We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, dishonest staff!”
Review of IntercityHotel Ulm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IntercityHotel Ulm
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a world traveler, this was my worst hotel experience to date. The staff would not honor their website rates so we paid more. Upon entering our room, we discovered it had no AC. The front desk receptionist ensured me the train stops operating at 10pm and resumes operation at 7am. We could leave the window open to cool the room. The train operated all night. With the noise and the heat, we could not sleep. When I addressed this to the receptionist in the morning, I was informed this was the first time the trains operated overnight. One lie after another. Find another hotel in Ulm as the staff are dishonest people with no ethical standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CC201_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for IntercityHotel Ulm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

we checked in mid day and the receptionist was less than friendly. I asked her for ice to take to the room and she questioned why I wanted ice. when we returned from dinner, I asked for another pillow and blanket as they only had one each and their were two of us. She again seemed very put out that she had to get them for us. that night, with no air conditioning, I opened the window and regretted it. we were on the second floor overlooking the parking lot below and heard cab drivers yelling, people hanging around the train station/hotel steps yelling, and of course very busy traffic, honking horns etc. Overall, terrible experience.

Room Tip: find another hotel away from the train station.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived late and asked if maybe they had a special price for us, which they say they have so we check in. But after looking at their website we find out that we actually payed MORE than the regular prices. We ask the receptionist about this but his response is that breakfast is included in our price and also parking, but should he not have mentioned this from the start?! We also had to ask for a second pillow as there was only one in the room and to the question if there is no AC in the room, since it was so hot, we got "open the window" as a reply. The only problem was that the room faced the train station which was quite noisy with the window open. Afterwards we regret not just leaving and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Compared to most European hotels it was very nice. Modern furniture and bathrooms, clean beds and towels. Connected to the train station so it was convenient for a quick 2 night stay. Breakfast is overpriced for what you get, same with Internet but Internet is overpriced anywhere you go. Overall it was a good stay at a clean hotel for a reasonable value.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idaho2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed with a small group for a short stay. On the plus side: , right next to the train station ; in the middle of city, rooms were clean and the breakfast was good, tiny bar was cozy. On the negative side, right next to the train station - heard trains at night and in the morning! The rooms were VERY tiny, comfortable pillow, not comfortable bed. Smoke in all the hallways. I felt it was overpriced for what we received. Biggest complaint was the staff. All but one gentleman seemed to have a chip on their shoulder and a sour disposition. They were not helpful at all with finding restaurants or assisting with plans. Had to take a cab to good restaurants. Boccacio was execellent by the way.

We will not stay at this hotel again, or in Ulm for that matter, and our group is unanimous in that. Was not a good value, but I dont' know what the other options in Ulm are.

Room Tip: Room not overlooking the train tracks
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

this hotel has a good position, in the center of city.
The main problem for me was the smell of smoke in my room, very orrible. The breakfast was good, but the internet connection is too much expansive and in the city there are many hotels with connection free.
The hotel is in the railway station, so in the night there are many person outside and the atmosphere is not good. I don't advice for family or woman alone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Our stay in the InterCity Ulm was very short and since we had to catch a train in the morning we decided to choose this hotel purely for its location and the price which was really ok (70€ for a double room). We got there an hour before check in and the receptionist was very nice and checked us in straight away. The rooms are not big but the space is used well. It could do with some updating including the bathrooms. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are very warm and due to the noise it is not easy to get to sleep with an open window.. BUT that is just what you get in the middle of a city right at the train station.
The helpful receptionist recommended us where to go for a little sight seeing by foot and even gave us some good restaurants, the one we eventually went to was an absolute gem!
I was very surprised the hotel restaurant is not open on Friday nights as well as all of Saturday and Sunday. I guess it is because most their guests are business travellers and stay during the week.. But it can pose an inconvenience to other guests over the weekend if they had a long journey behind them and just want a quick bite.. not everyone wants to go to next door burger king.

All in all it was exactly what I expected from this hotel, the staff was very nice and they were the main reason for me to give a 4/5 instead of a 3/5.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juli-scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulm hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Ulm City
Ibis Ulm City
#6 of 38 in Ulm
503 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Ulm Blaustein
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Ulm City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ulmer Stuben
Hotel Ulmer Stuben
#28 of 38 in Ulm
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
LeoMar Flatrate Hotel
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Ulm
B&B Hotel Ulm
#2 of 38 in Ulm
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Ulm

Address: Bahnhofplatz 1, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range: $86 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IntercityHotel Ulm 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Ulm is located at the ICE main station and in the vicinity of the city centre. Here, everyone will find sights worth seeing according to his or her taste. The Ulm Minster with the highest church tower in the world is a striking sight. In the immediate vicinity the visitor will also find the town hall with the astronomical clock. The visitor can easily and comfortably reach the Friedrichsau, Ulm's largest leisure park with the zoo, and the exhibition grounds by bus and tram. As a guest at the InterCityHotel you can make use of the Ulm FreeCityTicket included in the price of your room to travel free of charge by local public transport throughout the city and Neu-Ulm. The 135 sound-proofed rooms furnished in modern and functional design ensure that you start off the new day in best condition. The 3 air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight illumination and modern technology, catering for up to 40 participants will ensure the success of your event at the conference hotel in Ulm and form the perfect background for every type of event. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Ulm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Ulm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing