We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konigssee

Konigssee
Book In Advance
More Info
$524.73*
and up
Private Eagle's Nest and King's Lake Tour from Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The emerald-green Königssee near Berchtesgaden is surrounded by steep walls of rock, with the 1800-metre east wall of the Watzmann towering above its west shore.
Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I didn't get to do the boat tour but just sitting there was more than enough for me. It was very relaxing to sit there and stare at the beautiful emerald green water. There are ducks that can be feed.

There are lots of little shops around. You can get food/drinks/ice cream right there.

Could have sat there for hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,368
    342
    72
    10
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful lake. Unfortunately it was partly frozen in mid february when we went. Could not enjoy the boat ride then as they were not operating due to ice. Would definitely plan another visit here this lifetime, perhaps in summer.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank yesaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A fantastic base to tour the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon about 1600 and the place was just a mass of people - we thought that we had a made an error of judgement, however by 1800 they were all gone and the place was very peaceful, we stayed for a week making the small town our base and travelled out each day to the places of interest - fantastic place the lake is incredibly clear

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Randancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigieburn, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great little tourist area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The lake is chrystal clear and very beautiful. At the Berchtesgaden end there are several tourist shops, cafes and a few hotels. Don't expect the "real" Germany in this area but it's a must visit if you're in Berchtesgaden. Quaint, beautiful and touristy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank medic51vrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK if you've never seen a mountain lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

As far as alpine lakes go, I didn't see what was so extraordinary about Lake Koenigsee. The water is beautiful and the mountains are nice, but our boat was absolutely packed (my knees were basically in someone else's lap!). There was a very short German commentary at the very beginning but otherwise it was just a very slow two hour circle. If you've seen other alpine lakes, skip it. If you haven't and have a good three hours to kill, there are some nice views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank batty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konigssee also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Konigssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing