We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great beauty of Southern Bavaria is enhanced with Pension Neu!”
Review of Gastehaus Neu

Gastehaus Neu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberammergau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gastehaus Neu
Ranked #8 of 14 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I found Pension Neu through friends' great raves. I as not disappointed with the simple, traditional, Bavarian gasthaus Neu. Penny and Anton immediately made me feel welcome. I have returned to Pension Neu 5 times and have brought my family there when they were visiting Germany. The location is great and being in Oberammergau makes the visit all the more special. The breakfast one of the best I have found. You will enjoy Penny's wit and wisdom as well as Anton's wonderful personality. Pension is wonderful in Winter as well as Summer.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2008

I am temporarly in Germany for 120 days and my wife came over to spend a week. I researched various options for us in hopes of finding the perfect location. Through word of mouth I came upon Oberammergau. After searching the internet, I found the Gastehaus Neu. I emailed Penny and she was most helpful.

I was praying that all would be nice as I wanted my wife to really enjoy our time. We spent 2 nights and it's safe to say that we loved every minute of the stay. Oberammergau is a wonderful location and the Gastehaus Neu is the perfect place to stay. Penny is a great host. We could look out the window from our room and see the beautiful snow covered mountains. Penny also gave us great advice on where to site see.

The day we were to leave and move on to another location, I found that I mistakenly reserved a hotel that was no where near where we were headed. Penny helped us find a wonderful hotel near where we were going and faxed the hotel canceling our previous reservations.

I highly reccomend that if want to stay in the Garmisch area, stay in Oberammergau and at the Gastehaus Neu. We enjoyed everything about our stay. Also, the price is unbelieveable. What a deal!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We requested availability information from a number of pensions from the Oberammergau.de website and receive only a couple of "not available" responses after follow-up emails. We then emailed Penny for information and got an immediate reply.

That was the first good impression. This was followed by a great location, great room, great breakfast and delightful breakfust area. We enjoyed Penny's warmth, hospitality, professionalism, and delightful English language conversations with her.. She gladly offered info on local places to eat and helped us navigate the area. She even went the extra mile and helped make a call (in German) for us to change a reservation in another town. Our 15 days in Germany were made special by great stays and great people like Penny.
Arnie & Kay

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AandKtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Gastehaus Neu is a very friendly little pension run by an English/German couple, Penny and Anton Neu. My wfie and I enjoyed a very relaxing 3 days staying with them and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Just spent, February 23 through 28, 2008 at a superb, Bread and Breakfas (B&B), the "Gastehaus Neu" in Oberammergau. Ideally located in Oberammergau, with only a 2-minute walk into town, and with ample free parking in front.

It essentially adjoins the Passion Play theater. Each room is spacious, with private bathroom and shower, and international Cable TV. Moreover, majestic views of Bavaria from each window and as you walk out the front door! An enjoyable breakfast awaits you in the morning.

The owners, Anton and Penny Neu are the gracious hosts. Anton is an Oberammergau native and a woodcarver with his studio behind the Gastehaus - where you may see him at work. Penny, originally from England, is a wealth of information of Bavaria. She can afford you with suggestions and directions to all the memorable and scenic areas.

In addition to the B&B rooms, there is also a “Holiday House”, which is a large 2-floor unit, for families. Rates start at about 26 Euros’, per person, but call or e-mail Penny, for complete pricing and availablity.

We cannot recommend more highly, this wonderful B&B and family.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 4,634,717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cencho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberammergau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
Hotel Ferienhaus Fux
#3 of 25 in Oberammergau
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaestehaus Richter
Gaestehaus Richter
#3 of 14 in Oberammergau
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 25 in Oberammergau
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 25 in Oberammergau
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#8 of 25 in Oberammergau
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kopa
Hotel Kopa
#5 of 25 in Oberammergau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Neu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Neu

Address: Passionswiese 3, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range: $26 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holiday in the traditional Bavarian family B&B home or holiday house (both for non-smokers) of an Oberammergau woodcarver and watch him at work in his studio!Quiet and sunny situation very near Passion Play Theatre, hiking and cross country ski trails. 2 mins walk from town centre.Parking in front of the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing