We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of greatest services ever!”
Review of Hotel Kopa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kopa
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We spend in this family hotel 2 night. Can't stop talking about the service! One of the best ever!
Very friendly to the kids (give them candies every day), always have time to explain and help, always smiling. Fluent English.
They change without any problem our room, because we needed an extra bed, instead the baby cot in the first room.
The room was spacious. Not much in the room, but still comfortable. Also the walls are very thin.
They allowed us to use their fridge in the kitchen.
The breakfast was more we could ask. Really.
The only real problem of this great place (and the town generally) - lock of parking place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kopa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Kopa for a three-day weekend and to enjoy the sledding with our small son. The property had obviously been renovated -- not the *best* quality work (looked like a DIY job), but the rooms were large and warm, the cable included a few English channels, the breakfast offerings were expansive, and the owners have outfitted a small sitting area with drinks and snacks (very reasonably priced).
According to the certificates on the wall of reception, this hotel is a regular for the religious pilgrims who visit Oberammergau.None seemed present while we were there -- just other families like ours.
More of a pension-feel than hotel, and cozy and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButterPretzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights. Central to the stunningly beautiful village of Oberammergau. Functional, scrupulously clean. Does not cater for supper but there are abundant traditional Bavarian restaurants just round the corner. Breakfast is great!

Room Tip: Book well ahead and speak to Sandra.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The room is big and light. bathroom is big and clean. Bed is very comfortable. Avery day you have a small chocolate on your bed. Tea and coffee available 24 h. Breakfast includes tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bread, ham, cheese, eggs, cornflakes, and fruits.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DariaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in Oberammergau, to attend 'the play' on September 23rd 2010. Arrived on Wednesday 22nd Septermber 2010. Staff very attentive and carried bags from coach to our rooms for us (and also back to the coach from our rooms on departure). Most of the staff speak excellent English and the overall level and quality of service just cannot be faulted.
----
The hotel is now called the Hotel Kopa; but was previously the Bayerischer Loewe.
----
Things you may want to know about, include:
1. There is no lift in the hotel, so getting to rooms means climbing at least one or two sets of stairs. Both sets of stairs are quite steep.
2. Location is very central within Oberammergau and is about a 5 minute walk from the theatre (for the passion play).
3. The rooms I saw (2) were both very good; flat screen TV, shower, WC; beds very comfortable ... limited storage (one wardrobe), but for our purposes, perfectly adequate.
4. We had to check-out of our room by 9am ... which is quite prompt by most standards; however, it was still possible to enjoy breakfast through to 10am.
5. Hotel provide kettle and tea/coffee/snacks on 1st floor (next to the veranda) charges apply; 1 euro, for tea/coffee ... and a basket to leave payment, so trust you to be honest.
---
In closing, I do want to enthuse about the staff.
Unfortunately, during our 2 day stay; quite a number of our party were stricken by a bug causing fairly serious diarrhoea and vomiting (note, our party of 42 were staying in several accommodations in Oberammergau,so no particular hotel could've caused the this. It definitely appears to have been something that was 'going around').
One of those that was affected by the bug was my 14 year old daughter.
All of the staff were extremely helpful and very kind. (Particularly Paitra, not sure that I've got the spelling correct there, but she was just fantastic!). Even the restaurant staff asked about my daughter, and wanted to do anything they could.
Basically very genuine and kind people.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beetlegeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Bayerischer Loewe has a great location, in the center of town, and the innkeeper was very nice, but that is where the benefits end. This hotel is in desperate need of a redo. The carpets are worn. The bed squeaked so badly it woke me up every time I moved at night. The tub was equipped with a shower head, but only half of a shower door and the drain was clogged. The decor is just worn and stark. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed for 7 nights in August 2006. Central location in town made for easy walk to everything. Celebrated my wife's birthday here with the help of the staff. Clean rooms and incredible personal service. Excellent food at all meals. Staff willing to prepare requested dishes. We still email the owner and keep tabs on local news. We will definetly go back again and you should consider staying there. The restaurant should not be missed.


Thank SavannahHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turmwirt
Hotel Turmwirt
#16 of 25 in Oberammergau
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#6 of 25 in Oberammergau
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kopa

Address: Dedlerstr. 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Oberammergau
Price Range: $97 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kopa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing