We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So noisy I couldn't sleep AT ALL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Anker
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So noisy I couldn't sleep AT ALL”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed in that hotel for just a short while. The room we got was small, however the bed comfortable. The insulation to the other rooms was so poor, that you could hear every noise, apparently to the structure of this historic building being really old. The person in the room above us was constantly trampling, and the beams supporting the ceiling squeaked continuously. We finally left the room after a few hours as there was no way we could sleep. The reaction of the staff was unfriendly and cold, we were just offered an alternative room, however it was clear that there was a structural issue with the hotel. Just based on the reaction, especially the owner or general manager and her disinterest in the satisfaction of her guests are reasons to never again consider the hotel nor to recommend it to anybody else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timbaleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva-Graf-Handel, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Anker, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We as a family run, historic hotel and as a traditional home provide hotel and restaurant services for hundreds of guests every year.
Especially during the festival period in Bayreuth the hotel is completely booked up.
Most of our guests have been visiting us for many years, appreciating not only the sophisticated interior design of our classy traditional home, but also the services provided by our suitably trained staff as well as the quality of our offers. Generally, we try to settle immediately any complaint of the guests in their interest, regardless of whether or not a grievance is really justified.
In this special case we were offering a different room immediately after the guest´s complaint, but it was not accepted though he would have profited by a very generous upgrading of the other, new room. The "stay" of this guest by the way was during 2 until 3.30 p.m.

As this criticism is so abstruse, there is no use in going into the details of his comment. The “guest” wanted to cancel his booking, dating back to March 2012, a few days before the arrival without paying any cancellation fee. We refused to accept this given the general conditions which the guests are deemed to have agreed to, not only at our hotel but in the entire accommodation sector. As a consequence of this refusal, this “guest”, for example, uttered nasty vulgarities at the hotel owners driving past them in his car, even when they were talking with other guests. Thus the comments of this “guest” can only be referred to and interpreted as a kind of belated vengeance. This is the real reason for this posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
40
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel before and was disappointed, however wanted to give it another chance. However my plans changed and I needed to return the same day I arrived. The hotel didn’t accept a cancellation 72h prior to arrival and insisted on the policy stipulated in the booking confirmation. So I decided to at least check into the hotel, take a nap prior to the performance at the Bayreuth festival, and change as I had to pay for the room anyways. Upon arrival I was handed the key without words (no “how was your trip?” or “welcome back”). The room was small with a low ceiling, ridiculous for the about EUR 400 they charged. The 0,75l mineral water in the room was EUR 5,50, instead of including at leastwater in such a steep rate. We went straight to bed as we only had 35 minutes for the nap. However it was impossible to sleep, as the walls and ceilings are paper-thin so that you can hear every word or move in adjacent rooms. The person in the room above us for some bizarre reason was walking constantly around the room like a hamster in a cage. Not only could you hear the trampling from that person, the timbers supporting the ceiling creaked even worse. Wecalled the front desk after 20 minutes, and they stated there was nothing they could do. Without sleep we finally checked out and paid. Upon asking for a price concession due to the room being inadequate to sleep they had me wait for quite a while. Some staff took the reservation list to the owner of the hotel, who was sitting in front if the hotel slurping some coffee. Instead of coming to see a really upset hotel guest, she had her staff deliver the message there was nothing she could do other than offer a different room. After I got in my car right in front of the hotel, I pulled down my window and started a conversation “excuse me, you are the owner of the hotel, right?”. Visibly annoyed about somebody addressing her she ignored my question by replying “So who the heck are you?” – after I apparently got in my car with luggage right in front of her hotel. ANY HOTEL IN BAYREUTH GOT TO BE BETTER THAN THIS!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GermanWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva-Graf-Handel, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Anker, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We have taken note of the comment, posted on August 3, 2012.

The statements of this “guest” concerning his stay at our hotel are simply untrue!

We provide accommodation and catering services for hundreds of guests every year and especially during the festival period in Bayreuth the hotel is completely booked up. Most of our guests have been visiting us for many years, appreciating not only the sophisticated interior design of our house, but also the services provided by our suitably trained staff as well as the quality of our offers. Generally, we try to settle immediately any complaint of the guests in their interest, regardless of whether or not a grievance is really justified.

This criticism is so abstruse that there is no use in going into the details of this comment. The real reason for this review can be guessed reading its introduction. The “guest” wanted to cancel his booking, dating back to March 2012, a few days before the arrival without paying any cancellation fee. We refused to accept this given the general conditions which the guests are deemed to have agreed to, not only at our hotel but in the entire accommodation sector. As a consequence of this refusal, this “guest”, for example, uttered nasty vulgarities at the hotel owners driving past them in his car, even when they were talking with other guests. Thus the comments of this “guest” can only be referred to and interpreted as a kind of belated vengeance.

With his false attacks on this platform against our hotel this guest merely demeans himself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I came to Bayreuth to attend a few performances at the Festpielhaus, and was fortunate enough to book a room at the Hotel Goldener Anker. There is no doubt in my mind that it must surely be the finest hotel in town. The location could not be bettered, settled on a lovely street next to the Margravial Opera House and thriving Maximilianstrasse, filled with restaurants and shops. If one is not there for the festival, one finds oneself just a few minutes away from the train station and right in the centre of town. For the Wagner lover, it is equally perfect, just down the street from villa Wahnfried and the lovely parks that lie beyond, and just a twenty/twenty-five minute walk from the green hill. The hotel itself has a rich history of illustrious guests, and is a haven of old-world charm. Every room has character, and is impeccably decorated and maintained. The period furnishings are beautiful, and the distinctive taste of the different rooms made me want to return to try some of the others. The food is wonderful, and breakfast--served to the table, a touch I much prefer to the self-service variety-- abundant and of high quality. The rooms were wonderfully quiet, the ambience intimate and friendly. Perhaps best of all is the staff. Constantly amiable and helpful, they made my stay a pleasure. As a side note, though my German is not immaculate, they happily obliged me by speaking English.
Ultimately, though I came for the festival, the Hotel Goldener Anker is now insuperably intertwined with my memory of Bayreuth. When I am next in town, there is nowhere else I would consider staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank JohnGalt330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was in Bayreuth just prior to Wanger festival.
I found the rooms very clean , tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very nice - simple but attentive staff, yes there is a small charge E3 for an additional eggs and bacon but with rooms less than 100 E this is a small problem

Yes English TV was none existent or WiFi. but the charm comfort and staff was worth the trip

Bram

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Cdneurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have stayed here three times and the old style charm was inviting and made our stay magical. In the shadow of the Festival House, there is no other place to stay if you are there for a Wagnerian opera.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank Raphael823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We found our way to this charming old world hotel one cold and rainy November. Without reservations and certainly off season, we had a wonderful time. Then again during festival, we had a magic time! Beautiful rooms, excellent service....OK no BBC but the beautiful service, lovely rooms and great location made up for no wifi. I simply long to return.

Room Tip: book early during festival season
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank kbfitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is the second time my husband and myself stayed at the Goldener Anker in Bayreuth. Although we attend the opera for a week, the highlight of our vacation is often the ambiance we enjoy as guests of the charming hotel. The gracious staff is attentive to any and every request, the dining is superb, and it is a delight to walk home from the opera house and look forward to an intimate LATE night dining experience in our own hotel.
The accommodations are superb and we love to have our windows open to the courtyard at night. The hotel is a destination in and of itself, but staying here adds to the "Wagner experience" if you are attending opera in Bayreuth. We highly recommend the Hotel Goldener Anker for accommodations and dinning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank Linda334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayreuth hotels
0.5 mi away
H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#1 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
#4 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#5 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#7 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grunau Hotel
Grunau Hotel
#10 of 19 in Bayreuth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Anker

Property: Hotel Goldener Anker
Address: Opernstr. 6, 95444, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Anker 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Goldener Anker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Anker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing