We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy busy busy....”
Review of Alte Kanzlei

Alte Kanzlei
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Stuttgart
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rathaus
Description: Am Schillerplatz in Stuttgarts Stadtmitte befindet sich das traditionsreiche Restaurant Alte Kanzlei. In der ehemaligen Landschreiberei mit Registratur und Buchhaltung gehen heute Feinschmecker und Liebhaber der schw��bischen K��che ein und aus. Auf der Karte stehen hausgemachte, schw��bische Gerichte mit internationalen Akzenten. Von kreativen Salaten und raffinierten Suppen ��ber leichte Snacks und Fischgerichte bis hin zum authentischen schw��bischen Hauptgericht wird f��r jeden Geschmack etwas geboten. In der Einrichtung und in der K��che treffen sich altbew��hrte und neue Ideen. Besonders die Pl��tze auf den beiden Terrassen, mit Blick auf Schillerplatz oder Schillerdenkmal sind im Sommer sehr begehrt.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Busy busy busy....”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The restaurant was very busy indeed on the Saturday evening when we arrived. There were however plenty of staff around and the maitre d was very efficient.
The one thing that let them down was that the drinks we ordered when we arrived never reached our table....we waited about 20 minutes before my husband went to the bar and bought them himself. The started arrived when he was at the brand not once did it occur to the waitress that we hadn't received our drinks until he returned with them. She apologized and said she had imputed the drinks into her terminal and that it wasn't her fault if they didn't arrive..... Well it certainly wasn't our fault !!
The food was good - nothing spectacular. But hot and as we expected. There were pots of people 'hogging' tables. The couple next to us had empty cocktail glasses in front of them the entire time we were seated. Given that the restaurant was so busy u was very surprised this was being tolerated.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    319
    111
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious and wonderful !”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great variety, tasty selections and friendly & attentive staff. A wine festival was ongoing as we dined, so it was a bit noisy but other than that it was a great dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank smichy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place for an evening appetizer on the Platz”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped here right before dusk and had a beer and some light appetizers on the patio. Good food and good service. A lovely view of the church, especially after dusk when the accent lights turned on, offered some great photo opportunities. Also highly recommended by the staff at the hotel I was staying at.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeSchrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent waitress”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived peak time for an evening meal on a bust Saturday night. We waited for about 10 minutes for a table to be free. The food was excellent, and we didn't have to wait very long for it to arrive. Our waitress took time to explain the menu to help us make our choice and showed an interest in us as we were English and she had previously visited the UK. The restaurant was modern and busy. The main problem was it was quite warm and noisy. The meal was of excellent quality but also fairly expensive. Enjoyable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food - Rude Service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food is nothing special but it is good but the service, at least for my personal experience, was pretty bad.
I coulnd't pronounce the name of a specific beer so I pointed it at the menu and the waiter was too “rushy”, he flew and he came back with the wrong one. I tried to complain in the most polite way I could, I said we would drink the wrong one too but we wanted to order again the one we wanted. He started complaining loudly that he was sure we asked for the wrong one and it was our fault. He got mad at me… No matter if I said I didn't care and I would keep it, he took it away and brought the one we ordered in the rudest way ever.
After such bad start, (I still don’t understand why he took it so seriously since) he treated us pretty bad throughout the entire dinner, so even if we asked, we had to go and look for missing cutlery and ashtray by our own.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fidelioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alte Kanzlei also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Alte Kanzlei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing