We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ulm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cute Hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked this hotel for one night, as we were visiting Legoland the next day (20 min away). Location is perfect, just parking is a bit tricky, they will give you a pass to park in a designated zone, but have fun finding a space.... I took about 20 min.... The hotel is very quaint and small. Not too many amenities (long haul of two big and heavy suitcases up two flights!) but overall ok. Interesting that some parts of the old walls are still viewable behind Plexiglas. our rooms (#6 and 7) were spacious. Our breakfast was very good. only negative points I had were: my bathroom was not too clean (window was full of cobwebs and the beams etc was very dirty, to be expected in such a house with exposed beams??) and the lack of AC and fans (both rooms being under the roof). I asked the receptionist, but she seemed to be a bit overwhelmed (told me she was new), she did not know if the air vents along the floor were AC or not, nor did she know if there were any fans.... Although we were smack in the middle of the pedestrian zone, I thought that the rates were a bit pricey.

Room Tip: - No AC in rooms 6 /7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
42
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Could not have asked for more from our stay here. Totally exceeded our expectations. Delightful, clean, unique hotel, with first rate staff.

Chose to stay in a 'less crooked' room, but even it had plenty of charm and 'fun' appeal as its floor was still slanted even though the bed was flat!

Only stayed here one night but would definitely stay here again if in the Ulm area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright-Brighton-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had no idea and did not know about this tourist attraction in Ulm in the midst of the fishermen's quarters. I wanted to stay there, when I saw this old hotel from the outside and walked in. I was lucky because there was one single room still available for two nights. The very top room is the longest room in the hotel - from one end of the house to the other. When you are at the creek-end with couch, Flatsceen TV and minibar and you want to walk to your bed at the other end, it's an 'uphill battle', which is all the fun.The house has a great history and is evident everywhere and well explained. You constantly enjoy the sound of the very near-by creek. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is good and to German standards. I booked it again for my upcoming October trip with my wife to share the unique experience.

Room Tip: toproom has the 'uphill' experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_stanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
356 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ulm is not one of the top tourist destinations in Germany, so that most travellers will only stay there for a few nights. For this, Hotel Schiefes Haus is a nice base. It's located in the old fishermen's quarter, quiet and central, within walking distance to all major tourist destinations. It's an unusual and quirky hotel, but not without modern comfort.

Rooms are adequately sized, with all amenities one expects from a hotel nowadays, including free and fast WLAN. Furniture is modern, offering an interesting contrast to the old structure of the building. Staff are very friendly and breakfast is good. No restaurant in the buidling, which is not an issue, as there are some nice restaurants just around the corner.

Only downside is that obviously there is no elevator in the building that carries your luggage to the upper floors...

If you like hotels with a character, Schiefes Haus is the best place in Ulm to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A great experience, with very helpful pleasant staff who were very happy to explain the fascinating history of the building. Good breakfast buffet, with everything fresh as staff replenished as necessary, rather than leaving food lying around. Our only complaint was cheap, hard, small pillows filled with old fashioned foam chunks - not up to usual German standards

Room Tip: We were in room 10, at top of building, which was spacious & comfortable but without sloping flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've stayed here many times for work and a couple times personally as it is not too bad as a launch point to Munich. If you're like me, you like something clean and comfortable and modern. Well, by the looks of it, the Schiefes Haus at something like 500 years old would not be it, but you'd be wrong! This hotel is very modern inside the rooms and is extremely comfortable (comfortable beds and largish bathrooms). Nice simple breakfast and eating area and cool sitting area (beer, wine, drinks) in a room that is actually over the creek. Also, this hotel is in the historic Fischersviertel (fishing quarter) which is beautiful. It is also very close to the main cathedral and anything else you'd like to see within downtown Ulm.

As most have said, the building is crooked and while it is very noticeable inside the rooms, it's not a nuisance. In fact, it's unique and each bed has a level built into it. As mentioned, rooms are modern, have a fridge, wifi, big tub with built in shower.

Some warnings: book early as this place fills fast (especially when the X-mas market is on), they generally have a cancellation charge, no elevator (they'll help you with your bags), and watch your head as doorways are short.

This is easily one of the most unique hotels I've frequented...a great stay for business or pleasure and very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I did not stay here. I booked a room 2 weeks before I was to stay there. Because of work issues I could not stay there. I canceled my reservation 5 days later. Their policy is to charge a % if you cancel this close to your arrival date. They charged me 71% of my night. I had the room reserved for only 5 days. Most likely, they would not have rented the room even if I had not made my reservation. They could have been more accommodating and not charged me such a high percentage as they did. I have had to do something similar with other hotels in germany, who charged me anywhere from nothing to a maximum of 20%. I feel that this hotel could have been a bit more compassionate, due to the fact that these were circumstances out of my control AND because I had the room reserved for only 5 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#10 of 38 in Ulm
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
0.7 mi away
Maritim Hotel Ulm
Maritim Hotel Ulm
#4 of 38 in Ulm
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Ulm
B&B Hotel Ulm
#2 of 38 in Ulm
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Goldenes Rad
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loewen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm

Property: Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm
Address: Schwoerhausgasse 6, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing