We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpenhotel Denninglehen
Ranked #17 of 52 Berchtesgaden B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Isolated”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

They treat you like family at Alpenhotel Denninglehen; guilt-inducing, grievance-airing, grudge-holding, judgmental family. The first words from the front desk were not "Welcome" or "How was your journey?" We were greeted with "You are late. Why didn't you call?" Mind you this was not 3 o'clock in the morning. It was 8:30 pm. I didn't know we had an appointment. We asked it there was anywhere close that we could have dinner and were told that it was entirely too late for dinner and nothing would be open. We drove to Bertchsgaden (about 10 kilometers away) and found a ton of restaurants open until midnight or later.

The hotel itself is fine, clean etc. The bedding is comfortable. The bathrooms are dated, but very clean and functional. As stated in other reviews, the views are very nice, but not nicer than those out almost any other window in a 50-kilometer radius. The building was built in 1980, but done up in Alpine drag that is relatively convincing. Just don't go there thinking you are going to be in a charming 100-year-old chalet.

I would say the property is isolated, but that is not 100% correct. There are no shops, restaurants nearby, but you are in a residential neighborhood so it is not particularly secluded or private.

There is very nice indoor pool and hot tub, but it is only open from 7 am until 7 pm. Worse, the sauna is only open from 4pm until 6pm. When my partner tried to use it at 5:30, he was told that it takes 30 minutes to warm-up and by then, it would be time to close. Why even have the thing if it is only open 2 hour per day?

If I had my trip to do over, I would stay in one of the hotels closer to Bertchsgaden.

Room Tip: They do NOT accept any credit or debit cards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlrX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a great stay and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Our room had a SPECTACULAR view across the Alps. Standing on the balcony, hearing cowbells tinkle below, looking at the full moon...what could be better? The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and one lovely girl even stayed up late so we could hang out in the lobby with other guests. We didn't eat dinner there, but the breakfast was perfectly adequate and a nice start to the day. Keep in mind that this is a small, family-run operation. It's tucked up on a hill and doesn't offer a lot of fancy amenities. So if you're looking for a fancier, American-style hotel, go elsewhere. If, however, you want charm, an amazing view, and a simple, quaint experience (at an affordable price), this is the place for you. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A smelly, dirty, unfriendly place with unwellcoming staff and very poor diner. The hotel is not a charming mountain chalet but a recent (70s?) construction with floor heating and old, smelly carpets, plastic fowers, plastic naps, plastic everything. Smell of cold smoke in the air. The diner was of very low qualtiy as well in terms of products used (escalope Milanaise with turkey meat!) and quality of cooking.
I really do not understand how this hotel made it into the Michelin Guide Vert and trip adviser!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Beautiful mountain scenery. (It is possible to view Eagle Nest).
Nice breakfast.
Internet only in public area ( You have to pay, but is only 2 euro for 2 hours).
Rooms are clean

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CYAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay ... Very cooperative staff ... Nice breakfast in the morning in a very nice Breakfast room ... The patio outside was very nice to lounge in and also the kitchen serves drinks till 10 PM, which was very nice ... Only wish that their Sauna/ Steam room hours were a bit more conducive to being used by a tourist who does not usually get back to the hotel till 8-9 PM ... Other than that, we loved this hotel ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakshi_singhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We were skiing at Jenner, what was a great experience.
Then we returned to the hotel where we visited the sauna and swimmingpool.
Room very clean, polite personal, food excellent.
We believe that once visited hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambinnka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We have stayed in the hotel for 4 nights during winter and I have the best memories! The environment and location is great! If you wanna have quiet day, you can go for a walk - hiking, or just chillout in the hotel and if you want some amusement, you just go to the city nearby.
The atmosphere of the hotel was very friendly. The staff is very nice, the service was great. I felt like being at home and that is a value big hotel chain will never create.
I highly recommend this hotel, and I will surely come back with my friends and family again to check it out in the summer !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana_meszarosova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
483 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
179 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Berchtesgaden
Kempinski Hotel Berchtesgaden
#4 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Denninglehen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Denninglehen

Property: Alpenhotel Denninglehen
Address: Am Priesterstein 7, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel Denninglehen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpenhotel Denninglehen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Denninglehen Berchtesgaden
Alpenhotel Denninglehen Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing