We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical, but friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gaestehaus Achental
Ranked #9 of 53 Berchtesgaden B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nothing fancy, but the service was very friendly and helpful. Hard to find at first because the GPS makes it look like the train station is your destination, but now that you've read this, you know you are close! The room was just fine for my husband and our two kids (8 and 12). No complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

This small hotel situated on the bounder of Berchtesgaden, about 50 meters next to Railway and Bus station. This is good location, because you simply can get into Bus and go to Konigsee or other interesting places.
Staff was very friendly. Room was nice. There was a small balcony with table and 2 armchairs - we could sit and see mountains. Breakfast was very good.
You can take from hotel staff special visitors card "Kurkarte" - it allows you to have a discount on some buses and sightseeings - you should show this card when you buy ticket.
(Also: in case you travel from Salzburg with bus 840 - keep your bus-ticket - it also allows you to have a discount in some places)
May be one detail: there is a railway and a highway near hotel - but trains are seldom and don't go during night, so it is nothing to worry about this. Traffic on highway also seldom, anyway it produces some noise, but it was not a problem for us, because we usually got so tired after walking on mountains, so we always had a good sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CopperTeaPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had difficulty finding the exact location of this guesthouse. You will be led to the train station if you followed the TomTom GPS to Ramsauerstr. 4, 83471 Berchtesgaden. Actually, it is 500 meters further west.

The room was clean, a bit small though. The breakfast was good. No Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was in the traditional bavarian style with balconies off each room. The room was small but ideal and extremely clean. The breakfast was very nice and you could mingle with other guests. We were the only non Germans there so they obviously keep this gem to themselves. The price was extremely cheap but worth every penny. It was very near the train station and this is also where the bus from Salzburg drops you off so its only 10 minutes walk. It was in the lower half of the town as the main town is perched on a cliff top overlooking the valley and it was only 10 minutes into the village. Stunning location and lots to do in the surrounding area makes this a very cheap option for friends to stay in. The owner only spoke to us in German so you may have a language barrier if you dont speak it. SHe was extremely nice and clearly loved having foreign visitors. Very homely.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirkyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I felt very much like a guest visiting a friend staying here. The owner of the Gastehaus was wonderful. When we had to leave early, she even left breakfast in the fridge for us since we were leaving before the continental breakfast was open. Very nice rooms, very homey feel. A little loud because of the rail road tracks out front, but overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DigitalAngel13147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Our problems started on arrival when the owner treated us like school children. However, this could have been a language/communication problem. We booked two rooms. The rooms were identical, but we had to pay almost 20 Euros more for the one room, apparently because it was "recently" renovated!! The hotel is on a busy road, close to the train and bus station, but a long and difficult walk to the restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My wife and I, mid sixties, stayed at this typical Bavarian guest house four nights. Delightful chalet-style buildings, spotlessly clean, efficiently run by a delightful and energetic Birgit. We appreciated the personal welcome on arrival. Breakfast room on the small side but the well-stocked buffet breakfast was excellent. Rooms, most with balconies, comfortable with plenty of storage and all the basics. Own parking areas and a small play area for children. Not in old Berchtesgaden but down on the main road not far from bus and train station. Partial mountain views from from-facing rooms. Handy for Salzburg.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
4.7 mi away
Ferienhotel Neuhausl
Ferienhotel Neuhausl
#9 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schwabenwirt
Schwabenwirt
#6 of 53 in Berchtesgaden
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Ros Demming
Hotel Alpina Ros Demming
#2 of 53 in Berchtesgaden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaestehaus Achental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Achental

Address: Ramsauer Str. 4, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: $69 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaestehaus Achental 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaestehaus Achental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing