We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel One Stuttgart
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed for the very first time of my life in a Motel One. To be honest, I am not at all a fan of budget hotels, so before arrival I was not very open-minded about staying there. Well, I have to admit it was better than expected. First of all, the staff is extremely friendly and very much oriented to what you need and want. Second, the room is very new, it provides everything you need, the design is modern. I slept very well. The bathrooms also provides what you need. They have a LOEWE Flat-TV, which is absolutely a high class TV set and most probably more expensive than the whole bathroom equipment. The only bitter pill is that room + bathroom are really really small, tribute to the lower price. I had breakfast in the morning. The choice is a bit limited, but surprisingly all products including coffee+juice are of good quality. The breakfast area is trendy, as well as the bar that has a amazing large window with view to the main street. Parking is available as well at extra cost of course. All in all, if budgets are limited this is a good choice. More Hotel you don´t need, less you don´t want!

Room Tip: Prefer a room to the back of hotel, this is def more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    198
    48
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
105
38
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I don't know why I have only given this hotel three stars, for when I think about it it has many good features: the reading lights by the bed are among the best I have seen, the room was very quiet, the breakfast was OK, the lobby was better than expected for a hotel of this type, the shower was good and there was a tram or U-Bahn stop right outside. Despite being out of the centre, this tram stop and frequent trams means that it is easy to go back and forward from the middle of the city, and anywhere else on the U-Bahn system for that matter. The street, however, is just car dealerships (pretty flash ones admittedly), fitness centres, offices and the like, with zero atmosphere, so it is a hotel that can only be a base and nothing more. Staff were efficient and pleasant. The TV channels for an English speaker were poor, as usual in such hotels, but if you speak anything else other than German they are non-existent. The bathroom amenities amounted to a small bottle of what looked like dishwashing liquid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the hotel is on a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takingitscourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As a rule, I never test a hotel with a number in the name (think Super 8 or Motel 6) but maybe because they spelled out the name, it makes it okay.

All kidding aside, I was pleasantly surprised by Motel One. It is modern, chic and for a small hotel has nice amenities for a travel weary American. I would compare it to a W Hotel in the states.

The Good: Free wifi in the room. Plenty of English speaking tv channels - although you have to search for them as there is satellite and it took a bit of channel surfing to find them. Modern decor with nice room amenities like a rain shower head, decent size shower, decent bed, decent pillow, decent linens. The bar in the lobby is open 24 hours. The furniture in the lobby is ultra modern, but not exactly comfortable. It was a nice place to visit with friends, though. If you do find yourself in the lobby, go to the bathroom even if you don't have to, the sinks are really cool. There is a nice outdoor patio as well.

The Bad: The rooms are small - very small. No closet at all - but there are hanging bars. The bathroom is really small even though it has a big shower, the rest of it is cramped. There is not much room to put your suitcase and arrange your things. because of the small size, there is no dresser, or proper wardrobe. Instead there is an open hanging bar and some cubby shelves along one side of the bed. Some might find the complimentary toiletries sorely lacking. I bring my own, but I know that is something some people value - just 2 small bottles of an all in one (body/shampoo/conditioner combo)

Overall: It is a fine place stay. It is not fancy schmancy, but rather simply chic. You have what you need and a little more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickerlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

You listed the same hotel twice: once position 11 and once position 14 and i find it very difficult to let you know this, as you do not have any contact details, and i could not find any e-mail adress where to send this e-mail.....

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank holzgreit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My experience with Motel Ones' is excellent. In the last year whenever I'm in Germany I try to book there. I get everything I need during a business trip: a nice and clean room, with Wi-Fi, and a good breakfast to an acceptable price! I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolfinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here with a small group tour during the third week of May, 2012. My stay was comfortable and pleasant.

The front desk personnel were friendly and courteous. Some spoke English, and those who did not were patient with my elementary German skills.

The room was comfortable, fairly average for a budget hotel. I had a room at the back of the hotel, on the seventh floor, overlooking some houses and apartments. It was fairly quiet, and I slept well.

The elevators are small but functioned well.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a wide variety of breads and rolls, a wide variety of jams and spreads, flavored yogurt, fresh fruit and fruit salad, juices, coffee, and tea.

I did not use the lounge area in the evening, but others in my party did, and they found it comfortable for hanging out and relaxing.

The hotel is located conveniently across the street from a Stuttgart light rail transit station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I arrived to Motel One Heil bronner Strasse 325, in friday, June 29th 2012. Asd soon as I checked they informed me that the wifi conexión was related with breakfast fees, so: if no breakfast, you have to pay 5.-€.Noisy, with a high transit road and a tramway , you can´t sleep with an open window and clima in the room was ridiculous for june with 33ºC and 75% humidity, The place is charmless in a industrial area. Deco is a parody of the corporative design, personel insuficient and you have to wait for everything. No phone in the rooms, an the worst: a "stasi" kind customer policy. I asked for the room number of a mate, and was told that that information was not available to customers, after waiting for my friend for one hour in the lobby they received a phone call from Motel One Hauptbanhoff ( not the same "secrecy" policy), they were there waiting for me.
When I asked for an official complain form, i was handled a blank sheet of paper. They refused to give me a legal form. When I told them that that was ilegal they encouraged me to call the police. Absolutelly outrrageous.

If you want to be quiet and kindly attended, go elsewere.

Trrible manners diguised with trendy design. Shame.

Never repeat.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luistraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Stuttgart Centrum
#19 of 146 in Stuttgart
657 reviews
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart
#12 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,016 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#9 of 146 in Stuttgart
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Stuttgart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Stuttgart

Property: Motel One Stuttgart
Address: Heilbronner Str. 325, 70469 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stuttgart
#3 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#17 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#19 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Stuttgart 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Motel One Stuttgart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing