We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very good and very old hotel. Maybe the worst part of the hotel is the lobby, it looks a little bit dark and worn out, but don't let it misguide you. My message to the hotel management, the lobby is the first contact with the hotel, put some more effort in it. As you leave the lobby, you understand how good the hotel is. Unlike the modern hotels architecture, this one has wide corridors and lots of “unused” space that gives you a comfortable feeling in every place in the hotel (except the lobby). Great, large and comfortable rooms with ceilings approx. 4 meters high. You get the feeling that you are somehow back in the history. Perfect restaurant and perfect food. The hotel garden is huge and absolutely beautiful, but I think that they are not using it as they could (maybe because there are more rainy than sunny days, who knows). The bar in the garden wasn’t opened at all. The hotel has an indoor pool which is very useful on a rainy day. Very quiet and peaceful place, not only the hotel, but the town in general. After 9 pm you can hear only the birds and the church bell in the morning. The only crowd place after 9 p.m. is the Beer Garden which is 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. So, for a quiet getaway, and relaxing couple of days this hotel is PERFECT

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sapkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Sapkar,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.
To read such comments as yours is a honour to our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Axelmannstein Hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Bad Reichenhall sometime in the future.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 693 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

My family and I stayed in this hotel during the new year's vacation. Highly recommended for families and couple who is oriented for calm vacation. The hotel is large and old fashioned.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexMalenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear AlexMalenkin,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and a few calm days at the traditional Axelmannstein Hotel.

We would be happy to welcome you and your family again soon.

Best regards from Bad Reichenhall,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A great little hotel in a great location. Close to Salzburg, which is a beautiful place when the sun is shining.

We got a good deal from Groupon, which gave us a 50% discount and we didn't encounter any problems with this. The staff and service were great!

If you are looking for a quiet break then this is perfect!. As twentysomethings there didn't seem to be many other couples our age, but this wasn't an issue.

We stayed for two nights and spent most of the time visitng Salzburg, which is only a short drive away and during our stay the weather was glorious! The first night we had dinner at a vegetarian/vegan Indian restaurant. I had tofu steak and it was delicious! We then enjoyed a nice walk around the centre. Amazing!

We returned to Salzburg the next day to see the vibrant city at it's peak. It is full of amazing views, great shops, and a variety of restaurants.

On our last day we spent the morning near the hotel. The breakfast buffet was great. So I'm told by my girlfriend as I was on a vegan diet at the time and I was unable to fully enjoy everything they had. We visited the local Reber Cafe, which is connected to an amazing confectionary shop.

I would visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McrPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear SpankaDemus,

Thank you very much for spending two nights at our hotel together with your girlfriend.
I am happy to read that our hotel meets your expectations and that you mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. They will be happy to hear!
We would be pleased to welcome you again at your next stopover in the beautiful region of Salzburg. It would be great to see you soon again.


With best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Axelmannstein Hotel, Bad Reichenhall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a charming old hotel, slighly (just slightly) worn here or there like my Great Aunt's House- but still charming with a nice restaurant and sauna. My room (106) was just up the staircase (luggage had to go up the elevator) but this made it very convenient. My room was rather larger by European standards- even by American Standards- the bed, as is typical was two twin beds pushed together. The bath room was very large with double sinks and a very nice hot shower.

The meeting room we were in (for 60 people) was a large ball room, carved molding and chandeliers with gold trim and floor to ceiling portaits of what I suopose were long dead Bavarian nobillity. The restaurant had large glass windows to one side where the snow covered mountains were visible a very nice venue.

Wifi for our event was free but sporadic (if everyone went onto WIFI for the meeting it brought the connections to a standstill). No workout facility but a nice running trail (paved) only a half a kilometer run down the street in a park that parallels the river. Nice swimming pool (heated and indoor) and sauna in the basement floor.

Good value and recommended for staying in Bad Reichenhall

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband & I normally choose to stay in small & more personal hotels, but this larger hotel turned out to be just perfect for us! Lovely old charm feel, elegant furnishings, big rooms & bathrooms, delicious breakfast {which went to 11AM!}, helpful staff, beautiful views, & a nice pool & sauna.

We stayed in Bad Reichenhall for three nights over a long weekend. We visited the Salzburg Christmas Market {which was fantastic!} & spent a relaxing weekend at the Rupertus Therme. It was a great weekend!

Also, the Axelmannstein restaurant was delicious! There didn't seem to be a large variety of restaurants near the hotel, so we stayed in one evening for dinner here at the hotel restaurant, & we were not disappointed! Good prices, also!

We really enjoyed our stay at this elegant but affordable hotel in the heart of Bad Reichenhall!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mundublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our second time staying here, the first time in 2007 it was still under the ownership of the Steigenberger Group. The hotel is generally rated as 4+, and I think this is still adequate, even though it seems to go downhill, even though only slightly. It is still a great place, good value, but details show that it is now heading towards 4 star rather than 5: Ticket machine in parking area broken, no free newspaper in the breakfast room anymore, scrambled eggs just a little too well done, breakfast buffet very good but not excellent (no salmon) - nothing big, but tiny details add up, too. Also less staff now it appears - BUT still extremely friendly and totally dedicated to your well being.
We'll go there again next time in the area, but if noone cares, one day they will compete through price alone - and that'd be very, very sad!
Sometimes things show age, but everything seemed always very clean. Nice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kibofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel was built in an age of elegance. Today, if you enter through the front doors, past the reception with its bank of old fashioned room keys, through the lobby to the bottom of the grand staircase you may believe that this is still an elegant hotel. This belief may continue as you climb upwards admiring the tapestries, walking along a wide corridor to arrive at your room. The effect will still be there upon entering the room with its high ceiling and old fashioned french windows. Then look at the furniture - you could be in any four star chain hotel anywhere in Europe. On the table will be a little tray upon which will be two glasses and a bottle of mineral water. Around the neck of the bottle is a label explaining that the water comes at a cost of 4.50 euros. There is little that this hotel will not try to charge you for.

In addition there is no item of expenditure that the latest owners of this hotel are not willling to cut. One area is the reception where only one person is on duty at any one time. This person has impossible task in a hotel that has hundreds of rooms all with old fashioned keys. At one stage the member of staff was on the telephone taking a booking - surely that should have been dealt with by the group reservations office? Therefore it was not surprising that waits of ten minutes or more were common.

Our main reason for staying at this hotel was to dine in the Park Restaurant which we had admired when we had visited before but only for the day and had to leave before dinner was served. Looking at the hotel's website before we left the UK the Park Restaurant is listed as one of the amenities, it still is. The guest information stated likewise but the Park Restaurant has been closed. Sorry it is open but only for breakfast. That meal is standard four star chain hotel fare.

Also in the guest information is reference to the lake in the gardens. It invites you to relax and sit round it. When we located it there was about one foot of very dirty water in the bottom of this six foot deep pool. No one would want to sit round it. All around was decay. There were tennis courts that could not be played on. In fact, the whole of the park gave the appearance of neglect.

The car park was the same. It was badly in need of resurfacing along with the removal of various shrubs that have sprung up due to the lack of attention. It would not be so bad if you did not have the whole length of the car park in order to get into the hotel there being no direct entrance from the car park to the hotel. Also there is only one tiny sign indicating to drivers where reception is.

We were so disappointed with what we found that we checked out after one night although we had booked for three.

This is a lovely hotel that has suffered as a result of two changes of ownership in three years. It deserves better - let us hope that there is someone out there who will restore it to its former glory.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlexSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Reichenhall
0.3 mi away
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
AVALON Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#1 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
AMBER RESIDENZ
AMBER RESIDENZ
#12 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
Galerie-Hotel Bad Reichenhall
#7 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Klosterhof
Klosterhof
#1 of 2 in Bayerisch Gmain
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Luisenbad
Parkhotel Luisenbad
#24 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnenbichl
Hotel Sonnenbichl
#15 of 31 in Bad Reichenhall
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein

Address: Salzburger Str. 2-6, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Axelmannstein Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#3 Family Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range: $103 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Bad Reichenhall Axelmannstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bad Reichenhall
Radisson Blu Axelmannstein Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing