We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Gaestehaus Richter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaestehaus Richter
Ranked #3 of 14 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Host frau Paula was the best! Like going home. Superb breakfast. What's not to like. Go down the street to visit authentic wood carver! Just ask frau Paula! She will take excellent care of you. Don't expect US amenities, but down home quality!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchGerardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our stay at the B & B was great as it's away from the crowds but close enough to walk into town in 5 minutes and suited our needs as a couple and 2 singles travelling together. We liked this much better than a large hotel and the personal, welcoming and assistance Paula gave us was appreciated. My single room on the first floor was small but adiquate with ensuite and no airconditioning but being summer I was able to open the window and enjoy the fresh air. My friends stayed in a large double room with ensuite which was very comfortable. Breakfast consisted of juice, cerial, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, toast , crossants, and Paula cooked a boiled egg for each of us. The coffee was very good. We ate in the breakfast room which is pleasant and there is a big wood heater which must heat the whole place up in winter. We booked 3 rooms but we were only given one internet code so only one of us could use our computer on our stay. When we asked about it Paula gave me acess the next morning for an hour before we left and let us check out at 11am as one of party was unwell and Paula was very understanding and although we would of stayed another night they were fully booked. Obrammergau is a lovely small town which we liked very much and hope to visit another time in the future and stay at Gaestehaus Ritcher again. Thank you Paula from Australia.

Room Tip: If walking up stairs is a problem , book 1st floor room. Stay a couple of nights and get to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleenlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have stayed at Paula Richter's twice and both times Paula has been warm and welcoming, the rooms have been very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast has consisted of a wide variety of fresh, local products. The first trip was in the spring and the Gasthaus was full. We had our 1-year-old son with us and Paula had set up a baby cot in our room for him. She also provided a high-chair for him at breakfast. We used a small kitchen space she has for her guests and were welcomed to make ourselves at home in the breakfast room anytime during the day. Our second visit was in December and the Gasthaus was almost empty. Paula brought a few of her grandson's toys upstairs for our son to play with on this visit, complete with a little push-car that she was happy to have him drive up and down the hall. Our breakfasts were served at the table, rather than buffet-style, this time but we still had a wide selection to choose from.

The experience that most stands out for us was on the day we left from our second stay. We couldn't find anyone to pay for our room, so we left a note on the desk assuring them we would forward payment when we got home. The next day we received an email from Paula apologizing that she was not there to say goodbye to us. She had had a family emergency. She offered to let us pay by credit card or (and this was the incredible part) we could wait and pay for our stay the next time we came to visit her, even though we had no reservations for a future stay. Of course, we paid by credit card but we were left with such a warm feeling that she would trust us like that.

We can't say enough good things about Paula. She does a great job of making you feel welcome in her home but also gives you enough space so you never feel smothered. We highly recommend Gaestehaus Richter and will stay again the next time we visit Oberammergau.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have lived in Germany for five years and have brought friends and family to Bavaria several times. Every time we visit Oberammergau (this was our fifth time), we stay at the Richter Gasthaus.

This is a B&B - not a full service hotel. Don't expect a concierge on duty all of the time, but there will be a family member on duty to help you, or a note posted in your native language to let you know when someone will be available.

Rooms are what you would expect at a B&B, and maybe a bit more. You do get a view of the local mountain from your balcony, and it is only a very short walk into town. The owners are well embedded into the local town culture (their son played the starring role in the 2010 Passion Play!). They speak English very well, and will go out of their way to help make your visit to the town extra special.

On a 2011 visit, Paula ordered pizza for us (4), picked it up, and let us use the common area for dinner. Want to rub elbows with the locals? Stay here and strike up a conversation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I've put off reviewing this hotel from our trip because I don't really know how to rate it. I'll give it an average rating but hope you'll read the whole review and decide for yourself. We reserved two rooms with a view of the mountains several months in advance. Paula e-mailed us promptly and told us she had reserved rooms 2 and 3 for us and that they were side by side with balconies looking towards the mountains. Due to some confusion about the dates we were staying and whether there was a bus to Neuschwanstein Castle I exchanged several e-mails with Paula. She never mentioned changing our rooms and she told me that we could take their free NATO bus to the castles. Her e-mails were always very friendly and welcoming. However on the day we arrived Paula was a little cool. We were early and the rooms weren't ready yet but we explained that we knew they might not be and that we only wanted to leave our luggage while we explored the town. She agreed to that and said the rooms would be ready in a half hour. About an hour later our husbands decided to return to the B&B and check in. When my sister and I returned an hour after that we found them in rooms 4 & 5. One on the first floor (American 2nd flr) and one on the second floor (3rd). Since they didn't know which rooms we were suppose to have and had already settled into the rooms Paula would have had to reclean them if she was willing to move us to the ones we were supposed to be in. At that point I decided not to ask to move as Paula was still cool towards us and was not confirming our seats on the bus to the castles. She said she didn't know if the bus was going and wouldn't know until 4 pm. Since we only had one day to visit the castle and it was the main reason we were there and her bus was the best or only option I didn't want to alienate her. The room (#4) my husband and I were given was definitely not as good as the one we had reserved(no balcony, no view of mountains and the sink was in the room not the bathroom). Later after returning home and checking her website I found it was advertised at a lower rate but we were charged the higher rate for the balcony room. We also could not get the English stations on our tv and when we told Paula she said she was busy and she'd see about it when she had time. We never did get any English stations even though she asked us about it the next day. Our companions' room also did not have a balcony (did get English stations) but overall the room was better than ours. At 4 pm we looked for Paula to confirm the seats on the bus. She had left a note for another guest who hadn't checked in yet saying she was leaving the building and gave him a telephone number to call if he had a problem. There was no mention of when or if she would be back. Since the only day we had for the castles was the next day we really needed to know quicky if we had seats or not. We walked to the tourist office to see if there were any other options and they were able to call somone (believe it was a member of Paula's family) and confirm that the bus was going and put our names down for four seats. Later that night Paula left a note on our door telling us that the bus was going but if we had not gone to the tourist office we wouldn't have known until the next morning, probably too late to find another way if necessary. The next day everything changed. At breakfast (which was very good) Paula was very friendly, chatting about the festival that day in Oberammergau and she offered to take us to meet the bus at 1 pm. She also offered to take us to the train station the next morning and said we could have breakfast early since our train left early. From that point on everything went smoothly and we had no complaints. I don't know if we offended Paula in some way the first day or she was just tired as she seems to run the B&B completely by herself. If we had gotten the rooms we'd reserved (or at least an explanation and reduction in price) and some effort had been made to help us confirm the bus seats that she had originally offered I would probably be giving this B&B an excellent rating. Instead we spent a stressful afternoon wondering if we would get to the castle and returned home feeling that we were suckered on the rooms. To be fair the location is very good, close to both the train and town center and the rooms were also very clean. I guess my advice is that if you stay here be more of the "pushy" American and insist on what you want and reserved. We tried to be nice and it spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jahrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

During our three week vacation in Europe, by far the best place we stayed was Paula Richter’s Gastehaus in Oberammergau. Her breakfast buffet was exceptional for the variety and freshness of foods served. We ate on a charming porch with a view of the mountains. Our room was large and quiet and the bed was particularly comfortable. Paula was so friendly and helpful, even coming to the door to wave good-by went we left.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A lovely Gästehaus. The room was clean and well-appointed, the bed comfy, the location convenient (with free parking outside), breakfast delicious (with lots of local produce - always a plus), and the hostess welcoming - what more could one want? I'll certainly come back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberammergau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#8 of 25 in Oberammergau
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Blaue Gams
Hotel Blaue Gams
#1 of 4 in Ettal
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaestehaus Richter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Richter

Address: Welfengasse 2, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaestehaus Richter 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gaestehaus Richter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing