We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience if you want quirky.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ulm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Schiefes Haus is a well-known tourist stop in Ulm and I stayed there for 3 nights while in town on business. As the name implies, it is "crooked" or tilted since the back part of the old building has sunk down a bit in the small canal that runs literally right under the small building. All the floors tilt to the back and the them of the small hotel is crooked. Everything, furniture, the silverware at breakfast, the placement of things is, well, crooked on purpose. Staying there is somewhat like staying at your old camp from 5th grade except with a really nice bathroom. It is full of old wood beams, very low ceilings, old stairs and exposed wood walls. It has amenities like a nice flat screen TV, wifi, a minibar and nice modern baths. Beds are very low to the ground and getting our of bed in the morning and stepping on the tilted floor requires some getting used too. Breakfast is average and the staff were adequate. This "hotel" is essentially a bed and breakfast in a nice location. The Danube is a 2 minute walk behind the hotel and the Minster is a 5 minute walk. Very nice cafes and restaurants are an easy walk as well. If you embrace the quirky them, you will like it. If you want a business hotel with more conveniences, stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paradoxcapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for almost couple of weeks. The hotel is one of the oldest in th world with around 700 yrs of existence. It is so ancient that it has now tilted. But rooms are beautifully maintained with all modern facilities. The staff is extremely courteous. And food is amazing.
This place is an experience to stay and is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

History buffs will absolutely love the feel of this hotel, from the rustic wooden beams to the quaint setting beside the river and the wonderful helpful staff it is an absolute gem!
My stay was only for one night for a business trip but it was a definite treat from a
North American perspective.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piperwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Don't pass this hotel up! It was by far the most memorable and unique place we stayed in during our two weeks in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The decor inside was beautifully; they have definitely found a way to keep the old charm while offering modern luxuries-- like a giant bathtub and heated floors in the bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was a beautiful buffet with fresh fruit, pastries, meats, cheeses and eggs. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Centrally situated and definitely the most unique place we've ever stayed in. Warm welcome and a very individual room with view over the nearby canal. Good breakfas served in a pleasant dining room. In the Guinness Book of Records as the hotel with the most inclined rooms. Worth the extra!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as we were getting married in Ulm. The Hotel is very interesting on the outside and inside, modern stylish rooms , in a great location. Frau Ertel, who I believe is the manager could not do enough , on the morning of the wedding the weather was awfull she arranged for us to use a room for some pictures etc ,on the day after the wedding we went to breakfast and the table was specially laid out.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAndJulia1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Once you get over the feeling of being slightly drunk when you want around on the slanted floors, this hotel is very charming and comfortable. The location is great for exploring Ulm and there are many nice restaurants and shops nearby. A nice parking garage was reasonably close. The breakfast buffet was great and accommodating for late sleepers. The room itself was very comfortable and spacious with big soaking bathtub.

The only issue that we had was that the WIFI stopped working the second night (out of 4) and nobody seemed terribly concerned about getting it fixed right away. Considering we were there on business and really needed Internet access, this was not ideal. Also, it may not be the best choice with young children or people with disabilities. There are steps (no elevator) and noise really carries from room to room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissGigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#10 of 38 in Ulm
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
0.7 mi away
Maritim Hotel Ulm
Maritim Hotel Ulm
#6 of 38 in Ulm
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RiKu HOTEL Ulm
RiKu HOTEL Ulm
#23 of 38 in Ulm
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Ulm City
Ibis Ulm City
#7 of 38 in Ulm
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Ulm
B&B Hotel Ulm
#2 of 38 in Ulm
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiefes Haus Ulm

Address: Schwoerhausgasse 6, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: $129 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing