We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good location and very clean tidy rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gruenberger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gruenberger
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very good location and very clean tidy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

For the price the hotel was amazing rooms clean and very good customer service.
Only little quibble breakfast buffet was very empty as in when the cheese run out it wasnt replaced!
But all in all was good and i would come back again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    49
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
46
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Four of us stayed at the Gruenberger in July, 2011, primarily because we were traveling by train and the hotel is just around the circle from the train station. The rooms were very clean and the check in process was easy. The included breakfast was excellent with a large selection of food. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The information office is just down the street, and the Eagle's Nest Tours office is in that same building. A tip: two or three doors down at the end of the street by the traffic circle is a restaurant where we found excellent German-style food. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband, self and 8yr old son stayed in this hotel in July 2011. We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the train station as we were arriving by train. The room was on the top floor with no lift that I saw but that was not a problem for us. The room was very clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. The bath was a bit on the small side but was shaped so you could lay back in it, bliss ! Our room was at the front and overlooked the river and a busy main road. We had read that it was a bit noisy at night but to be honest we never had a problem with noise. We did a lot of walking and maybe we were just so tired at the end of the day that we went straight to sleep.
The hotel is a 10 - 15 uphill walk from the town, so not for the unfit ! Again that didn't bother us as we like walking. Perfect for the train and bus terminal. A short stroll alongside the river and you arrive at the old salt mine which we loved, fab for kids. Close to the supermarket for any picnic items etc.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice from cold, cooked, fruit and sweet pastries. Could not comment on the evening meals as the restaurant was more often than not closed but that didn't bother us as we enjoyed wandering up into the town in the evening and enjoying the many varied places to eat.
For the price I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you like train/bus trips and walking. Not good if you want nightlife and not too active an holiday.
We are not generally too critical as we see the hotel as simply a base for storing clothes and a bed for the night. We go on holiday for the sights and don't tend to spend to much time in the hotel, but overall this was clean, friendly and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed two nights. 180 Euro for two including breakfast. Helpful and professional staff. Reception speak English. Very clean room and bathroom, Big comfortable beds, Large balcony. Dinner at restaurant a bit so so, tasteless actually. The waiter was new. Very friendly but still learning the job. Did not know much english so said yes to everything and went on his merry way. Breakfast good. This hotel is well situated, Complimentary (free)bus pass, Not far from Railway Station and Buses. Can walk to centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wobblywombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

A lovely hotel great room with balcony overlooking the river, great location only a 10 minute walk to the old town. Excellent breakfast and a very friendly welcome. Only criticism was a very small shower! will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

On arrival we were a little disappointed with our rooms as they were on the first floor overlooking the car park. The rooms were quite small and the shower room was the smallest we have ever seen. However, on inspection we could see that the rooms had been renovated and were very clean.
The dining room was nice and bright and breakfast was varied and very good. However, we did not have dinner in the restaurant as it was open some evenings and not others. We did go in one evening to be told it closed at 8pm.
The hotel is in a great situation for people travelling by train as it is across the road from the station and there is a supermarket nearby. However, it is 15 minutes walk up a steep hill into the town and this may be unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Nearby there is a small Italian restaurant that is good.
We visited Salzburg, Eagles Nest and Koenigsee from the hotel. One highlight was that we asked the lady on reception where the Hoffbrauhaus was. She said it is best to go on Friday night as there is traditional dancing. She booked us a table and we went along. All the dancers were in traditional costume and we had a meal and a great evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We (two couples) were on the top floor with adjoining rooms. We had balconies that overlooked the bahnhof. We loved the balcony and the quaint room. Our room was spacious and meet our needs completely. The rooms were clean. Each day we ate breakfast in the lovely dining room and also chose to each dinner there one night. The little waitress worked every shift and although she did not speak English, she was friendly and very attentive--even with a tour group that was staying there too. We took a tour of Eagle's nest and toured the salt mines. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good deal and doesn't mind a clean roomy simply decorated room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#13 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruenberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruenberger

Property: Hotel Gruenberger
Address: Hansererweg 1, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruenberger 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gruenberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing