We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ad hoc charges...avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus Sonnenbichl
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Bavarian trip with wife. Stayed at the Landhaus (AKA Gastehaus) Sonnenbichl for eight days straight. Bottom line up front: decent lodging but nothing to write home about, and owners make up charges as they go and charge your card after your gone.

I don't speak a lot of German and the owners--who live on site and directly handle all affairs--don't speak a lot of English. Cold breakfast is served daily from 8:00 to 10:00. I didn't know breakfast wasn't included in the price, and the owners were so put out our first morning when we went to have breakfast in town, I falsely assumed it must have been. Shame on me. However, when the owners charged my credit card for a breakfast we didn't have because we didn't expressly decline breakfast the day before, and gave as a reason after the fact "because we can," then shame on them.

I don't want to sound like I'm complaining, and I normally leave above-market-rate reviews, but I was also a bit put out that I was charged for a night I didn't even stay there. My wife and I decided to take an overnight trip to Salzburg, Austria (beautiful city; well worth the drive; stay at the Sheraton), and had let the owners know in advance that I wanted to check out for one night so as not to pay for two hotel rooms. They claimed I didn't give enough advance notice (they didn't say how much was required...apparently 24 hours isn't enough) and I ended up paying for an empty room. I was also charged for internet when one of the housekeeping staff, who gave me the login info--assured me it was free. Sauna also cost extra to use, I think 12 Euros per day.

Hotel was very clean. Bed wasn't particularly comfy. Two twin mattresses on a king frame. Best thing going is the view. You can see that on the website. What you can't see are the ad hoc charges. If you know both German language and German lodging law, then this may be the place for you. Otherwise, I would recommend avoiding.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alexandria_Duet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at the Sonnenbichl and I've resisted writing a review before only because I wanted to keep it secret!! We love this place. There is no better view in Mittenwald (and many other places besides) and that alone would make a stay here worthwhile. It is very quietly located and close to the village centre, next to the park. The place is spotlessly clean and the rooms are a good size and comfortably furnished. There is ample parking if needed and the breakfast was always nice, taken either in the cosy breakfast room (where free coffee is provided in the afternoon) or on the fantastic terrace. The Knilling famil,y who own the house, are welcoming and friendly and, like most German hosts, wonderfully unobtrusive which means it's easy to get very comfortable here. Because of the location, there are numerous fantastic walks that you can do right from the door. I don't hesitate in recommending this place and we will definitely back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike_Montmorency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

The rooms at the front, which is what we had, were absolutely stunning, with a balcony that you can sit out and enjoy beautiful views of the Alps. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival. The room was huge, with 2 single beds, a large bathroom, a small table and chairs, and small kitchen/sink area. There are also chairs and a table out on the balcony, which is great to sit out on in the evenings.

However it is probably one of the furthest hotels from the centre (although it only took 5 minutes to walk there), and the entrance is up a small hill that is quite steep, so I wouldn't recommend this for disabled visitors. Alot of the guests did have cars with them though and there's a car park right by the entrance.

The decor is a bit dated and there aren't any TV channels in English, but there is a gorgeous area with sun loungers to sit outside, and breakfast can also be eaten out here.

The only other thing I would say is that my fiancee and I were the only people staying in the hotel under the age of 50, to which everyone was slightly puzzled by when we explained how old we were and that we were not married!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Interrailed2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Hi we found this place thorugh the local tourist office

It was clean

Had great beds and showers

A MILLION dollar view

It is a two start B&B but in my mind after staying in 4 star places in Munich and Salzburg this place was wonderful
At 25EUORS per person the place cannot be beat

Nice balconies off the rooms and if the weather is good you can eat out side on the deck

The inkeepers were wonderful-but very little English

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fraink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 554reinhardk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Comfort Doppelzimmer mit Balkon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urgerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stefansusanne2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Gastehaus Edlhuber
0.4 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Sonnenbichl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Sonnenbichl

Address: Klausnerweg 32, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range: $130 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus Sonnenbichl 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Landhaus Sonnenbichl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing