We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shopping location in the heart of Stuttgart!”
Review of Hotel Merit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Merit
Ranked #114 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stuttgart is a Mecca for great shopping, and this hotel sits right at the start of the famous pedestrian street. Plenty of stores, coffee, and sights to see - minutes from the front door..
Nearby are the bars and restaurant quarter after a good days shopping..
A little smoky for a non-smoking hotel, but the location trumps the hint of tobacco...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jsacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Merit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in a triple room that looked like it had seen better days, the carpet looked old and worn and the third bed was not very comfortable. The hotel is located right next to a Metro station and is located minutes away from the City Centre. There was a bit of confusion about the booking, the female receptionist was quite unhelpful and suggested we go elsewhere. However when the younger female receptionist took over she could not be more helpful and displayed all the customer service skills you would expect, what a difference! The breakfast was well stocked and even though we were leaving early before breakfast started, the receptionist allowed us to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

i spent two nights in this hotel , hotel located inside the shopping center of Stuttgart ( perfect location ) , very clean , rooms are perfect in term of space and cleanness , staff are friendly , i faced only one problem in my room as there was no key for the refrigerator and it was closed , and no one tried to fix this issue for me , its price is good and reasonable , breakfast are Ok although there is no much varieties

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed_Hamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice hotel, very close to City center and main street.Few minutes away from the train station and main shopping street.
Clean rooms, staff friendly and kind.
Free WiFi with excellent connection.
Average breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmirCaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just come back after four nights at the Merit. Rooms were comfortable and clean, with maid service daily. Breakfast was continental style and fine. Central location was ideal for us, with about a ten minute walk to the wonderfull Christmas Markets. Just a couple of minutes away from the train station and main shopping area. Will return to Stuttgart again and will definately stay at the Merit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhylfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel Merit over a total of about 10 nights in October 2011. It was tired everywhere- decor, wallpaper, furnishings, etc.
But the price was low (it varied on a formula we could not understand) and it was very close to where we wanted to be, so we persevered.
Breakfasts were below average quality.
The room we had on the top floor was very large and for that we were grateful. And we could open the windows to admit fresh air, which was also a appreciated

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krmandsjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived at the hotel with some trepidation, as the reviews lead us to believe that it would be pretty awful, and I must say we were very pleasantly surprised. It is certainly no better than a three star hotel, but for £38 per person per night for the first weekend of the Stuttgart beer festival it was an absolute bargain. The hotel is very central, the rooms were basic, but comfortable and breakfast was included in the price. If you want a basic, clean hotel for a group of friends, this is fine.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Rathaus
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#62 of 146 in Stuttgart
164 reviews
Feuersee
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#121 of 146 in Stuttgart
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wartburg Hotel
#37 of 146 in Stuttgart
103 reviews
Rathaus
Zauberlehrling
Zauberlehrling
#31 of 146 in Stuttgart
109 reviews
Hotel am Wilhelmsplatz
#99 of 146 in Stuttgart
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merit

Address: Tuebinger Str. 17B, 70178 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Rathaus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: $49 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merit 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Merit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing