We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Stuttgart”
Review of ARCOTEL Camino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Camino
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is at a walking distance from the shopping centre. The hotel is very clean and the rooms in excellent condition. I recommend it to those visiting Stuttgart.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speed98098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Gladly we share your nice words with our staff. It's nice to hear that you had a comfortable stay at the ARCOTEL Camino in Stuttgart. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 794 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very nice place with all comfort in the rooms. Good hospitality.
Closer by Rail Station and Metro Station for Airport - 5 minutes to walk.
Beakfast various and complete.
I'll come back soon with friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francofera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Gladly we share your nice words with our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our initial experience at the Arcotel Camino began when we arrived on a rainy day at 2.10pm after a 2 hour train trip only to find that check-in time is 3.00pm - an hour later than every other hotel we stayed at in Germany. In spite of the fact that the hotel was not fully booked, we were informed that our room was not yet ready, so opted to have a coffee at the hotel bar downstairs in the interim. We arrived to find the bar initially unattended, but were eventually attended to by a very polite staff member and checked in shortly after 3pm. We had pre-paid our non-refundable 3 day booking, but in spite of the hotel having beautifully appointed, clean and quiet rooms, opted to cut our stay short as the result of repeated issues in gaining access to our room.
During the first 24 hours, this required no less than 3 return visits to reception on the upper ground floor of the hotel in order to have our electronic card reactivated. The electronic card is also required to gain elevator access and in some instances would work for the elevator but not allow room access.
As we did not come to Stuttgart to spend a significant percentage of our time running up and down between our 3rd floor room and reception, we opted to cut our losses and re-booked into the Movenpick Hotel at Zurich.

Room Tip: Stuttgart was a construction zone during our visit, so pedestrian access to the hotel was restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_and_Karen_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Geschäftsführer at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We feel sorry for the experience you had during your stay at the ARCOTEL Camino. Therefore we want to excuse ourselves for the inconvenience caused by the room key card. That´s not the way we want to show our guests, that we are passionate hosts. We hope you will visit us again and that you will give us a second chance.
Until then we wish you a nice time and all the best. Kind regards, Peter Leidig, General Manager, ARCOTEL Camino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

a fantastic welcome and early checkin was a great start to my three day stay at Camino.

the accommodation is spotless and the rooms are well equipped although i wasn't a huge fan of the open plan bathrooms with the net curtain.

the air conditioning was good and when I requested an extra blanket it arrived in minutes.

the rooms have no iron and iron boards and we requested one which I believe is the only one in the hotel. we had a phone call on Saturday at 8.30 asking for it back a little annoying given we were having a rare sleepin

on the whole the bar service is good with well presented and poured drinks although at time it could take a while.

a small but functional gym is attached the to sauna area which I didn't use but looked nice

the wifi is a little slow

overall a great hotel nice walk into town and I would stay and recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback. We are happy to hear, that you had a nice stay at the ARCOTEL Camino. Unfortunately we do not have an iron and iron board for each room. So we are reliant that our guests give us a call when they are finished with ironing. But we are very sorry for waking you up.
Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

OK, if not for one thing, I would have given them 4 star, but when you advertise something and then don't have it... That's bad. I understand this is Europe and Germany and things tend to not get hot, but the hotel does advertise air conditioning, and it was pitiful. AND it was not just my room, others commented on the same thing in my group. I had maintenance look at it, no help... And even it it was working the high speed on the fan was soooo low airflow you would never noticed it. So there, that's my 3 star justification.

Now that aside, this is a good hotel. About 3 blocks, 5 minute walk, to the main train/subway station and from there you can get to anywhere. Across from the station is probably a 20 block pedi durian shopping and Resturant area, so very confident indeed.

Didn't try the Resturant (breakfast was 22 Euro !!!), but front desk was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable if not a little odd, they had a table desk, but only a footstool at it, there was a big chair but it was too heavy to move), but it was a workable arrangement. Bed was comfortable with 3 three types of pillows.

Don't know if I'd stay here again, rate would have to be lower than I paid to entice me. But if not in the warm season, would definitely be worth a look.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear MacJoe

Thank you for your feedback. We feel sorry that you had such problems with the air condition. We have already informed our technician about this problem. Gladly we like to inform you that we only use high quality food for our breakfast buffet, so we think the price is fair. We hope to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

During a trip to Stuttgart (where I am frequently for business) customers of mine had booked the Arcotel Camino for 1 night. I usually stay in hotels closer to the airport but our customers wanted to stay in the city center and from the location and the reviews the Arcotel Camino seemed like a good choice.

The decor of the hotel and the room is unique and pretty in my eyes. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I was travelling with a 9-seater-van that is not easy to park in the narrow streets and when I arrived to pick up the customers in the morning of the day that I would check-in at night, the ladies kindly made sure that I was able to park the large vehicle in the evening without problems.

When I came back that night to check in, the reception from the guy at front desk was less friendly but he furnished me my room key without issues. Upon going up to the second floor I opened my room door and found to my surprise a suitcase standing in the room.
I assumed a mistake had taken place and muled my heavy suitcase back down to reception.
I approached the front desk and explained the situation, which was met by a unfriendly frown and the explanation "that this is probably from one of their frequent guest". Well, and so? Yeah, probably his colleague had let one of their frequent guests use the room and forgot to take out the luggage. He then said he would go up and check.

He disappeared and in the mean time two more solo travellers started to queue up behind me. When he came back he was rolling the suitcase, shot me a quick glance and said, yes, it is from a long term guest and it is ok now.

I then asked him if I could possibly have a different room - I am a woman staying alone in the room and am not comfortable with staying in a room that (maybe just in my head but even that costs me my sleep...) someone else might possibly have a key to since he used the room earlier. He shroughed his shoulders, shot me a glance as if I am an annoying insect and said that they are nearly sold out. He then did nothing. And let me wait for a while. He then said: Booked out, we only have the apartments and they are much more expensive. He very clearly wanted me to leave now. The two gentlemen behind me in line must have obviously booked an apartment because they had no more rooms, right...

Things can go wrong and I don't mind. That there is not a single word of apology uttered and I am being treated as being bothersome for the fact that I don't think it is normal that someone else's suitcase is in my room, is unacceptable. Whatever the calling of the man behind reception on this night (03. April 2014) might be - it is not to be in customer service.

I then went to the room and though easy - I just lock the room. Just to find out that the door lock did not work! I had a sleepless night.

The very friendly lady at the bar saved parts of the night.
Breakfast spread is good and the service staff was friendly but I have to mention that it is the only hotel of that category that I have stayed in in Stuttgart that does not offer gluten free and lactose free items. Maybe they have it - but it is nowhere mentioned.

It is a pity. Room alone, location, bar and bar staff would get 5 stars from me, but the terrible front desk does not make this a hotel I want to return to when travelling on my own. I have to add as well that the front desk upon check-out in the morning (ladies this time) could improve it's friendliness, the lady that was serving the gentlemen next to me was really unfriendly to him (and I am German, it is not lost in translation)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carisa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Camino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Carisa78,

thank you for staying at the ARCOTEL Camino Stuttgart and taking the time to pass your comment on TripAdvisor.
We feel glad to hear that you liked our comfortable and spacious rooms as well the location, bar and the friendliness of our bar employees.
Concerning the gluten and lactose free items we are able to offer this now at our everyday breakfast buffet.
But unfortunately your stay was not to your complete satisfaction.
We apologize for the trouble caused and we can assure you that the attitude of our reception staff is not up to our philosophy and of course no standard in the ARCOTEL Camino Stuttgart.
We did talk to the concerned employees and we can assert that such an inconvenience will not happen again.
Your remarks are very important for us and we regret that we could not satisfy you of our hotel.
It would be a great pleasure if you will give us a second chance in the future.
We like to make concession for your next stay, so please do not hesitate to contact our Front Office Manager Constanze Stein (+49 711 25858-2020) for any queries directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,310 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Camino

Address: Heilbronner Str. 21, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#12 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range: $99 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Camino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4-star superior hotel ARCOTEL Camino is located in the heart of Stuttgart. The historic facade of the building that was once home to the bathing facilities of the "Post¬dorfle", the first workers’ housing estate in Stuttgart, has been pre¬served in its original state while the warm, earthy tones and contempo¬rary furnishings used in the interior create an inviting and comfortable atmosphere. The ARCOTEL Camino in Stuttgart is inspired by the legendary Way of St. James, the "Camino de Santiago", which has been a symbol of encounters of all kinds for more than a thousand years. The hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from the main railway station and the Konigstraße shopping street and within easy reach of many of the city’s sights and cultural attractions. It has 168 rooms, each one with aircondition, Flatscreen TV, Minibar, Safe and Wi-Fi. An energy-packed, varied breakfast buffet awaits the guests on each morning. The hotel has as well a fitness and wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARCOTEL Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Camino Stuttgart
Arcotel Camino Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing