We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Pension Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Alpina
Ranked #42 of 52 Berchtesgaden B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Train very close to the Pension! Not the best place to spend the night!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Annonnimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Very seventies, old, old and worn-out. Rooms and bathrooms are kind of OK if it was not for the horrible musty smell of old and dirty mixed with an overwhelming scent of fabric softener desperately trying to cover-up. Bed sheets and towels are worn-out to the point of being see through with holes and do not look clean at all. Poor location, right on the main highway and right on the noisy train tracks! Not enough parking. Too far to comfortably walk into town along a very busy road. Very limited breakfast on chipped dishes with luke warm coffee and not much to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jadrze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berchtesgaden hotels

budapest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I can only echo the reviews on tripadvisor.
If you want a cheap accommodation - choose it, but be ready for not getting the room you always imagined.
room:
+ clean,
- uncomfortable bed and pillows, old bathroom and basic furniture
service:
+ breakfast was okay, self service bar at the reception is budget priced, free parking
- no internet, no elevator (might be challenging to access the room)
location:
+ easy to find
- next to highway and railway, so very noisy
i would recommend to look around for some extra $ in your pocket and search for another accommodation - unless you want a night below 25Euro/person including breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toci001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My partner and I stayed with Alpina earlier this month.

We had a double room, with attached bathroom and a small balcony. Room was decorated with orange curtains, homely feel. Breakfast provided was most delightful, we were spoilt for choice! The cakes were really good.

The breakfast was to start at 8am or later (can't remember exactly). On our first day, we asked if we could have breakfast earlier so we could have an earlier start to our day. Nothing was too inconvenient for the host! In fact, we had an early train leavin on the following morning, she even packed us breakfast enough for brunch as well!

Very thoughful owner, the highlight of our trip. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Great value for the money.
They take cash only - no eftpos or credit card
Towels for the bathroom were small and well used

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzpandaQstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Pension Alpina for 3 nights, and found there was nearly nothing to complain about. Our room faced the train tracks, and although the noise was a bit loud, it stopped by around 10:30 pm. Berchtesgaden is such a beautiful place, you won't be spending much time indoors listening to the train!
The guest house itself was charming, with a very kind host who gave us local travel cards which you can use to get discounts on tourist sites. The breakfast buffet was a cold one, but the food was good and there was plenty of it. The guest house is about a 5 minute walk from the train and bus station, and a 15 min bus ride from the national park (or a 1 hr walk as we found out after missing the last bus!). Everything at the guest house is reasonably priced (1 Euro for local beers) and a very cozy place to stay. A great base from which to explore the beautiful hiking trails and outdoor activities of the alps.
I would gladly go back to the Pension Alpina!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at Pension Alpina in Sept 09. The location is great for walking to town, train station ect. The room was clean and breakfast adequate. The Pension has no elevator, so be prepared to carry lugage up three flights of stairs. It is located on a very busy hiway and the train tracks run right in front of the Pension. The train does not blow it's whistle between 10pm and 6am otherwise it sounds off about 2 times anhour.We had a balcony, but it was so noisy we couldn't enjoy our conversation. The beds are old(some springs you can feel) and the sheets definately needed to be replaced. (washed a few to many times)I was glad I only booked for two nites.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.4 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#14 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaestehaus Achental
Gaestehaus Achental
#6 of 52 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Haus Schwalbennest
Haus Schwalbennest
#25 of 52 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.7 mi away
KS Hostel Berchtesgaden
KS Hostel Berchtesgaden
#13 of 37 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schwabenwirt
Schwabenwirt
#32 of 52 in Berchtesgaden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alpina

Property: Pension Alpina
Address: Ramsauer Str. 6, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pension Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Alpina Hotel Berchtesgaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing