We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Post-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Post-Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The good: Good location. Nice rooms. Clean and pretty building. Good mini bar.

The bad: Only 15 minutes of free wi-fi... you get charged after that.

The ugly: Girl with the short black hair at the front desk who had the worst attitude I have ever encountered from someone in the service industry.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank bigK6-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Post-Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and had 2 rooms ( 1 single, 1 double) at the back of the hotel. The rooms were very large with nice size balconies and good size bathrooms with bathtubs. The rooms were in good condition but the main areas of the hotel were a little old and musty, especially the hallway to the front street. The staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was a little disappointing because every day it had exactly the same selections, bread, yogurt, cheese, cold meat and scrambled eggs with ham and cheese (some days it had egg shells in it). We never tried the restaurant at the hotel. The parking lot was a little small and the one day we arrived after supper we had to park in the lot across the street.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back with balconies were good in warm weather as you could leave the balcony doors...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The location is amazing right on the very charming pedestrian street in Mittenwald with cute shops and restaurants. However the hotel is a little past it's sell by date, the rooms are functional but tired. The corridors are musty and drab, with missing light bulbs not helping the already dimly light hallways. Such a pity as it could be a beautiful location, we had such a nice view from our room. Staff are nice, but the breakfast staff could be a bit more welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exploring365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed there two nights and we found the town very convenient for our tour of the region.the town itself was enchanting with lovely restraunts and quaint but beautiful shops. The hotel was a bit of a disappointment because the bedrooms need some upgrading. Breakfast was average. Overall stayed in better hotels for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlentoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was amazing!! We stay a night at the hotel in September.
The hotel has a really big lobby with nice, comfortable furniture where you can sit down and relax after dinner.
Our room was huge, it had a big bathroom with a bathtub and the window was overlooking the main walking street. The hotel has free parking. You walk out the main entrance and you are in the middle of a lovely pedestrian area.
Mittenwald is a gorgeous town with the nice painted houses and it is a very quite place.
Breakfast has a lot of choice.
Friendly, helpful staff.
I would like to go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just step out the door and you are in the middle of a very nice pedestrian area with lovely little stream running down the nmiddle of the street -really authentic ! Room very comfortable and since very little traffic at night ,no problem getting a good night's sleep with windoe open .Tried the swimming pool and water was quite warm.Restaurant at night very nice with good choice of dishes and really nice staff (english menu)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsonfamilyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for just one night on a whistle-stop tour of Bavaria.

Very comfortable room, with balcony (although overlooking roof of swimming pool, rather than the mountains). Excellent breakfast, only let down by the coffee, which wasn't as good as we had elsewhere on our tour.

Efficient staff.

On site, free parking.

Bar not open the night we stayed. Lack of free wifi becoming unforgivable in this day and age

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicaUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
#2 of 20 in Mittenwald
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
#3 of 20 in Mittenwald
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Edlhuber
Hotel Garni Edlhuber
#9 of 20 in Mittenwald
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post-Hotel

Address: Obermarkt 9, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range: $75 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post-Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Post-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Mittenwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing