We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garni Edlhuber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garni Edlhuber
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Edlhuber in June of 2012. We took the train from Munich, which was a very easy trip to make (a little under 2 hours). It was a little bit of a walk (about a mile) from the train station, but we were able to walk it with our luggage.

We were pleasantly surprised by our room. It had a double bed made up very nicely, a round table with four chairs, and a couch/day bed type thing. The bathroom was very clean and a decent size with a stand up shower and a heated towel rack. There was a door that lead out to a personal deck with a view of the mountains and a stream running behind the room.

The breakfast room was very nicely decorated and the food was good. We had cheese, meats, pastry, hard boiled eggs, etc. After breakfast we talked with the Inn Keeper and had a nice conversation even though we speak no German and her English was limited. Unfortunately we had to leave early the second day to catch a train, but she was nice enough to lower our bill as we would be missing breakfast the next day.

When we cam back from our hike, the room was made up very nicely again and clearly had been cleaned thoroughly. The only real negative we had was the mini-fridge in the room. It worked but really didn't get that cold. I would certainly recommend going to the store in town and getting some good German beer (very cheap at the store) and bringing it back to the room and sitting on the deck out back. You may want to look for some ice though as well.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Mittenwald at Hotel Edlhuber. A lot of the places looked very nice, but you really can't beat the price that we had. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

ny wife and I stayed here for our second honeymoon last december.
It was a perfect holiday. great accomodation. great food. great atmosphere. great people and stunning scenery. i could not recommend this place high enough. Frau edlhuber and her mother were a nice as can be.
if you want a traditional christmas with snow and the "dickens" image then try mittenwald and this guest house............brilliant

Room Tip: up until dec 21st is the low season........great prices for a christmas(ish) break........munich air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mason n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at this property during our tour of Germany and Austria. The room was very large compared to many others we have stayed in. It had a small fridge and a large tv with a very comfortable bed. Look out the sliding glass door in the back to see snow capped mountains. Breakfast was very good and, despite some of the other reviews I have read, we found the owner very nice and helpful. The town shuts down after 7 so having the nice tv was nice. We ate a great dinner at the Mittenwalder Brewery just down the street and hiked the gorge across the street. Great stay and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: We had the first room on the right as you enter the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the location. The room was clean, but the refrigerator was broken as well as a lamp. The hostess was so odd and not very welcoming. Breakfast was great the first day, but clearly the same food was used the next day. There are so many quaint, charming guesthouses in Mittenwald that offer rooms, look around before settling on this one. Good value but lacked charm.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaLandlocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, VT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a similar experience to the previous reviewer, and felt like we were "bothering" the innkeeper. Having said that the rooms were clean and spacious and a good breakfast. There are other places closer to town that we might try next time if we returned that would perhaps be more friendly and closer (walking distance) to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvd_stowe_vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here because I saw it ranked high on TripAdvisor. The hotel is nice enough, the rooms were pretty spacious and we had a great view. However, it felt like each time we came to the hotel or needed anything that we were intruding. I guess it's a family establishment and there are only so many people available, but we were never really able to find someone to help us with things without feeling like we were intruding on them. Mittenwald is also about 15 minutes from Garmisch. Nice enough town, some neat things to do, but you don't need more than a day here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wagnerlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Togglyatti
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed for one night last year in April. House-type hotel founded just for few rooms is situated in the border of marvelous town called Mittenvald, just nearby the mountain and river. We had lux room, which contained from living room with small kitchen (all needed furniture were included), bedrooms with comfortable beds and balcony with a spectacular mountain view. Really friendly hostess Angelica speaks good English and is ready to answer your all questions. During breakfast we were serviced by kind old lady – it was so cute! We had really delicious home-made food (cold meat, cheeses, jams, and boiled eggs) and our table was served really charming.
City its own we liked the most in all Bavaria. Great mountains behind the tiny painted houses –we were like in fairy tale! Just do not forget - they take only cash.
Highly recommended and we are definitely coming back this Spring!
Greetings to Angelika from Russia!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inessa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#2 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gastehaus Doring
Gastehaus Doring
#8 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Edlhuber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Edlhuber

Property: Hotel Garni Edlhuber
Address: Innsbrucker Str. 33, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garni Edlhuber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Edlhuber Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing