We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times have passed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good times have passed”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel conveys the impression of grandeur long passed. Symptomatic is the contrasr between front and garden side: Or just go for the contrast between breakfast (decent, large continental) and the halfboard dinner (avoid any halfboard package here:dire is an understatement, if you are a veggie you are stranded). The service at the reception was of a friendly apathy and incompetence that I wondered about the hotel rating system (obviously service is not a part there of). The room was decent and homely with a sufficient bathroom that could have been a bit brighter lighted (at least for my taste). You will find better places to stay (though still worse are possible to add for correctness).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flugwiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    253
    137
    43
    24
See reviews for
130
318
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here in December.

This is an old world hotel - old architecture (probably 1860s) and design. Roomy rooms and satisfactory service - very good breakfasts. Good weinstube (bistro).

Faces the town's small concert house - very inexpensive concerts (hotel provided a discount card).

Surprised that it had no English language TV - no CNN no BBC

Mike Boella

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the tail end of summer. From the outside it's hard to gauge how big the hotel actually is, but when you go in you soon realise it's actually really large with many floors and corridors extending far back from the reception.
The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. We overlooked the grounds of the hotel which house ponds and a mini lake and are beautifully maintained. We spent many an afternoon relaxing on the sun loungers provided; a lovely bonus of being a hotel guest if you want some peace and quiet from the town or local parks!
Breakfast was abundant and delicious every morning and the staff were very helpful and attentive.
The location of the hotel is superb too - you can find it at the bottom of the town, away from the busiest parts, but perfectly placed to walk to pretty much all local areas of interest.
The only real negative is the lack of air con. We stayed during four extremely hot days and during the nights the temperature was a little bit unbearable, even with the hotel patio doors open. The provision of fans would have been a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minty2238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Pros: great breakfast, walkable to local beer garden and shops in town, pool and common areas, rooms are decent for the price

Cons: grounds and exterior are tired, no a/c

Overall a good value but know going not it that this is more like a 3 star hotel. Convenient central location if you want to cover sites in area and Salzburg.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingduncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Travelingduncs,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback.

It is nice to hear that you like our breakfast buffet, our rooms, the swimming pool and wellness area and the location of our hotel. It is boardering at the city centre of Bad Reichenhall and also not far from Salzburg (around 15km).

The Axelmannstein is a hotel with a sense of its own history, but we always try to improve our facilities also exterior.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Axelmannstein has improved since my last visit. Above all, it offers very good value for money. You can stay in what used to be a grand hotel, enjoy the great public rooms and the park, use the large indoor pool and have excellent breakfast (included) in the large Parkrestaurant. All this for the price of a better B&B in the UK.
Location is central in this typical and very pretty turn-of the century continental Spa town. We stayed in a newly redecorated room in the new wing with a large private balcony and made use of the large indoor pool. The park is now better maintained, the pond features a fountain and has been cleared. Minor quibbles do not offset the great value: bathroom toiletries are poor: dispensers for hand wash and 'all over shampoo' with freebies body lotion. I would prefer shower gel, shampoo and lotion in this category. Bathrooms are not the same standard as the rooms but a new lick of paint helps. And, the bottle of water at 4.50 EUR in the room always looks shabby. Pay-for water should stay in the minibar and free bottles (a cheaper local water will do) should be in the room. This will add 1 EUR/room/night can easily be absorbed but will attract positive comments.
There is a large number of foreign tourists but some staff (even front-desk) have only minimalistic language skills. English information and text needs to be vetted by someone who actually understands English.
In sum, Axelmannstein is a great hotel in a delightful spa town. It doesn't pretend to be the Ritz, so not 5-star, nor does it charge the prices. 4 star plus is accurate. Instead it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear ManchesterRay,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Especially I want to thank you for the words “Axelmannstein has improved since my last visit”. It always a pleasure for me and my team to hear that hard work pays off. And also that you mentioned our large park, it is really beautiful and we always continue to improve it. Thank you so much for recognizing it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Bad Reichenhall again.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very good and very old hotel. Maybe the worst part of the hotel is the lobby, it looks a little bit dark and worn out, but don't let it misguide you. My message to the hotel management, the lobby is the first contact with the hotel, put some more effort in it. As you leave the lobby, you understand how good the hotel is. Unlike the modern hotels architecture, this one has wide corridors and lots of “unused” space that gives you a comfortable feeling in every place in the hotel (except the lobby). Great, large and comfortable rooms with ceilings approx. 4 meters high. You get the feeling that you are somehow back in the history. Perfect restaurant and perfect food. The hotel garden is huge and absolutely beautiful, but I think that they are not using it as they could (maybe because there are more rainy than sunny days, who knows). The bar in the garden wasn’t opened at all. The hotel has an indoor pool which is very useful on a rainy day. Very quiet and peaceful place, not only the hotel, but the town in general. After 9 pm you can hear only the birds and the church bell in the morning. The only crowd place after 9 p.m. is the Beer Garden which is 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. So, for a quiet getaway, and relaxing couple of days this hotel is PERFECT

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sapkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sapkar,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.
To read such comments as yours is a honour to our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Axelmannstein Hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Bad Reichenhall sometime in the future.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel during the new year's vacation. Highly recommended for families and couple who is oriented for calm vacation. The hotel is large and old fashioned.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMalenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear AlexMalenkin,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and a few calm days at the traditional Axelmannstein Hotel.

We would be happy to welcome you and your family again soon.

Best regards from Bad Reichenhall,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Reichenhall
0.3 mi away
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#1 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#7 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
AMBER RESIDENZ Bavaria
#17 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gablerhof
Hotel Gablerhof
#3 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayern Vital
Hotel Bayern Vital
#6 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Klosterhof
Klosterhof
#1 of 2 in Bayerisch Gmain
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Property: Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Address: Salzburger Str. 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Axelmannstein Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#3 Family Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bad Reichenhall
Radisson Blu Axelmannstein Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing