We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found out why this place gets rave reviews.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Mamma Lucia

Da Mamma Lucia
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Found out why this place gets rave reviews.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Have been meaning to try Da Mamma Lucia on our previous visits to Mittenwald due to positive reviews on TA but have never got round to it but on our last visit we made it and very glad we did. Excellent surroundings, very friendly staff that were very quick in taking our order and bringing the drinks. Very good Pizza's , excellent sweet, very good value + the waitress was very chatty and friendly. So good we returned later in the week to make up for missing out on this place on our previous trips. Will certainly re-visit when we are next back in Mittenwald.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barnmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    33
    12
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Service was horrible & very hot”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We wanted to like this restaurant. We really did. It is very very rare that I write a bad review, but this visit deserves one. One April night in 2013 we went to dinner here, because it was highly recommended by our bed & breakfast (and our host insisted in calling the restaurant in advance to see if they were full). We were enjoying the views of Mittenwald this evening, which was our first night in Mittenwald. We walked into this restaurant and were seated. They took our order. Our waitress brought us some food and beverage, and then practically disappeared. The room temperature was VERY hot. I am personally always very cold, so for me to say it is hot - it is uncomfortably so. I had my jacket off, I was red in the face, and sweaty. It made it diffcult to enjoy the food (which was excellent!). I was thirsty, and they never came to offer me any more water or wine. While our food was good, the experience was not good at all. Our memory of this place is horrible. We feel like they were snubbing us. Was it because we were Americans? Because we were a couple who were not engaged or married but traveling together? Because I asked if they had a sweet wine (I am no wine afficianado, and only like sweet wines)? Because we took photos during our meal? Because my fiance takes forever to decide on what he wants off the menu? Because I didn't know the bottle labeled "vinegar" on the table actually contained olive oil, and that was to be used for dipping our bread in? No idea. Just leaves us wondering, and we will never return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderbar”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We meet a gentleman who lives in Mittenwald and this is his favorite restaurant, we took his advice and were not disappointed. Simply fantastic food. Make a reservation, once you do the table is pretty much yours for the evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ogfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittenwald, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is one of the best italian restaurants i know. Quality is at first place in that location. It is recommendable to allocate a table when you wanna go there as it is mostly very well visited.
Enjoy your wood-oven pizza, marvelous nuddels, antipasti, desserts and all else!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best food in Mittenwald!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We saved this restaurant for our last meal in Mittenwald and we certainly saved the best for last! Delicious mussels, prawns, fresh pasta and salads. The service is fast and friendly and the staff were happy to talk through the menu with you. Make sure you eat here on any trip to Mittenwald.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessica_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mamma Lucia also viewed

 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Da Mamma Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing