We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay when visiting the Wagner festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay when visiting the Wagner festival”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were lucky to receive Wagner tickets this year for two consecutive shows. Therefore, we wanted to have an excellent Bayreuth experience. The Ramada Residenzschloss served exactly that purpose. It was not cheap but the hotel is very nice. Rooms are spacious, staff is very friendly, and the breakfast buffet leaves no wishes open. I was wondering who will be staying there during the rest of the year. Bayreuth is a little off the beaten path in Germany and does not offer very much to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helferich, Manager at H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Gruess Gott “Reinhard H.”

congratulations for your tickets to the Wagner Festival. I am really very pleased with your very good rating. You make us very proud of: "very nice hotel, spacious rooms, very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast buffet" - what else could a guest want? :-) However, I must disagree with you: Bayreuth has a lot to offer - including and especially outside the festival season - you should see the essential. Looking forward to see you and forward to you make great proposals.

Hope to see you soon again in Bayreuth - the city that is off the beaten path
Christian Helferich & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    138
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
33
141
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A visit during the Bayreuth festival, with the hotel very busy. Nevertheless, cheerful and unfailingly professional staff, attentive to every request. An excellent breakfast in a spacious and airy setting and - thrown in for free - a special bus service to and from the evening festival performance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helferich, Manager at H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "Mantrobus"
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. A "perfectly run hotel" with "unfailingly cheerful and professional staff" plus "an excellent breakfast" - what does a happy hotel guest needs more :-)
We are happy to read that you liked it so much staying with us. Thank you for publishing your excellent rating. I cross my fingers for you that you get tickets for the festival again next year.

Remember: you book in advance with us :-)

Greetings from Bayreuth
Christian Helferich & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in August at the Ramada Residenzschloss in Bayreuth to visit this picturesque city and to attend one of the operas at the annual Wagner festival.

5 minutes' walk to Maximilian Strasse - the main shopping area - so well located.

For a 5 star hotel it lived up to expectations. The guest was well looked after on all levels - which is to be expected from a hotel with a good reputation and pricing rate to match. Reception and Concierge attention, waiting staff and service in the restaurant and room cleaning staff were all excellent. The rooms themselves were spacious and well equipped. Everything worked well. We were allocated a room on the side facing the garden (rather than the main road) and slept well, even with the windows part open for ventilation. As the hotel has no room airconditioning, this is a point to bear in mind if you are coming mid-summer as temperatures can get hot here (as we know from previous experiences). What the hotel does now have are mobile aircon "towers" for each room - not the best solution, but better than nothing.

We had no other major problems - the satellite channel system installed does not have the widest range of international channels - this being deep in the heart of Germany it gives you the opportunity to brush up on your German comprehension via the TV!!

Good food and bar service with various dining areas indoors and out - complimentary shuttle service with pre-performance aperitif for opera goers - indicators of well thought out hosting. Car park with 24 hour access and an attentive valet.

Well recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get a room garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaCapellaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helferich, Manager at H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear “CasaCapellaBarcelona”,

Wow - what a wonderful feedback. Many thanks for your very, very good rating. Especially your comment: "for a 5 star hotel it lived up to expectations" - even though you know that we have "only" four stars :-) It makes us really proud that you have experienced our hotel and our service so pleasant. Almost everything was perfect. Thank you so much again and hopefully see you next year for the festival?
We all look forward to it.
Kind regards
Christian Helferich & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm having a hard time describing how wonderful my stay at this hotel was. The hotel staff was more than attentive, consistently friendly, and willing and able to accommodate even the smallest request. The restaurant has a lovely terrace, where one can breakfast or enjoy an afternoon tea, and the rooms are clean and bright. They were attentive to special dietary needs I had, and I felt that every employee went out of his or her way to make my stay more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helferich, Manager at H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear “Jennifer”,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review: „Hotel staff was more than attentive, consistently friendly...“ - and “every employee went out of his or her way to make my stay more enjoyable” It is a pleasure to know how you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us host you again in Bayreuth with “tea at the lovely terrace” :-)
Thank you again for your fantastic feedback.

Greetings from Bayreuth
Christian Helferich & Team
RAMADA Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of our weeks tour around Germany from 18 th June- 20th 2013.

The meals was quite nice, it was a buffet, so your own choice.

The temperatures had reached up to 100 degrees that day and there wasn't any air conditioning. It was stuffy and unbearable. As our room over looked the main road having a window open was impossible, cars passing and people talking outside well into the early hours.
The beds were hard too, and I never got to sleep until the early hours.

The room itself was nice though, and clean.

The barman was unfriendly and didn't want to keep the bar open passed 10 o'clock p.m. And also the bar was stifling hot, again no air con. One night it rained hard but was still very hot, and our party had to sit out by the main door to get some air, the barman dis courageous us from the garden area.
We were glad to leave here. I would not stay here again, and I don't believe our tour part are going to use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Location for us was not good as travelling to Nuremburg, but it depends where you are going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0rsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helferich, Manager at H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear “d0rsy”,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the dinner buffet and your room.

Your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry that you had a bad experience with the hot summer in Bayreuth. Hopefully our planned climatisation will be approved so that our historical building can be modernised in the near future.

The advantage of our central location are very short ways to the city center and the sightseeing places. We regret that it has been too noisy for you.

Please give us a second chance!

Greetings from Bayreuth,
Christian Helferich & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radeberg, Germany
Level Contributor
358 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Right upon arrival the professional receptionist made us feeling at home. Her smile was real, her hints and recommendations attraced our attention, the room was in top condition as the service had indicated by the arriaval notice. Even in the car port I made it inspite of quite narrow parking slots.
The breakfast you should try - whow, it`s one of the best!

Room Tip: we enjoyed the 5th floor non smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny-A-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helferich, Manager at H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear “Sonny-A-H”,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about the professional receptionist who made you feel like at home, the top room conditions and even the parking slots you mentioned in a very friendly manner.
Thank you very much. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Bayreuth.
Christian Helferich & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayreuth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#1 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arvena Kongress Hotel
Arvena Kongress Hotel
#2 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldener Anker
Hotel Goldener Anker
#6 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grunau Hotel
Grunau Hotel
#10 of 19 in Bayreuth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
Hotel Restaurant Lohmuhle
#4 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#5 of 19 in Bayreuth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth

Property: H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth
Address: Erlanger Str. 37, 95444, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ramada Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth is conveniently located nearby all of the city's important addresses - just a few steps from the city centre with bars, restaurants and shopping mall. Our restaurant "Gaumenfreund" and the adjoining bar are located in a former brewery and form a protected historic monument. The historical architecture and the high ceilings (5.5 Metres) give the restaurant its specific flair, which you will enjoy regardless of whether you enjoying the breakfast buffet or partaking of an exclusive dinner. Also available for our guests is free WLAN internet and Sky Sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H4 Hotel Residenzschloss Bayreuth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bayreuth
Bayreuth Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing