We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fascinating - Very Professional”

Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating since 1990 our thoughtful and history-focused tours of the Eagle's Nest, the underground bunkers and nearby sites associated with Hitler's former HQs in the Alps have won international acclaim. They begin and end at Berchtesgaden's Tourist Office.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fascinating - Very Professional”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

David and his team offer a very professional and enjoyable tour. One of us considers themselves to know a bit about this tragic period and the other not. This was the most enjoyable tour/museum that we have been to on WWII.
A little background info is all you need. Both of us found this to be so interesting.
An absolute must do - we drove 1.5 hours each way and it was worth it.
Only downside is that the time goes too quickly. David is really very knowledgeable and shares this in an accessible way.
One final note of praise is the sensitive manner in which the subject is dealt with: not merely black and white; this period is explained and put in context, which is important.
Finally, having read the negative reviews, I think that they were not sure of what to expect and disappointed as a result.
All in all, take this tour, you will find it very hard to enjoy it even if you know very little about the war, it is just so fascinating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    98
    36
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place was amazing !! a must for any history fan - the elevator is amazing - the bus ride up the mountain is wild!! english speaking tour guides for a small fee!! you cant miss this place!! and we even had snow in June

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennmicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Visit to Berchtesgaden”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My Husband Gerald, can never hear enough about WWII history in Germany. Now I am from Germany and have knowledge of this History. However, when we took the Eagle's Nest Tour with David, I learned some new things that I had not known. David is very very knowledgable about the German History and the Berchtesgaden area. He took us to places which we would have never found by ourselves, the underground tunnels by the Documentation Center and the history behind them are very interesting. I thought there where only Tunnels in Berlin. The drive from area to area is just breath taking and David can tell you all about the history and then some. Our 7 plus hours with him went by very fast and there was not a dull moment the entire time.
If you want to see the Eagles Nest you have to wait until the middle of May when it will open. We missed the date by 2 days but we had other places to go to where we had reservations already. The WWII History Buff Tour is the best to go on, David will make it interesting for you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald and Rosw... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were schedulded for a tour of the Eagles Nest, but due to the horrible weather conditions (rain and flooding) it was closed. They instead offered an alternate tour to the Obersalzberg Documentation center and bunkers for a discounted price. Our guide was very professional and knowledgable. She set the scene for us as we drove up the mountain, showing us existing building and telling us what they were used for by the Nazis and also explaining other building that no longer exist. She provided a very thorough tour in the documentation center and the bunkers. It was really a highlight to our trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dakkinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Should be on everyone's bucket list!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Mesmerizing - that's how I'did describe my experience of Eagle's Nest. The place on top of the Bavarian Mountains holds many an interesting tale from WWII history about Hitler and the Third Reich having entertained a lot of guests there in his mountain retreat.
The experience of walking through the tunnel and taking the almost century old lift made fully of brass through the mountain all the way to the nest was amazing...

Once on top, to see the cabin and then explore the area was something i will always remember. The view from the top with the snow capped peaks and the breathtaking view of the valley and villages below was something that cannot be described.

Go there to live this experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Balaji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing