We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable and value for money!”
Review of Gastehaus Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Alpina
Ranked #40 of 55 Berchtesgaden B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My partner and I stayed with Alpina earlier this month.

We had a double room, with attached bathroom and a small balcony. Room was decorated with orange curtains, homely feel. Breakfast provided was most delightful, we were spoilt for choice! The cakes were really good.

The breakfast was to start at 8am or later (can't remember exactly). On our first day, we asked if we could have breakfast earlier so we could have an earlier start to our day. Nothing was too inconvenient for the host! In fact, we had an early train leavin on the following morning, she even packed us breakfast enough for brunch as well!

Very thoughful owner, the highlight of our trip. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

Great value for the money.
They take cash only - no eftpos or credit card
Towels for the bathroom were small and well used

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzpandaQstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Pension Alpina for 3 nights, and found there was nearly nothing to complain about. Our room faced the train tracks, and although the noise was a bit loud, it stopped by around 10:30 pm. Berchtesgaden is such a beautiful place, you won't be spending much time indoors listening to the train!
The guest house itself was charming, with a very kind host who gave us local travel cards which you can use to get discounts on tourist sites. The breakfast buffet was a cold one, but the food was good and there was plenty of it. The guest house is about a 5 minute walk from the train and bus station, and a 15 min bus ride from the national park (or a 1 hr walk as we found out after missing the last bus!). Everything at the guest house is reasonably priced (1 Euro for local beers) and a very cozy place to stay. A great base from which to explore the beautiful hiking trails and outdoor activities of the alps.
I would gladly go back to the Pension Alpina!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at Pension Alpina in Sept 09. The location is great for walking to town, train station ect. The room was clean and breakfast adequate. The Pension has no elevator, so be prepared to carry lugage up three flights of stairs. It is located on a very busy hiway and the train tracks run right in front of the Pension. The train does not blow it's whistle between 10pm and 6am otherwise it sounds off about 2 times anhour.We had a balcony, but it was so noisy we couldn't enjoy our conversation. The beds are old(some springs you can feel) and the sheets definately needed to be replaced. (washed a few to many times)I was glad I only booked for two nites.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We booked the large holiday apartment. We paid 49 euro a night for this and were very satisfied. The holiday apartment has two bedrooms, a double and a single. It has a reasonably spacious kitchen area, small dining area and sitting area and a balcony. If you wish you can pay an extra 5 euro a day and you can eat breakfast in the dining area. The choice of ornaments may not to be everyone's taste, the bedding a little dated and some of the furniture tired but fine. It is right at the top of the building and the building has no lift, has a flight of stairs to the front door and three floors so for that reason I would not recommend this Pension for disabled persons. The owner is pleasant and helpful but sometimes difficult to find. The real issue with this Pension is something that the owner can do nothing about and that is the proximity to the railway line. Trains pass right in front of the hotel and use the whistle so there is a lot of noise at certain times of the day. There is also the main road to Berchtesgaden in front of the pension which can get busy. The journey to the town is walkable but involves either a long route around the town or a cut through the railway station and up a hill which at night is not well lit. In addition, although there is parking at the Pension it is limited and we suffered from some inconsiderate parking by other guests, ie blocking you in. If these things are not an issue for you then the Pension is pleasant and we thought excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My sister & I stayed at the Pension Alpina last September and loved it. The room was small, but very clean and had a beautiful view from our balcony.
The only drawback was that we were on the 3rd floor and no elevator.
The pension is also within easy walking distance of the train station.
The breakfast which was included had a good selection and plenty of food. When we asked our hosts if we could take a couple of buns with us for a snack, they said we could take whatever we wanted. So not only was the breakfast included, but our lunch also.
There was an honor system for the drinks in the refrigerator and when we left we told them we had taken a couple of beers, but we were told not to worry, that was fine.
We had also requested if they could supply us with a hairdryer, which was in our room when we arrived along with a small bottle of wine as a welcome gift.
The hosts were very nice and we will definately stay there again when we visit Berchtesgaden.

Thank kspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Lovely place ,clean,comfortable,super breakfast and the owner Manuela fantastic . I do intend returning to Berchtesgaden in the near future and i will have no hesitation in booking the Alpina again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgangeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reikartz Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Ros Demming
Hotel Alpina Ros Demming
#2 of 55 in Berchtesgaden
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Haus Schwalbennest
Haus Schwalbennest
#12 of 55 in Berchtesgaden
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schwabenwirt
Schwabenwirt
#5 of 55 in Berchtesgaden
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
KS Hostel Berchtesgaden
KS Hostel Berchtesgaden
#19 of 36 in Berchtesgaden
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Alpina

Address: Ramsauer Str. 6, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Berchtesgaden
Price Range: $72 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gastehaus Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gastehaus Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Alpina Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing