We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE EAGLES NEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours

Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating since 1990 our thoughtful and history-focused tours of the Eagle's Nest, the underground bunkers and nearby sites associated with Hitler's former HQs in the Alps have won international acclaim. They begin and end at Berchtesgaden's Tourist Office.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE EAGLES NEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This attraction was one of the highlights of our european tour. This was Hitler's retreat. It was built as birthday present for him by one of his high command. This is where he went to unwind with his mistress. The place is a magnificant example of German Engineering, the road winds around the mountain side and then burrows into the mountain itself. the lift carries you up to the Eagles Nest. There you have a breath taking view of 360 degrees of the valley below. It's just so incrediably beautiful, your so high and the snow is soft and powdery, it' just magnificant! It is a must see attraction you won't be disappointed. Inside the Eagles Nest is just as fascinating. You can picture Hitler and his mistress hosting lavish parties and cabinet meetings to discuss the war endeavours. It just has so much history surrounding the building. I'm glad the americans didn't blow it up as they had planned to do, it would have been a great tragedy. A must visit attraction in my humble opinion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Moe1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    97
    36
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historical mecca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I planned the visit to Eagles Nest as a "must see" and was not disappointed. The tour was great and ended up having a crush on the female tour guide. If you like history, WWII places, etc, you will love this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of Hitler's vacation spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hitler chose well for his Bavarian retreat--the scenery is breathtaking. So is the history and we've not had a better tour in all of our European travels than the 4-hour tour provided by Christine and David Harper. It seemed a little expensive, but when you realize that it covers all of the entrance fees and transportation up the mountain (cannot be done by private vehicle), it's only about $30 per person. Note: It is in English so for English-speakers only. The tour includes a lot of historic detail and it is very valuable because the museum that is part of the tour is excellent in its overview of Hitler's leadership and time in this area, but the written information is only in German. A bus winds around the mountain to take you to the peak and you can take the bus down as well, but we recommend the walk because the scenery is beautiful and you can take your time and stop when you'd like.

We love history and my husband has a PhD in 20th C European history--a knowledgeable critic; he was extremely impressed with the information presented and the engaging way in which it was done. Not a history buff? You'll still enjoy the information as well as the opportunity to ride through a solid cliff in the elevator Hitler himself used, while viewing the Bavarian Alps in all their splendor. Pick a clear day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank MSBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Snow prevented our going all the way up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

An early snow prevented our going all the way to the Eagle's Nest, so we were offered a discount on the tour...30 euro instead of 50. I felt OK about this, particularly after reading other description of Eagle's Nest as being pretty much a restaurant with pretty views. We saw the Obersalzburg and the Documentation Center and bunkers; the Center was very interesting although extremely crowded with groups of schoolkids who weren't particularly respectful about the history they were viewing. Our guide was very good, though stressed about the huge crowds. When we left the Documentation Center the sun had come out; the views were spectacular down the valley to Berchtesgaden; you could see why Hitler and his buddies chose that spot for their "summer homes".

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank azzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“History and scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

After a wild bus trip up the mountain (you have to park and take a bus up to the top), you feel like you are on top of the world. The view is so beautiful, you can actually see Salzburg. The history of Hitler's Eagles Nest is fascinating and shouldn't be missed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nykathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Eagle’s Nest Historical Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing