance dogs. There are also rooms which are dog friendly so we were not surprised to see dogs in the restaurant.
We found the staff very friendly, although a bit flustered with one large group and about 5 other tables occupied. The menu wasnt terribly exciting and the food was okay.
The decor had lots of matching gingham prints on windows, cushions and lamps, it was pretty but dated, and the cushions were a little stained. I am a dog lover, but I noticed a stale dog smell that was not pleasant, and a sense of lots of dog hair about, although I didnt actually see any. It had been snowing for a couple of days and the dog owners had allowed their dogs to toilet right next to the door outside and in the pathways. it made navigating the path a bit trickier.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whyallagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite Resturant here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Wolf
This is our favorite restaurant in Oberamergua , we make sure we go at least once if not 2 or three times when we visit . The food is delicious! The service is always always awesome! They are kid friendly and pet friendly :) We highly highly recommend you pay them a visit , you will not be disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burkettfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremly good food, extremly nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was there with my girl-friend twice. The food was extremly good. Even for vegetarian you find 4 good dishes. I have rarely eaten so good. It was a great atmosphere and the waitresses were very friendly.

Next time in Oberammergau, I will eat there again. I hope they will not change by prices or the quality of food, like many successfull restaurants do.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Testii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Wolf also viewed

Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
Oberammergau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Restaurant Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing