We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Bavarian!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Watzmann

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berchtesgaden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watzmann
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly Bavarian!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

Great hotel, right in central Berchtesgaden. Traditional Bavarian decor - every door is painted, and every one is different. Beautiful view of the Alps from our room window. Breakfast was good, but not outstanding (typical German cold cuts, yogurt etc. but not as varied as some other places we stayed) Free parking across the street. All in all a great budget choice in Bertchesgaden and a convenient base for exploring the area. Being an older, more traditional hotel, they have NO web presence ( we booked based off trip advisor reviews alone and were not dissapointed) I found their phone number through google maps and called them directly. The hotel matriarch speaks English, although I don't believe any other staff do.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

I rocked up at this hotel without a booking on a Saturday evening in late August and was given a very nice single room (with newly refurbished bathroom) on the first floor. The lady running the hotel was friendly and the place is very clean. The single bed was a bit small, but it was comfortable and the room was clean. The hotel is right in the centre of town and has its own parking area just across the road. The breakfast was excellent. For a bed and breakfast price of 45 Euros for the night, this was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmoor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

You have to search for the phone number and contact the Watzman direct because the website appears to have broken permanently ( its [---]) We stayed for 4 days in late May and loved it. Good breakfasts, good beer and excellent dinners on the patio. Not as crowded as the Golden Bear down the road about 100 metres or so but quicker cheaper and tons better for food. We tried the goulasch at both and the Watzmann won hands down.And the dumplings were superb.
The church opposite insists on chiming every quarter hour and every hour day and night ( thats 3 little bells and 11 big bells for quarter to midnight.) Work that one out for quarter to five at sparrows fart and you know what I mean. Get a room at the side or the back.
Parking is right outside in the private car park and comes with the room rate.
Isnt it nice to stay somewhere where the staff are pleasant enough to call you by your name every morning when they ask you if its coffee or tea for breakfast!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank oopsispiltmygravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

Peter from Middlesbrough, England, Great Britain
I have stayed at this Hotel many times, I have always found it to be a great place to stay, and the hospitality second to none, the owner Henry as he likes to be called in English, is great, as are all the staff, he will help you find what you are looking for, from swimming baths, to the history part on the Obersalzburg.
Food is also very good, location could not be better, and the standard of the hotel is first class. For what you pay, as we would say in England it is a Bargain.
I have been here with friends on motorcycles and in my car, and have have always had a Great time.
Would recomend
Peter

  • Liked — Location, and Hospiality
  • Disliked — Long way to get there
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterDonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

This was a wonderful hotel. I learned of it from this website, and from the reviews here decided to stay. It was a good choice. While the room was small for me (normal Euro size) it was very cozy and nicely decorated. We had a great view of the Eagle's Nest out the window and also heard the church bells, but they only bothered me on Sunday when they rang for what seemed like forever!
The Staff was wonderful, and Heinrich the owner was extremely helpful with regards to the attractions and info about the town. It is very centrally located in town and has a bus stop right out front, although it's easier to walk down to the train station to catch the full range of buses. And FYI, to get there from the bus station/train station you have to go up the stairs at the far left side (when looking at it from the street out front) and you cross a foot bridge over the train tracks. Head up the path and make a right when it splits. That will bring you up to the street and from there go right again and you'll be in front of the hotel after a few hundred feet. It's a tough climb when carrying luggage so beware!
Also, the food at the resturant was excellent. Breakfast was wonderful, and the dinner we had there was the best we had during our whole stay.

Oh and only 30 euro per night per person!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaFlorida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

We found this place using this web site. We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Breakfast was great and we found a local gem several blocks away called the Golden Bear. It was good food. Pretty much non-smoking upstairs.
Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Great location and 30 min. bus ride to Salzberg. Train from Munich was fun.
There is an internet cafe up from the train station.
Only problem was our room was across from an old church and they rang the bell every 15 minutes!! We got used to it.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Happytraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

For the price - a great place to stay. Good location, nice views, a great breakfast, and an absoloutely delightful host. The rooms are clean and very basic. Heinrich, the owner and host, went out of his way to help us a few times. When our lost luggage didn't arrive as promised from Lufthansa, he made several calls on our behalf. He also took great interest in helping us map a route to our next destination in southern Austria. As for the town, we walked to dinner each evening, and made several outings from Berchtesgaden. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watzmann

Property: Watzmann
Address: Franziskanerplatz 2, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Watzmann Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing