We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unusual and interesting”
Review of Geigenbaumuseum

Geigenbaumuseum
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Most unusual and interesting”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited Mittenwald in the middle of a snow storm, but even so enjoyed this very pretty town enormously. The Violin Museum was expecially interesting and well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruethen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“worth coming to Mittenwald for!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The museum, situated in a beautiful square near the parish church, pays tribute to one of the oldest industries of Mittenwald - making violins, of which even Mozart possessed an example! The rooms are well set out so that you can view these ancient and not-so-ancient string instruments from all angles; there is a room furnished like a workshop of 100 years ago and there are special exhibitions - at the time when we visited, the history of zither-making in Mittenwald. The best part was the old films that were shown, the oldest being from 1924. These videos were most informative, especially for visitors such as ourselves with no idea of the technicalities of violin construction.One definite plus: your entrance ticket is reduced by €1 if you have a Mittenwald guest card, and it also enables you to have a cup of coffee for free in one of the town's cafés. It's a lovely way to spend a couple of hours!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank smallworld44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“It’s worth a stop.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped into the Geigenbau Museum to check it out. It was 4,50 Euro per person to get in. Although it was very nicely done, you would really have to be very interested in Violins, or at least very interested in classical music to get much from this. But that is no fault of the Museum; it plainly states outside that it is a Violin Museum! It also has a few other stringed instruments, and I believe there was a movie that you could watch.
It was 2 floors and I do not believe there was an elevator (lift), if that is important to you.
Is it worth 4,50 Euro if you aren’t really into Violins? Yes I still think so. It’s a nice break that won’t take you more than 30 minutes. Besides you must go, you’re in MITTENWALD!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice introduction to Violin making, highly recommended”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My girlfried is a violin maker so I know the matter already.

The museum shows interactively how history of violin making in Mittenwald. This includes
-panels in German and English about Violin making and the history in Mittenwald
-original tools and furniture
-original instruments from the 19th century until today
-several movies, again in English and German.


All in all it is worth a stop if you visit the old town. The museum gives decent insights and you can spend good hour on the matter...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank O_M_Gerstberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little museum”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff was outstanding, and the museum was well laid out with great descriptions in German and English, very helpful when you have to read or translate everything - we would highly recommend it to all visitors to Mittenwald, as violin making is such an important part of this town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geigenbaumuseum also viewed

Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geigenbaumuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing