We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put it on your bucket list while in the area”

Das Marktrestaurant
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Put it on your bucket list while in the area”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've been to Das Marktrestaurant several times, as I have family in Mittenwald. From my American "foodie" perspective, the food, service and atmosphere is fantastic every time. If you're tired of eating Bratwurst, Schnitzel and Sauerbraten in Gaststuben, you have to try this place! Chef takes locally sourced ingredients and puts twists on classics. Good wine selection as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maedls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Das Marktrestaurrant”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was one of our favourite restaurtants. The food is excellent and good value for the money.
The vegetable and sausage soup was a meal in its self. We're going back to Mittenwald and that
will be our first port of call.The staff can't be faulted, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagahama, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A sublime dining pleasure! Perfect in every way”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Another wonderful dining experience in the small charming Werdenfels / Bavarian area. This is the place you wish to visit for a quite, enchantingly slow and magical evening. I repeatedly visit Das Marktrestaurant. EVERY time I have visited it has been simply a perfect way to end the day. I hosted colleagues here for a five plus course chefs menu with accompanying wines to match each dish. Appetizers, soup, salads, main courses of veal, local fresh water fish, roasted pork and local organic vegetables and delightful deserts. Andreas and his team simply made the evening completly effortless, allowing me to focus on friends. The portions are perfectly sized for a multiple course menu. The courses came every 20-30 minutes which was perfect to savor the flavors and company. The atmosphere was quite and we could not hear the conversations of others nearby. Do make the extra special effort to drive to Mittenwald and have dinner here. Do not be rushed by the expereince, and I highly recommend the five course and more menu. You will not be disappointed whatsoever. 単純に最高の!これはミシュランの星付きレストラン1〜2である必要があります。これは、山の中で絶対的な宝石です。バイエルン自由州の比類のない価値と品質。

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bavarian-Samurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our visit to Das Marktrestaurant was a real treat from start to finish as there is a lovely, welcoming (and very private) feel to the restaurant with an incredibly attentive and helpful service team. The food was incredible; each of the four courses perfectly complementing the last with some wonderful wines to complement everything. Andreas adds a very special personal touch to the service and he was very happy to meet and present his dishes when the opportunity arose. I'd highly recommend the Pork with mushroom sauce and mushroom bread - delicious! Thanks to Andreas and his team for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harry1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

As part of a short stay in Mittenwald our evening meal at the Marktrestaurant was included. We were somewhat hesitant as the planned menu was presented to us as often these arrangements tend to be somewhat ordinary fare. To start the decor is wonderfully inviting and the welcome was warm. The amuse-bouche was a selection of dips and seasoned salts and breads. The salad contained crispy greens and unexpected ingredients with a tasty dressing, again not your average fare. The entree was a Maultasche, like ravioli, filled with seasoned veal and served on a bed of Savoy cabbage. I would never have paired these on my own but it was delightful. The dessert was an exquisite chocolate mousse with a vanilla foam and carmelised sugar. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would certainly like to try something from the regular menu as the choices looked to be from local produce and seemed very inviting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry52538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Marktrestaurant also viewed

 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Das Marktrestaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing