We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!”

Berchtesgaden National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

You're on top of the world here! You're able to see all surrounding countries on a clear day from the "Kehlsteinhaus". I went back again a year later to bring my parents, they were thrilled! A must do if you're in southern Germany!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    46
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A day in Berchtesga​den from Salzburg”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Before making our journey to Berchtesgaden, I had done quite a lot of research here. This place has so much to offer that you really cannot imagine finishing even your favorites in 1 day. The best way to explore this place is by your own vehicle or stay there for 2 days & move around using public transport. We had none of these so I picked my priorities & took printout of my notes.
Reaching from Salzburg:
We were staying in Salzburg & earliest bus on weekend is only at 9:15. Train is costlier & time taking. As you have to keep changing bus, buy a Tageskarte(Day ticket). I had a Bahn card 100, so just had to buy a return ticket till Austrian Border.
Eagle's Nest:
We reached around 10 at Hbf & left for Eagles nest(Bus 338). The stop is Documentation Center. As we were short of time, I planned to skip documentation center tour & made a move for Eagle's nest directly. You need to buy a separate bus ticket here. Once on Bus, it's another 15 mins ride up. Once you get down(11:30), you need to punch a return time. They suggest 2 hrs, we selected 1 hr 45 mins but were done even earlier. So on request to the Bus driver he let us board the earlier bus but had to stand our journey down. I think 1hr 30 mins is decent time if you are tight on schedule. We did explore-hike some areas & were still finished on time.
Wimbachklamm Falls:
The moment I saw the pic of this falls, I decided to go here for sure. Changing your destination, almost everytime you need to reach the Berchtesgaden Hbf. So we again came back to Hbf & took Bus 246 for the falls. The name of the stop is also Wimbachklamm, around 5th stop from Hbf. It's a 15 min walk to the falls. Before you near the gate, there is a automated machine on the right of the street to take the token tickets for the falls. If you miss it you need to come back to buy the tickets.
The falls was definitely worth the visit, with many thin streams of falls on 1 side & walk on wooden bridge on other side. We had to run back for our Bus back to Hbf.
Königssee:
We got our bus to the See on time. Reaching the stop we quickly bought our tickets for the boat (if you start your day with this spot then you may waste 45mins on the line). There are many rides but I think the shortest ride here was the best. It's cheapest & for 40 mins. believe me you would have enjoyed enough in 40 mins. They give you some briefing of the place during the ride. We selected the 55 mins ride & by time we were back we missed the connecting bus to Hbf. Thankfully we found a empty taxi on time & we were able to take last 6:15 bus to Salzburg.
The biggest bummer for this place is the Bus connection. You will not find the Buses when you want & end up waiting. The biggest tip for people using Bus here & tight on time would be to print the time table of the bus. & do make a note of the return Bus everytime you get off a spot. We were lucky to find a taxi in time else we would have ended up paying more & spending more time on train back to Salzburg.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
17 Thank NSinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Take the easy way up!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

A short bus ride from Berchtesgaden takes you to the Konigsee and Jennerbahn. Having previously enjoyed a boat trip on the beautiful lake, we decided to take a trip on the cable car to the higher slopes of the Jenner. At this time of year we went straight from buying tickets on to the 2-seater cable car for the journey up the hillside. We went straight to the top where we found a lovely gift shop and self-service restaurant. Although there was snow lying outside it was warm enough to sit on the outside terrace and enjoy the view. However, the path to the top of the mountain was still deep in snow and no one was venturing out!
To find more walking opportunities we took the cable car down to the lower halt from where the snow had melted. The views all around were quite stunning, and Kehlstein Haus was visible on the summit of the neighbouring peak. Very reluctant to return to the valley!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Criagendinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth a visit on a clear day”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I've been to Mt,Jenner and Konigsee, The view was great at Jenner but was too cloudy on the top. You can take a boat trip at Konigsee to enjoy the scenery of mountains and clear blue lake.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasphilaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Serene picturesque Photographers delight”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

If nature attracts you this is the place - Mountains with Snow glistening in the warm summer sun, manicured miles of lush green meadows, crystal clear river fed by melting ice, lush green coniferous tress on the mountain slopes with patches of snow, miles and miles of crystal clear lake Konigsee with a deep blue reflection of the clear sky - what else would one want to enjoy a vacation in Berchtesgaden. Visit the World famous Salt mines and head to Konigsee, take the boat ride to St. Barthlomeow and/or the cable car to Jennerbahn or the Eagle's Nest where once Hitler finalized his war strategies while huddling with his confidente in summer. Plenty of food, beer, photography, memorabilia.
Just a caution - towards the evening time after 4:30PM the bus gets crowded and they even offload you - then you need to call a cab that would cost you 7-8 Euros but for such a popular tourist spot, they could run more busses to the railway station.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank RamsPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berchtesgaden National Park also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Berchtesgaden National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing