We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great surprise!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were supposed to stay at nearby Hotel Bichlerhoff, but they had overbooked. We were disappointed that we'd have to stay at a nearby, same-family-owned HOtel Alpenrose. However, it was amazing! THe location was perfect, the food was amazing and the room was beautiful. We wanted to stay a second night, but they were full. I loved the decor, and it was perfectly matched to the whole feeling of MIttenwald. We would definitely go back. The breakfast was only okay, but there are great restaurants around, and it's wonderful for dinner.

Room Tip: Get one facing the alps (not difficult there!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped here for lunch, and decided to stay for the night. It is located right in the center of town, very convenient for walking around. They also have a parking garage (free). The room was not huge, but clean. Ours had no view, but for one night, and a reasonable price, it was fine. Breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our 2 week driving tour. The rooms were very clean and appointed. It is located on the main street in the old part of a lovely town. We had scheduled a horse drawn carriage ride into the mountains through the Hotel. We were met by a German man, Mr. Brown, that spoke no English He took us into the mountains for 4 hour carriage ride while all the way explaining the sites that we were seeing. However, we understood nothing. We thought this was going to be a very long and boring trip. But Mr. Brown was one of the most interesting people we met, even though we could not understand what he said. The tour was not boring but was one of the best things we did on our trip. I would recommend staying here and if possible take the carriage tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikekMyrtleBeach_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A warm, welcoming and lively atmosphere. We felt "at home." The staff were helpful and friendly. Took care of our laundry and assisted us with train tickets. Wonderful music and great food at the hotels restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very nice and clean hotel. We will surely stay there again if we go to Mittenwald. Its very central. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Loved the town. Very charming and hospitable innkeepers. Wonderful surroundings. Comfy beds with down comforters. Have been to Germany/Austria/Switzerland many times before and the town was classic Barvaria. We got there late- everything closed up on Market St. and left before everything opened. Went up the gondola in town- gorgeous views and nice hikes complete with goats with bells tinkling. Would definitely go again. Now does anyone know where I can get a wolpertinger here in the USA because the shops were closed in town.

Room Tip: Rooms over the street affords "street scenes" complete with oompha music during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcstadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel was an easy walk from railway station and when we visited, work was being done to upgrade the pedestrian infrastructure.
Hotel Alpenrose is located in the pedestrian area of town. The outside of the hotel was beautifully decorated with colourful frescoes, fitting in with the rest of the street and village in general.
We were greeted by Very friendly check in staff.  There is no elevator, however, the gentleman carried my bags to our room on the first floor.
The public areas of the hotel are decorated in what we thought were interesting alpine bric-a-brac. The place had real character.
Our room was a good size overlooking the street.  It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was also a good size.  It was very quiet at night.
Free  Internet connection was available in the foyer outside our room.
We arranged to have laundry done at a very reasonable cost
Almost unheard of for us, is that we ate twice at the restaurant below.  Excellent food, beer and wine and great atmosphere. The locals seemed to eat here as well and the restaurant was full both nights.
Breakfast was satisfactory with the usual array of bread, cheess, meats and jam.
The hotel was fantastic and we would certainly stay here again, if we are lucky enough to visit beautiful Mittenwald

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
0.6 mi away
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gastehaus Franziska
Gastehaus Franziska
#10 of 20 in Mittenwald
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof

Property: Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Address: Obermarkt 1, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Mittenwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing