We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bavarian Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We statyed three nights in May 2012. The overall experience of the stay was beyond expectation.

The location, the room, the service of the staff was excellent. The food & the restaurant atmosphere also was very nice.

Unfortunately the spa is strictly nude only area. Hence it was not our type of spa that we could use.

Worth for money & worth a another visit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 460 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Located in quite location in the middle of the most pittoresque bavarian mountains, 30 minutes walking from beautifull Koenigsee, Alpenhof is the perfect place for relaxing and visiting the most important bavarian destinations (and Salzburg). The staff is extremely kind and simpatic, food is great, rates are fair. EXCELLENT valute for money, it's the second time we stay at Alpenhof, and we will be' back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spend only 3 nights during our 4 week trip through Europe and we would have loved to stay longer. Whilst we typically love to move it was nice to just relax, hike the scenic mountains and Wimbach-Klamm, visit nearby Koenigsee (3km - you can easily jog there) and enjoy the extensive breakfast buffet, varied "Kaffee/Kuchen buffet" offering as well breads and cold cut meats and cheese tray or getting spoiled with the exquisite 5 course dinner menu. The Sauna/ indoor and outdoor pool area are nice, unfortunately we did not have enough time to enjoy it all.

The rooms have been comfortably decorated and we stayed in a room Alpenrose with 2 children. I would recommend a family suite or more comfort - we did find it too small sharing with our 2 kids. We also would recommend higher floor level to avoid noise coming from upper floors with families/ kids running around and for better views - the first floor will offer vies of forest but not Watzman. Whilst it is rated a 4 star hotel it has very small bathrooms and not all amenities you would offer from a 4* property. It is not a luxury hotel at all but it has been decorated lovely and comfortably. the building floor plan is kind of confusing since it consists of many different add-ons built throughout the years - the design is functional but not luxury .

Room Tip: upper floors, remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived in Salzburg by train and this hotel is a bit out of the way if you don't have a car, but the hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, the pool area is clean and immaculate, the meals were great with a lot of variety (breakfast and dinner). Our group had two triple rooms (sofa bed) and a quad room (bunk beds). I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having read the wonderful reviews for the Alpenhof on Trip Advisor, we booked for a week this summer and have just returned.
It really is a fantastic hotel and thoroughly deserves it's excellent reputation and awards.
My husband and I took our 14 year old son, and stayed in a beautiful family room overlooking the pool and the mountains.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable with great facilities for all ages.
There is a children's play room and outdoor play area, tennis court, pool and table tennis tables to keep younger guests amused, and a beautiful spa area, indoor and outdoor pool and quiet sun lounge/reading room if you want to relax.
The surrounding area is stunning and there is plenty to see and do in the area.
The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and made us feel so welcome.
The food was delicious with the most fantastic breakfast buffet spread we have ever seen, a lovely cake buffet in the afternoons and an exceptional 5 course dinner, the main course of which we chose each morning.
My husband isn't the most adventurous eater, but even he tried things he would never pick from a menu and thoroughly enjoyed them !
We also enjoyed a mid week barbecue night outside on the terrace, complete with authentic German singers/musicians - a great atmosphere and again, the food was faultless.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: The Edelweiss Eck room was ideal for a family of 3 or 4. There was a separate double bunk room for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited in July with our 13 year old son and 80 something parents. This is a hotel that works for all generations The pool area is large and spotless and it was easy to find an opportunity to have the pool to yourself .
We took full advantage of the activities including table tennis - table football - pool and tennis.
The food was great and more varied than expected including Asian influenced dishes. My son has never eaten so many vegetables / fruit / salad.
The staff were without fail helpful and cheerful. The owner was often around and obviously took great pride in maintaining high standards.
The area surrounding the hotel was beautiful and there were many places of interest to visit.
We would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpswichTrueBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is pretty hard to fault. It is located out of the town but there is a bus service and taxis. We did not have a car but easily saw the main attractions such as Jenner, Königssee, the salt mines, Obersatlzberg etc.

The room was ideal for our family of four with more than enough space for everyone.

The kids loved the pool and playing in the meadow.

The food was almost too good. It was hard to stop going back for more.

The best part was probably the staff who all seemed to have pride in their hotel and went out of their way to help guest always with a smile.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank tayvens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
532 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
1.9 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: $168 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing