We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Konigliches Schloss Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

When I was in Berchtesgaden for the first time I didn't get the chance of visiting this place! I am glad i could return and visit this marvellous castle! The tour is in german, but as we started, the guide tryed his best to explain in English! As we where able to understand a bit of german, everything end. up well, and we where able to learn many things about this magnifcent castle and the history of those who leaved there! While staying in the área this is a MUST!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank geisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
163 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worth taking a look, we enjoyed it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited the Schloss while on a coach trip to Berchtesgaden while on holiday in Austria. We had planned on going up to the Eagles Nest but the weather was showery and very low cloud so we opted to spend all our time in the town itself.
We visited this Schloss and glad we did. It was very atmospheric and we found it interesting too. Unfortunately there is no English translation given by the tour guide, but we were given a room by room guide in the form of a leaflet which was helpful and gave the information we needed on each room.
I cannot remember how much the entrance fee was but it was not overly expensive and an interesting thing to do on a fairly inclement day.
The square where it is situated is quite picturesque too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice palace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice palace with some interesting furniture and paintings. The guide was very friendly and made the visit also worthwhile for smaller children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petervg_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
974 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 918 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit. Only drawback is little explanation in English.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a hugely impressive family home although it is only used for a few days each Summer. Some of the architecture dates back to the 12th century and there are many paintings from 16th century onwards as well as furniture covering several hundreds of years including several unique pieces. The architecture is varied and interesting. Visiting is via a 50 minute guided tour and the only drawback is that there is very little information in English.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Candle Light Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A tour through the Schloss at any time is impressive, but if you have a chance to join in one of the infrequent candle light tours do not miss it! Around Christmas and new years they give the night tours, and this year they ended up with a coral presentation in the Great Hall. It ran chills down your back! Worth the effort any time, but truly impressive by candle light!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bergbahnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konigliches Schloss Berchtesgaden also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Konigliches Schloss Berchtesgaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing