We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are just back from a 4 night stay at this really wonderful hotel, and we cannot wait until our next visit. Our experience was exceptional from start to finish. The facilities such as the pools (indoor and outdoor), and spa area are lovely. Nothing beats being able to swim outside in cosy warmth on a cold dark evening with steam rising from the pool while looking at the stars. Breakfast and dinner are very generous, with lots of choice. There are plenty of good wines and many good beers to choose from too. But without doubt it is the staff who really help make this hotel worth visiting and revisiting. I cannot recall ever coming across such welcoming, accommodating and helpful staff. Nothing is ever a problem, everything runs efficiently, and there is always someone on hand to help if anything is needed.

The hotel is tranquil and quiet, which makes it pleasant to sit and read in, and the hotel's appearance particularly the bar and lounge give a real feeling of being in Bavaria. It is only 5 minutes drive from Berchtesgaden, and it is less than that to the Konigsee a nearby lake in an Amphitheatre of alpine mountains (not to be missed is the boat ride up the lake and visit to St. Bartholomew; have lunch there too). From the hotel room we stayed in, you had a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains including the Jenner and Waltzmann. The room was generously large, with a fine bed, lovely bathroom, and large seating area with wrap-around sofa where you could sit and read while looking out occasionally at the view. There was a terrace for the summer months.

And if you like hiking, you are at the edge of the Berchtesgaden National Park, with over 400 kms of trails. There are many walks directly from the hotel. On our last day we walked from the hotel to the Brandhof, where we won an eagle's view of the Konigsee, or drive just a short distance to one of the many entrances to the Park (such as the Hintersee). Coming back to the hotel in the evenings, a great way to soothe the body was to indulge in a spa massage. The service we experienced and treatments were excellent. And if you are interested in history then a visit Obersalzberg is a must which also features the eagles nest. Berchtesgaden is itself a lovely little town, the people there are very friendly and it is exactly what you would imagine a Bavarian town to look like. It is good for shopping and there are a number of small casual restaurants there too.

So after our stay, we left feeling very relaxed and happy, and already longing to return. We thank everyone for making our stay such a pleasant one, but particularly Sylvia (exceptional organiser), Mera in the bar (exceptional host and cocktail maker) and Jonas in the restaurant (exceptional waiter and wine selector) for making us feel so much at home, and we will visit again soon. Your hotel and welcome are very special.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jenner 1 room. Lovely views and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 466 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I are on a 14 day adventure through several countries now. We stumbled upon this hotel and stayed 2 nights. We cannot say enough positive about the service, the friendly staff, wonderful food and gorgeous scenery. You will not be disappointed with a stay at this privately-held inn.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We came to Berchtesgaden and stayed at the Alpenhof for a few days before heading to Munich for Oktoberfest. We certainly made the right decision to stay here. Sylvia and the whole staff were great-very friendly and gracious. The rooms were very comfortable, the food was excellent and we enjoyed the other amenities such as the pool, the patio and the great views of the mountains. It's also off the main road, so it's very peaceful. You will have a great time here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had 2 nights here and it was a terrific place to stay. Nice and quiet at night & away from the noise of the town; fantastic views, 2 good pools (everything in good order). Staff were great, and the food was excellent and good value (I had one of the very best steaks I've ever had there). It's difficult to find something to say that hasn't already been said in earlier reviews, .... we really liked the lounge area and the way it was fitted out, even down to the squirrel with wings and big teeth at the door !! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the mountains & pool is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I don't want to write a review of the alpenhof - because i want to keep it a secret.
But I owe them for the great service and value.
It is the best alpine mountain resort and family owned refuge in this amazing location. big enough to have all the amenities but small enough to be quiet and secluded.
By far the best place we have been in the german austrian and italian alps. And we have been to over a dozen in the last few years.
The food is superb and the dining room is run to the best standards and efficiency.
if you go - make sure you leave room for us next summer !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank midtown_dentistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a very good hotel away from the tourist hordes in town. Beautiful location and views. We had a 24 sq. meter room, pretty good sized, with a sofa, flat screen tv and a wonderful large balcony with two comfortable chairs. <plenry of storage in case you're staying a while. Good wi-fi for 3 Euros. Both the included dinner and breakfast were exceptional. Staff was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nortguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have visited the Alpenhof on a number of occasions and I have always found the quality of the service to be outstanding. The rooms are comfortable and well-equipped with some beautiful mountain veiws The hotel has an excellent restaurant with a wide variety of menu choices which change daily. The location is also excellent, being whithin easy reach of some superb hiking and the town of Berchtesgarten which has good bus and rail links. I would recommend the Alpenhof without hesitation and I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchtesgaden
2.1 mi away
Hotel EDELWEISS
Hotel EDELWEISS
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Berghotel Rehlegg
Berghotel Rehlegg
#1 of 6 in Ramsau
664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
1.8 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Address: Richard-Voss-Str. 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: $169 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing