We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful location”
Review of Alpenhotel Rieger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhotel Rieger
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed over Christmas and were overall very pleased! The room was significantly smaller and more traditional than we expected (there is only one room photographed on the hotel website and other websites and it wasn't what we got). However, it was clean and rather cosy, with a lovely welcome basket of home-made biscuits/cookies, fresh fruit and nuts. The bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable and the linen was immaculate. The bathroom was fine and it was great to have an opening skylight in there. The view from the balcony of the Karwendal directly opposite was a sight to behold! The room had a mini-bar, desk, small seating area, TV and a built-in wardrobe. We stayed on a half-board basis and, with the exception of an amuse-bouche and a starter that were not to our taste, the food was delicious (in particular: the cauliflower & saffron soup, beef consomme with venision mousse quinelles, duo of goose & duck and the blood orange sorbet with Prosecco). The menu changed each evening and there were always at least 4 courses with 3 options for the main course plus a vegetarian option. There is also a salad buffet. On the first night the menu was only available in German language but the wonderful waiters spoke good English so we didn't really have any problems - however we were amazed at breakfast the following morning to be given that evening's menu drafted in English especially for us (we were the only English speaking guests at the time). They continued to do so for the remaining nights and we were so pleased with this outstanding level of hospitality. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of fruit, cereals, meats and hams, bread, pates and spreads, cheeses, cakes, teas and the most delicious coffee! We were the youngest guests during our stay and felt that the hotel does cater more for the more mature travellers among us. It is fairly traditional - however, given that it was Christmas, this only added to the wonderfully festive and charming atmosphere! Mittenwald is gorgeous. The hotel is right in the centre of the village with ample free parking outside. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by friends so we decided to stay there on the first night our Bavaria trip.
The hotel is very nice with friendly staff. It has a perfect location - one minute walk from the center of Mittenwald which it self is a beautiful village.
The rooms are large and clean with a balcony with a view of the mountains. Breakfast is a large buffet with a large variety.
Free parking in front of the hotel and free wi-fi in the lobby.
We enjoyed our stay so much that 2 weeks later, at the end of out trip, we stayed the last night at this hotel again.
Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Mittenwald is a picture postcard town in Bavaria and the Hotel Rieger is an outstanding place to stay. It was late in the day when we arrived in Mittenwald and chose the Rieger by chance. The staff was was very friendly and spoke English. We were given a beautiful room with a foyer, big bathroom and very large bedroom with a balcony and a mountain view. The room was immaculate and there were fluffy feather quilts on the bed. Breakfast was included with the price of the room which was 90 EUR. The Hotel Rieger has an excellent restaurant which seemed popular with the locals. The food was outstanding and the service exemplary. The town was charming with it's painted houses, shops and restaurants. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay in this beautiful place a few more days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

A return to our favourite Mittenwald hotel with parents-in-law showed no drop in standards. Excellent all round. Great views from the balconies, a very good welcome and a "can't do enough for you" attitude. The beds are large and comfortable and the rooms excellent in size. The hotel was full- always a good sign. Breakfast was-again-excellent, and the coffe and cakes in the afternoon very good.
We went to the Bavarian buffet evening in the hotel's restaurant, which for 20 Euro was huge, and very tasty. Those in our group who went with slight misgivings and expectations of sausages with everything came away very pleased. And the enormous "baked alaska" type dessert was amazing. The poor chef who had to cut this huge dish amongst the diners must have had a very sore arm.
A charming place to stay, with attentive and friendly staff

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Machen die das Bayerische Buffet mit Musikbegleitung!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LuiseBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamer 132 ligt op een hoek, heeft extra ruim zicht, en stoelen en tafeltje op het balkon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Blick auf Karwendelgebirge ist ganz groß!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frankenschmecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mittenwald hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bichlerhof
Hotel Bichlerhof
#1 of 20 in Mittenwald
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post-Hotel
Post-Hotel
#4 of 20 in Mittenwald
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gastehaus Sonnenheim Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
Alpenrose Traditionsgasthof
#2 of 20 in Mittenwald
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gastehaus Franziska
Gastehaus Franziska
#9 of 20 in Mittenwald
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
Alpengasthof Groebl-Alm
#5 of 20 in Mittenwald
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Rieger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Rieger

Address: Dekan-Karl-Platz 28, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range: $118 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhotel Rieger 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Alpenhotel Rieger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing