We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Value for Bayreuth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,044 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“A Good Value for Bayreuth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Even when the Wagner Festspiel is not going on, Bayreuth’s hotels are more expensive than you would expect. When it is going on, you have no choice but to pay. That makes the Goldener Löwe a reasonable value for the price. The hotel is on the edge of the city center and near the big mall. Everything except the Festspielhaus is within a 30-minute leisurely walk. The hotel is not especially pretty, but it has some very old elements that give the place charm. The rooms are somewhat Spartan. Street noise is a problem, but there are earplugs among the usual amenities. The breakfast is just what you expect from a German Gasthaus – world class. I have stayed at the GL five times over the years and do not remember the breakfast ever changing. They offer homemade preserves that are nothing special, but not bad. The restaurant is the highlight of the hotel. There is parking available behind the hotel. Just hope it does not rain or snow, for then it is a quagmire. The thing that annoys me most is the Wireless Internet. On earlier stays, it never worked in any of my rooms. Now it apparently works, but I find the prices annoyingly high for what most hotels provide gratis. Still, this is the best value in an over-priced city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
28
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lille
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I have stayed for 3 night in this hotel, and the service was great: normally kitchen closes at 10pm, but we arrived a little later, and a call was enough to keep the kitchen open until we arrived. Everybody working in this hotel is extremly friendly, the breakfast is great (different bread, juices, cereals including homemade Birchner-muesli!, egg's with smiling faces pained onto the eggs!!!), homemade marmelades (they gave us a small glass of their marmelade when we checked out) and so on. My room was great, freshly renovated with a lot of wood and nicely decorates, and all this at very reasonable prices in in an old, typically german Gasthof. Location is great, close to downtown with free parking (be aware, that the parking on the other side of the street is NOT free during the day: we left one day at 8am and meter maides were already at work: 5 minutes later and we would have had a ticket!).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrissyLille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
299 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

Many, many great things about this place. The restaurant had great Bavarian food at very reasonable prices. The location is a five minute walk to the center of Bayreuth. There is free parking! Breakfast was good and ample. The hotel is located on a busy street, but I did not notice any traffic noise. Our room was big with a double bed and a sofa and a modern bathroom, for 89 euros. You might think the price is a steep but remember that Bayreuth is a hoity-toity town dedicated to Wagner enthusiasts. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaytonJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Nice comfortable old style family hotel in the city center, but quiet and has free parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmutlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Goldener Loewe for 4 nights while attending 2 dress rehearsals for the Wagner Festival. We were very pleased with our choice - booking (via e-mail) was easy and efficient, the price was very reasonable, the hotel was very quiet, our room was very nicely furnished in a modern style (lots of pine, wooden floor) and the food and beer were very good ! Has parking & is conveniently placed just off the ring road so 5 minutes' walk to one end of the pedestrianised main street through the old town. Probably about a 40 minute walk to the Festspielhaus but we never actually walked all the way - the first night we got the bus there intending to walk back but it was raining so we picked up a taxi partway back, the second night we took the car. We noticed a hotel minibus so I daresay they probably offer a shuttle service when the festival proper starts.

Only possible slight drawback - no airconditioning, but we knew beforehand that most hotels in Bayreuth don't have it (I believe only one does and we didn't like the look of that one); but I seem to remember that fans were supposed to be available upon request - we didn't find the room so warm that we needed to ask.

We hope to visit Bayreuth again one day and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_venezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We loved our stay at the Brauereigasthof Goldener Löwe! The parking was a real plus for Bayreuth! It was jus a 10 minute wal to the heart of the downtown. The room was so cute with pine furniture. The breakfast was the best we had in 15 days in Germany. They own a restaurant downstairs and so you can imagine how good the breakfast was! The crosisants and lvoely bread rolls were hot! The many kinds of homemeade jam were delicious. We loved the yougurt and the cheeses and cold cuts.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorfromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2005

We stayed here for two nights in September 2004. When we arrrived in the early afternoon the hotel was closed, with a sign on the door giving us a number to call, and informing us that the hotel would open at 5pm. I wondered where we had landed. However, we wandered around for an hour or so, and returned to find the hotel open. We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. The room was furnished in Bavarian style, very clean and tidy - as was the whole hotel. We ate a wonderful Bavarian meal in their restaurant that evening and sampled the good beer. Breakfast was varied and ample. The hotel lies just across the ringroad that used to be the old town wall. So getting into the old town is a matter of five minutes. It is far enough from the road to be away from traffic noise. We slept well.
If you are looking for a small, cosy and friendly hotel as a base for exploring Bayreuth and environs, then the Goldener Löwe is just right.

When we left, we were presented with a small jar of home-made jam. A nice touch.

Helpful?
10 Thank dinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayreuth hotels
0.2 mi away
H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#1 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#5 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
#4 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grunau Hotel
Grunau Hotel
#10 of 19 in Bayreuth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arvena Kongress Hotel
Arvena Kongress Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Goldener Loewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Goldener Loewe

Property: Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Address: Kulmbacher Str. 30, 95445, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof Goldener Loewe 2*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Gasthof Goldener Loewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing