We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Place in a Quaint Mountain Village”
Review of Hotel Bichlerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bichlerhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed here for two nights during a short trip to Munich and Bavaria in July. Upon arrival at the bed and breakfast, they just asked for our names and took us to our room, which was on the first floor and had direct access to a patio and the garden, no hassles with credit cards or identification. The room itself was good sized and was starting to look dated, but it was certainly clean and comfortable. They beds and matresses were nothing, but after a couple of days hiking around they could have been rock hard and we would not have complained. They provided an excellent spread for breakfast and the atmosphere of the place was very welcoming. We did not try any of the other meals there, but basically due to the abundance of wonderful food in the town. They have a pool and "spa" but other than some time in the sauna, we did not use those facilities.

Mittenwald itself is beautiful in a valley with towering mountains on both sides. A close walk from the hotel to literally everything in town due to its central location. As it was up a quieter street, there was no noise at night. What is fantastic about the town is the access to well marked walking and hiking trails, the friendly people and the history surrounding violin making.

Overall if you are expecting 5 star, this is not the place to go, but if you are looking for a friendly, clean and affordable place to stay for a night or two then have a look at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koldkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bichlerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

Really liked this hotel. It has a good location. The restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssaintsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

It was our 3d time in Mittenwald. We love this place...small village, very good for skiing and hiking. This time we dicided to stay in the Hotel Bichlerhof ( was very affordable Christmass and New Year packeges). From the website we could see that it was a small hotel max 20 people with swimming pool and spa, sauna. When we arrived on 22d of February, the receptionist met us and shown us our room. Everything was quite fine, but the only things bothered us that the whole information was written in German language, including menu for dinner. From the whole personal the only one receptionist could speak English a bit, but she was not in the hotel every day. Nobody explaned us the sistem about dinner menu reservation, but we are very friendly and international family and tryed our best to understand German. The worst things happened on Christmas dinner.... as we reserved our Christmas dinner menu, we were really looking forward for this evening because it was going to be nice concert in Bavarian tradition and so on.. So when we got back from slops tired and happy at around 17.45 we realised that nobody in the hotel appart the one chef , who was surprised to see us there. He tryed his best in English to explain us that Christmas dinner was at the other hotel and at 17.30 and we have to go there. So in a 30 min we were in the right place but the meeting lady was not happy to see us , because we were late ( was not our folt) and concert got started already and she cannot do anything right now...so she asked us to come back in 1 hour to find our table. We were really upset, we were the only English speaking family in the hotel and nobody let us know about Christmas dinner time. ( the hotel website has 3 languages).
So, dissapointed in their care of guests, we had our our dinner in the other restaurant.
Next morning the owner of the hotel said it was our problem, everything was written on the menu list ( but in German). But it was our skiing holiday and we tried to forget about it were enjoing ourselfs on the slops. So New Year night was our next celebration....and would you believe???? ....
We got all information about New Year night dinner from personal, when we got to the right place the meeting lady did not find us in the reservation list. When we asked her to call to the hotel she did it and offered us to go back to our hotel to have a dinner. We were pissed off... got back to the hotel and our chef did not expected us as well....we did not care...good things we were not the last ones and could find one table for 3 person...which made him angry.
Next morning the owner tried her best to be choked and said she does not understand anything.

That is how we spend our holiday in the Hotel Bichlerhof Mittenwald.
Will never stay there again. Absolutely disorganized working personal.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galyamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I spent quite a bit of time researching hotels in Mitenwald and decided on the Bichlerhof as the one that could best suit our needs. It was close in, had lovely full balconies and promised us two rooms on the same floor (we are family of 5). Of all the German hotels that I booked over the internet, the Bichlerhof was the least responsive, but I did receive a confirmed reservation in early April for our July stay. I reconfirmed by email a few days before we arrived.

When we arrived, the office was dark. Finally, we found an employee (non-English speaking) and told him our name; it was obvious that he was not expecting us. He called the propriatress on a cell phone, talked to her, and gave the phone to me. She said, "I'm so sorry but I don't have rooms for you. I have put you in the Riegler. Give the phone to [the other guy.]" I immediately remembered the review of the sister hotel, the Alpen Rose, where the same thing happened to someone at that hotel.

The Riegler was only about a block away. The guy said that the Bichlehof lady had called THAT MORNING to see if they had rooms for us. The rooms shown to us by the Riegler were spacious, but didn't have the balcony or view we'd wanted. However, we stayed there all four nights and didn't ever go back to the Bichlerhof and they didn't make an attempt to contact us.

I suspect that this is an arrangement the Riegler has with the Bichlerhof....the Riegler had no problem with us staying for 4 nights, so they obviously weren't fully booked. However, when we said that one of the rooms at the Riegler was probably large enough for all of us, the guy insisted that we use both - I assume he wanted the price for both rooms instead of a lower price for just the one.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Thank Missypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Our family ( two adults, 1 teenager, and one 5yr old stayed at the Bichlerhof during the winter season. There was a slight mix up with the reservations, but this was immediately resolved by the owner. The rooms were well furnished, TV, (a queen size bed and two singles, all with thick comforters), and stocked with a mini bar in the fridge. We had a gorgeous view from our balcony and were very surprised to find the indoor pool, suana, tanning bed, whirlpool spa and Turkish bath very well kept. Breakfast was pleasant, with various rolls/breads, fresh deli meats and cheeses, oh and lest I forget the homemade juices and jams. This Gasthof is within walking distance to the town square and market place. Quite cozy and relaxing to say the least.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lobo1DallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

This is the sister hotel to the Alpen-rose also in Mittenwald and is owned by same family.

Hotel Garni Bichlerhof is nice and I believe built within the last 30 years but does a decent job of appearing old and original with the breakfast dining area a traditional wood panelled room and a lot of antiques bordering on kitsch. If you've stayed at a small family hotel in vermont or maine then you know the feeling, just with a Bavarian flare.

The room we had was smallish but fine. I think some of the rooms are larger. The furniture isn't new but everything appears well maintained and it's not depressing at all.

We had a balcony with a view of the mountains which was spectacular!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is an indoor pool, big hot tub thing and one can get massages etc and a swingset in the yard outside so this is good for children.

The location is good, it's just 2 short blocks to the central area and takes no more than 3 minutes or so to get there walking.

We paid 90 euro per night for 2 people and baby.

I would say though that if you want the real thing, you may want to stay at the Alpen-rose (the sister hotel) which is several hundred years old and directly in the center of the central district (although only about 5 minute walk from Hotel Bichlerhof).

We also noticed the Post-hotel 2 doors down from the Alpen-rose, these seem to be the hotels with the top locations but didn't stay there because of all the negative comments on the decor.

We did eat at the Alpen-rose hotel and for 8 euro had pork leg with traditional bavarian dumpling thingy and sourkrout and we thought it was very good, the service was friendly (they have a menu in english too) and the atmosphere seemed very bavarian. We didn't stay here so didn't see the rooms..

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

I stayed here in December, just before Christmas. This small guesthouse is absolutely outstanding in warmth, coziness, friendliness, charm, and great food. They have a small spa and indoor pool downstairs that is inviting during cold winter nights. Extra clean guestroom with a sliding glass door and view of Wetterstein. I will definitely come back for another visit and you must see the photos attached!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Kendra1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
0.2 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
#2 of 20 in Mittenwald
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Edlhuber
Hotel Garni Edlhuber
#9 of 20 in Mittenwald
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bichlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bichlerhof

Address: Adolf-Baader-Str. 5, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Bed & breakfast Hotel Der Bichlerhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range: $76 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bichlerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bichlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hotel Der Bichlerhof
Minotel Mittenwald
Mittenwald Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing