We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable apartment near the centre of a beautiful small town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Schweigart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Schweigart
Ranked #1 of 31 Mittenwald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very comfortable apartment near the centre of a beautiful small town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The apartment (no 2) was very comfortable with extra touches such as fresh flowers and complimentary drinks in the fridge. Our apartment did not have a balcony but we were able to use the garden for sitting out and to eat a couple of light meals. There are only two hot plates and a microwave in the kitchen, but we were able to manage. The apartment was quite spacious for two, very light and had plenty of comfortable seating.

It is far enough away from the centre to be very quiet and we did not hear the other occupants. The church bells did make their presence known at 6-00 am every morning! The centre was only a few minutes away, where there was a good selection of cafes and restaurants to eat at or have a drink or icecream. There is a violin museum which is worth a visit on a rainy day.

The Haus is on the right side of the town for the chairlift and for walking up to the two bathing lakes. We found plenty of walks to keep us happy for a week. It is worth taking the gondala on the other side of the centre up to Karwendal for the amazing views.

The Tourist Card gives one free trip up or down the chairlift and one entrance to the open air swimming pool as well as a small discount on admission to the violin museum and on the chair lift and gondala. It also allows free use of the tourist bus up and down the valley.

Frau Notz was very welcoming and helpful and it is well worth having meal or two at her restaurant.

If you land at Munich Airport probably the cheapest fare for the S-bahn and train to Mittenwald is the Bayern ticket which allows travel on all transport in Munich and all regional trains in Bavaria for 28 Euros for up to 5 people.

We would like to return to Mittenwald and would definitely stay again at Haus Schweigart.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

My Fiance and I stayed here with family a couple of weeks ago and loved everything about it. Mittenwald has left such an impression with us that I am sure we will be back in the not too distant future. If we do return we would not hesitate to stay at Haus Schweigart again. The apartments are amazing value for money. We felt very at home. The owner Karin is lovely and when we ate at her restaurant in the town we were made to feel so welcome and the food was amazing. Mittenwald has great train links to Munich and Innsbruck so it is a good base. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

It began with quick and efficient emails to make our reservations with Karin. We were fortunate to have Apartment 4 which is perfect for 2 people. The balcony opens onto a view of Karwendel Mountain range.

Our apartment was very nicely furnished with extra touches, like live plants and fresh flowers. Bottled water, juices and beer in the refrigerator.

We made our our simple breakfasts from a grocery 2 blocks away. A pastry from one of the local bakeries was a perfect afternoon snack. Our most memorable dinners were at Da Mamma Lucia , owned by Karin and her husband.

Our visit was peaceful, simple and relaxing. Mittenwald is away from the crowds in many Bavarian towns. We parked our car upon arriving and didn't use it again until we left.

Kudos to Karin and her husband. We think they have the magic formula for success through hard work.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Was using TripAdvisor for another vacation and realized I never put a review in for Haus Schweigart, my favorite place we stayed at last summer. Look no further.....everything about this place is wonderful and convenient. The owner was so helpful and nice, our room was very clean and cozy, and the views were spectacular. We ate at the owners restaurant 2 nights in a row and I still rave about those meals!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmomaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The views from the rooms are absolutely fantastic. The place was clean, nice and the hosts even left juice, water and a couple of Paulaner Biers in the fridge on our arrival, a very nice touch. The location is super, a few blocks away from the main walking / shopping areas so its quiet, but not more than a few minutes walk from everything. Mittenwald itself is just fantastic, well worth a few days stop on any vacation. For something different, drive 1 hr north to Bad Tolz and hit the outdoor mineral pools and spa at Alpamare, it was very fun for both our teens and adults. Mama Lucia's and Gasthaus Gries were both wonderful for dinner. I don't think you can go wrong anywhere in this little alpine town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scattershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed at Haus Schweigart with my wife, our 5 month old, and my wife's mother in the two bedroom apartment and it was perfect. Great location, outstanding service - everything we needed was waiting for us (we could have left some of the things we travel with at home!) The added bonus is Mama Lucia's italian restaurant - owned and operated by Karin and her husband. BEST ITALIAN FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD, and we've been to Italy numerous times.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaKriDyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

You could not find a nicer place to stay or a lovelier town!! Karin makes sure that you enjoy yourself and looks after all your needs, not just the accommodation ones. Karin happily assisted us with ski instruction for our teenagers and the kids where skiing down slopes after 3 lessons!!! Karin restaurant (you get a discount their if you stay at her apartments) Da Mamma Lucia is great fresh produce, home made butter, bread and lovely Italian cuisine. The 2 room apartment had everything we needed for our 4 day stay!!!We stayed just before Christmas and we were able to have a wonderful stay and really felt we were in a Winter Wonderland!!!! Thank You Karin!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Rod31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#2 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Rieger
Alpenhotel Rieger
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landhaus Sonnenbichl
Landhaus Sonnenbichl
#9 of 20 in Mittenwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Schweigart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Schweigart

Property: Haus Schweigart
Address: Ludwig-Murr-Str. 2, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Mittenwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haus Schweigart 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haus Schweigart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing