We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty and moldy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhotel "garni" Weiherbach
Ranked #5 of 52 Berchtesgaden B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel has a musty odor and, obviously, has a mold problem. I sneezed the entire time I was there. The management ignored any suggestion that there was a problem. In addition, very inflexible on check in times. Had to call and wait almost an hour for someone to show up and they were rude about it. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Alpenhotel "garni" Weiherbach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent two days there with our children. The rooms were a very good size with good bathrooms. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Our room had a great view over the mountains and of the Kehlstein or 'Eagle's Nest'

We felt the outside area near the indoor pool was disappointing and we may not have understood when we booked but expected a outdoor pool but there is only a small plunge pool. The location is about 2 km outside Berchtesgaden but there are a number of buildings in the small hamlet so you do not feel totally in the countryside which is what we wanted and in retrospect it may have been better to be in Berchtesgaden town itself.

However the most negative point was that we were in room 13 which is above the kitchen. I was woken every morning a 0545 by the noise of them preparing breakfast. Breakfast itself was simple but fine. The curtains are also very thin so the lights streams in early in the morning.
WIFI was free but very poor reception in our rooms.

Although we had a pleasant stay there were other hotels in the area that were cheaper and I do not think it was worth paying the extra amount to stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay above the kitchen, we had room 13 which was directly above the kitchen. Room 14 is above...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After spending a week in a large city, we welcomed the quiet and beauty of Berchtesgaden. Located close to town, this hotel is clean, comfortable, and attractive. Even though we arrived within the check-in time, we had to wait for someone to come to the desk after we called. The SI-FI worked well in our room (front corner, 1st floor). We had a large bedroom with a living room area and two balconies that were nice. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included, and very good. We would enjoy staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemezFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was a little nervous about this hotel after reading the reviews however much to our delight it was a wonderful place to stay. You make the check in times work thats all you can do. It was in a picturesque location with beautiful views. The staff were polite and courteous, the room was more than we thought we were getting with an upstairs master bedroom with second bedroom with kitchenette downstairs. Very clean and quaint. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arianaXo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our experience staying at this hotel was wonderful. Upon arriving, the staff were kind and accommodating. We loved our room - it was very spacious and had a lovely balcony with a beautiful view. In fact, you could even see the Eagle's Nest from the driveway of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was pretty nice, too, and the staff were very attentive to bring you tea/coffee - very nice.

However, we did not like the fact that you have a tiny window of room to check in to the hotel which is family run so it felt more like a b&b ... and we've stayed at tons of b&bs in Europe ... sometimes arriving as late as 1am and never being turned away. This hotel only permits check in between 1400-1800 {2-6p}. We were driving from a location about 7 hours away and ended up having to rent a car an extra day just so we could leave at the crack of dawn to ensure we made it in time {b/c German roads are notorious for traffic jams / staus and we did hit a few which slowed us down}. Once we arrived, everything was lovely. I just feel bad for those that arrive outside this small window of 4 hours and lose their money and lose a place to sleep for night which I read about in other comments ... which added to our paranoia driving there that day. I was so worried something would happen and we'd have to sleep in our car that night ... I even packed pillows and blankets in case that happened! I don't find the check-in time to be customer-friendly and I really think they should try to change that. But that is our only complaint. Everything else about the hotel was wonderful so if the check-in time isn't an issue for you, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Terrible....when I book I didnt see any option that breakfast is not free or free.. then we go the breakfast they kick us out..so embarrassing. .they should not do that to the costumer..no service..your the one who have to throw your onw garbage..200 euro per night without breakfast plus they kick you out in front of other people...sooo dislikw this hotel....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My family (2 adults & 2 children) stayed here for 3 nights over Easter holiday. The satnav found it without a problem. It's a reasonable sized hotel about 1 mile outside Berchtesgaden in a rural setting and is quite pitcuresque adjacent to farmland. Out apartment was 1 bed with a sofabed in the sitting room / dining area / kitchenette. It was very clean and comforatble. The facilitities are adequate although only 2 electric rings and a microwave for cooking limit the self-catering options. There is a fridge with small freezer section, toaster and coffee maker which uses cone shaped filters and caffatiere coffee. We had a view out over the farmland and it was peaceful and quiet in the evenings. There was a small terrace outsode the open plan sitting / dining area. The bathroom was well appointed with powerful shower. The owners are friendly, unobtrusive and accomnmodating although there is a 50 euro deposit payable on arrival which is repaid after a brief inspection of the room before you leave. In short, washup and leave the accommodation reasonably tidy and treat the property and its contents with a little respect and you'll get the deposit back. We walked into town about 4 times during our stay, turn right up the track with woods to the left and the farmland to the right which leads onto a road and then follow this left downhill into Berchtesgaden, takes about 20 minutes, feels harder coming back than going but we all managed it and we're not particularly sporty. There are some splendid views of the snow capped mountains and the countryside to be seen during this stroll. I would recommend this accommodation for its position, comfort and cleanliness. The indoor pool was a welcome addition that my children made the most of and thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#14 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel "garni" Weiherbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel "garni" Weiherbach

Address: Weiherbachweg 6, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: $125 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel "garni" Weiherbach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhotel "garni" Weiherbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Garni Weiherbach Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing