We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Guesthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gastehaus Neu

Gastehaus Neu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberammergau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gastehaus Neu
Ranked #10 of 12 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guesthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

My daughter, sister and I stayed at the holiday house run by Anton and Penny Neu just a few weeks ago. The guesthouse was our favorite accomodation on our 2 week trip to Germany and Austria. The guesthouse is right by the river and you can see the ski runs and the beautiful Bavarian Alps from the front porch or the bedroom balcony. Penny told us about several local celebrations which we were able to participate in easily. Breakfast rolls and pretzels were provided early every morning in a box for pickup at our leisure.

We could not have been happier with the large holiday house and the friendly service that Penny and Anton provided. We hope to go back and stay when we are in Germany again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Spent two nights at Pension Neu and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The proprietor was delightful and the location great. Value was even better!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosaint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is a terrific guesthouse, in a perfect location with very helpful hosts. The room was lovely, the view was breathtaking, breakfast was plentiful, and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. This is probably the best value accommodation I have ever stayed at.

This is one of the most beautiful areas I have ever visited in my life and I really didnt want to leave. I would definately like to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus-wonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Penny & Anton are brilliant hosts, with local knowledge of where to go & what to see. Their breakfasts are great & are always willing to advice when needed. They are situated 5 mins from the centre which is great for meals & evenings out!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I spent our first night in Germany at Gastehaus Neu. Unfortunately, with our late booking of the room, we were unable to stay there for additional days. Oberammergau is a beautiful and charming town and Penny and Anton Neu were wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Clean, comfortable, and affordable, with an incredible view (from my room/balcony). Penny was friendly and helpful. Oberammergau is a beautiful, cozy place, and this was the most enjoyable leg of my trip. I will be staying here again if I'm ever in the area.

Be sure to see Schloss Linderhof and its grounds - gorgeous!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helloitsanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

This was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and it was a great one. Penny and Anton are fabulous people who made our stay very enjoyable. Breakfast was ready as we walked in the dining area every morning. Penny also checked our daily itinerary and made great suggestions to get the most out of our visit to the area. The establishment was very clean, comfortable, and located in a great spot. My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this B&B very much and we strongly recommend it. This was one of the highlights of out trip to Germany.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ammergauer Hof
Ammergauer Hof
#4 of 25 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#7 of 25 in Oberammergau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gastehaus Otto Huber
Gastehaus Otto Huber
#1 of 12 in Oberammergau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaestehaus Richter
Gaestehaus Richter
#2 of 12 in Oberammergau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Neu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Neu

Property: Gastehaus Neu
Address: Passionswiese 3, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holiday in the traditional Bavarian family B&B home or holiday house (both for non-smokers) of an Oberammergau woodcarver and watch him at work in his studio!Quiet and sunny situation very near Passion Play Theatre, hiking and cross country ski trails. 2 mins walk from town centre.Parking in front of the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing