We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Post-Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel Rieger(Mittenwald)
$147
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gastehaus Doring(Mittenwald)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bichlerhof(Mittenwald)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Karner(Mittenwald)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Kaerntner Alm(Mittenwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
79
79
31
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
79
31
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain entrancepedestrian streetnice balconyindoor poolbig hotelrooms were very clean and comfortablewifi costsgreat breakfast buffettraditional furnishingswinter stayan older hotelold world charmtrain stationfree parkingmiddle of townlocated rightcharming hotel
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 201 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Good rooms and very clean with tv facilities central location... There is a safe used with the key room, parking facilities , Close to the main shops...People are very friendly and the restaurant is excellent! The decoration are elegant, just walking distance from the main area!
I loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marthor35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've stayed twice at the Post Hotel in the center of Mittenwald-both excellent stays!

I appreciate the complimentary amenities: sauna, indoor swimming pool with view of Karwendel Mountain (it's nice to be warm and comfy whilst looking out at snow-covered Alpine peaks!) the coffee maker on the desk, the complimentary bottles of water, the chocolate at bedside. And I appreciate the art-deco decor of the lovely rooms. The woodwork is extensive, befitting a chalet-style building, and lovingly cared-for. My first stay boasted a room with an amazing bathroom-beautifully tiled, immaculate, with a super-large tub, it really was a mini-spa sanctuary! My favorite thing of all, though, is leaning out over the railing of "my" balcony and watching the light change on the mountain ranges...from sunrise to sunset, it is always a deeply moving and beautiful landscape-and you can have your own private little piece of it at the Post.

I've trekked the Alpine trails, taken ski lessons, visited the little shops, eaten at the restaurants, experienced the festival of Fasching, and have had the most wonderful late winter holidays here! I cannot imagine a finer place to spend time, particularly if you are a solo traveler-the staff is helpful, bilingual, and check this out-once, when my friend missed the last train from Mittenwald to Innsbruck, one of the staff drove him to the next train station just over the border that could get him back!!!! Isn't that absolutely extraordinary?

The breakfast buffet is a true groaning board-everything in abundance-you won't eat again all day! Scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, sausage, bacon, lunch meats, cheeses, vegetables, all kinds of cereals, toasts, breads, baked goods, fruits, juices, coffee, tea, milk...it is endless and just the best!

I personally love the enormous great room at reception! I sit there, working on my computer and enjoying the light traffic in and out. You can have a drink from the bar, read the paper, and enjoy life. Seriously great place to stay-and for all it's fantastic hospitality and the grandness of its great room-quite affordable!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yippeiokiyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Post Hotel in late September 2012. The staff at the desk and the servers in the restaurant were extremely courteous and helpful. The front desk staff knew the area well and were great at helping us with directions and suggestions (in great English when my German was inadequate). The hotel lobby is a gathering place in the evening with groups playing cards or just visiting.One evening, we enjoyed watching a Bayern München soccer match on TV in the lobby with several other enthusiastic hotel guests. What a blast. Breakfast was very good. Wonderful breads, cold meats and cheeses, fruit and even scrambled eggs. Dinner in the "casual" restaurant delicious and the server ever-so helpful when it came to translating the menu. We stayed in a beautiful room with charm and character that was just what we were looking for. The room key was attached to one of those old-fashioned heavy key fobs that just about assured you returned the key to the desk when you left the hotel for the day. This hotel has great charm and ambiance. Combine that with the beautiful setting in Mittenwald and the friendly, helpful staff and you can't go wrong. This will be our Mittenwald destination every visit.

Free wi-fi is available in the lobby - and the lobby is a great hangout in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccer_ref8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have appreciated staying at Post Hotel in Mittenwald this august. I belive the hotel has been constructed in the middle of 80s and since then only the rooms have been rennovated. The whole structure is a little bit old and quite dark, except the room that was spaceful and light, the bathroom was new. The big advantage of the hotel is its location in the very center of Mittenwald.

Personally speaking we prefer to stay at small family hotels or gasthauses in Mittenwald, it's the best way to appreciate this small marvelous village.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are a group of four (husband, wife, 5 year old daughter, and mother-in-law) who traveled to Austria and Germany, and chose Mittenwald as our second stop on the trip. We spent two nights in a family suite booked back in July, which consisted of two double rooms and a bathroom. Keeping in mind that this is an alpine region, the accommodations are understandingly "rustic", and the prices were fair for the size of the rooms and the accompanying views! The balcony was our favorite part of the room, with only a mountain to see in the distance! The breakfast was fair, with a selection of breads and meats and cereals. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, with everyone speaking excellent English. Another positive was that the hotel has it's own parking lot in the back of the hotel, with the front on a pedestrian zone only area. Great shopping and restaurants in the town, and we wished we had time to stay longer! We took day trips to Castle Neuschwanstein and Oberammagau, but missed out on ascending Zugspitze due to extreme fog. We didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of the indoor pool, but saw many that did! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain/balcony view!
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews