We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCEPTIONAL”
Review of Ambiente Africa

Ambiente Africa
Ranked #13 of 1,362 Restaurants in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have never felt the need to comment on a restaurant right away.
The "ambiente" at this restaurant was incredible.
Once you walk in, you feel warm, cozy, relaxed and welcome.
The food is fresh and delicious for an incredible price.
Too bad I discovered this place on my last day in Frankfurt ... I would've been there every day.
Thanks Africa for your delicious delicious food!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    48
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We dined here after reading the trip advisor reviews and were glad we did. I was disappointed the crocodile cost 35 euros, although the springbok I ordered for 20 euro was delicious. The exotic dishes were more expensive as you would expect between 20-35 euro although the lamb and beef dishes were around 10 euro and were delicious also. The owner of the restaurant was super friendly and came up and spoke to you when you arrived at your table, making you feel very welcome. He spoke 7 languages! Wow! And he was happy to help us with the menu since there is no English menu. The inside of the restaurant was amazing, fully styled to make you have the full African experience! Great job, keep up the good work

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwetzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Love the food, they only had crocdile and antalope when I ate there but it was delicious. There was three of us and we had it family style on a huge platter! It was a great experience eating there well worth the price!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveller1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the whole dining experience very much.”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were a group of 6 with reservations on a November Friday night. Reservations strongly recommended. Our table was in the middle area with sand floor and chairs. We were 2 couples with 2 teenagers. The decor is fabulous and you really feel as if you have stepped inside a hut somewhere in Africa. The food was delicious and we enjoyed a wide range of dishes. The menu is in German, but the staff is helpful to explain and make recommendations. I enjoyed a shared platter of exotic meats- ostrich and springbok. The dish presentations were magnificent! A unique dining experience. Go and check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

You NEED a reservation. Fridays seem to be less hard to book than Saturdays, but they still book up completely. We sat at a traditional table (on cushions on the sand-covered floor). The ambiance was wonderful, but I do not recommend the traditional seating unless you truly can be comfortable for an hour on the floor- people seemed to get uncomfortable if they did not get a seat where they could lean on something.

The service: very friendly and helpful-- they spoke English, but the menu is not available in English-- for best results, translate the website menu and bring it with you. The staff helps as well as they can.

We had a meal for two, with a nice array of veggies and meats. Wonderful food- mostly curry and chili based. Highly recommend the ingera (buttery spicy bread). An interesting addition is an African beer, served in a coconut-like cup. For best effect you MUST finish up your meal with a traditional African coffee.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkeyciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiente Africa also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Ambiente Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing