We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Stuttgart 21
Ranked #55 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I was pleased with the cleanliness and general comfort of my rooms. I had more than one room because they moved me from a room with heating problems (it was cold, which was fine with me) to a room that was way overheated. I had to keep the window open to cool the room off. The staff tried, but could not turn down the heat in the room. All, in all, it was a good choice. ..The price was good, the breakfast was good, the internet worked, and there was always complimentary coffee available.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraudruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 193 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

In fact I stayed at this hotel in March 2008. At that moment, the hotel has a very nice and clean in door pool and sauna opened till the mid night. So, a lot of time for our pleasure. :) The room was clean the breakfast was fabulous. The center of this beautiful city is a walking distance, also the green park.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veterinaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed here for 9 nights while visiting family in the area. Good location, parking always available (extra charge), quiet residential area. Internet connection always worked great. Rooms different sizes - some standard European size and others appear to be large by European standards. Rooms nicely appointed, very clean, front desk staff always helpful and a very nice spread for breakfast. Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikesluckywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

my company booked this hotel for 150 Euros a night. It would have been worth 75 or so. The room was very large but smelly, bathroom well below average and sheets terrible. Even the curtains were plastic. I also had to get 2 lifts and walk about 300m from reception to get to my room!
Good points are location - right in the middle of town and the staff were friendly. If you can get a good price it is OK i guess but not for 150 Euros!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank smileymileysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Absolutely I advise foreigners to this hotel. It is not far away from the centrum.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiffsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Comfort hotel, quiet room.
A little far away to the center of Stuttgart, and U-16 subway can help you.
The access of internet is free, with limited time and data flow.
But the option of the breakfast is limited.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shouxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

This review is for the 'Hotel Best Western 21', Friedhofstrasse 21, not for the 'Mecure Stuttgart Ruff' hotel, somehow the photos for the best western have been given a different hotel name and the best western hotel's entry has been put under the wrong address (maybe this was on purpose!)

Stayed here with my partner for a business trip October 2006.

Chose this hotel because Meridien and Graf Zeppelin had no availability for the dates we needed and wanted a hotel not too far from centre of things with a pool, sauna etc for my enjoyment whilst my partner was in meetings.

Big mistake! The hotel is clean but with very dated furnishings and decor. The pool was over run with mothers and children and (as I was to find out the next day) closed at 10am until 4.30pm!! There are extensive works going on in Stuttgart on the rail and tram lines including right outside the hotel. To get into the centre you had to walk then catch a bus and then another train or just walk the whole way which we did once along a horrible route. Caught taxis after that.

My partner had specifically asked for a room with two double beds in it or at least queen sized singles. Our room was tiny, reminded me of a caravan, with child sized, very uncomfortable single beds. The bathroom was minute and only had a shower - no bath. Mini bar was ok if you liked beer or fizzy red wine!

The lady on reception who booked us in was pleasant and smiley but she was the exception. That first evening my partners business clients were driving over to the hotel to have a meeting with him and then for us all to have dinner. We enquired as to whether they could use the meeting room downstairs but were told no as it was being used in the morning??? It was not set up in any way and all they would have needed was to sit at the table to have their meeting in private and be able to use their laptop for a short presentation, but this was too much trouble for the hotel!! We enquired as to what time the restaurant closed and so decided to just have a quick informal meeting, then dinner and then I would retire whilst they continued their meeting.

Whilst waiting for our clients to arrive we asked for a gin and tonic to be told that they didn't have any tonic and wouldn't be getting any as there was no call for it!! My partner went to make a reservation for dinner but was told no problem, just go through to the restaurant when you want to. The gentlemen arrived and had a quick discussion etc then we went to go through for dinner to be greeted with "We're full" by a grinning waitress. We were so embarrassed and horrified. Our clients had driven from their offices to meet us and now they had to take us in their car into Stuttgart for us to find a restaurant for a meal. What a terrible impression this gave. Also the meeting and presentation had to be cancelled for the following day (where only one of the clients would then be available) as it was just not practical to go ahead at the hotel.

Once back at the hotel after saying goodbye to our clients we decided we would like a bottle of wine to drink in our room. The night porter said no when we asked for this saying the restaurant was closed and he didn't have a key, all we could have were mini bottles of apple juice! We couldn't believe it so he took us to the door and suggested we walk to a bar along the street for a drink, we were pretty angry by now as you can imagine as we wanted a drink for our room, not to go drinking in a bar. Hopeless.

Had a terrible nights sleep in the tiny uncomfortable beds with the window open as there was no air conditioning and it was very stuffy. Awoken to the wonderful sound of the road/rail works going on outside. My partner went to catch his train to his meetings whilst I tried to catch up on some sleep before going for a swim, only to find that the pool was closed until 4.30pm great!

Anyway, to cut an even longer story short, we complained bitterly at reception the next day and had decided to try to get our money back and move hotels. The original receptionist was very apologetic and said none of it should have happened, we should have had much better service and she couldn't understand why. So because we had booked via an internet agency and it would be difficult to get an immediate refund, she put us into their suite at no extra charge. So we moved our clothes etc and stayed there. The suite was huge with a lovely bathroom incl jacuzzi bath. The furnishings however were still extremely dated (like flat pack furniture) and a very uncomfortable bed. There was a separate loo which stank like an unclean urinal and was dark brown - yeuck.

Apart from this hotel, we did enjoy our time in Stuttgart and had a lovely lunch at the top of the 'glass block' art museum, visited the state art gallery and the flower market in schillerplatz as well as the market halle and lovely restaurant there and gorgeous homeware shop on the second level amongst other things. But if we ever return, we will never stay in a best western again, especially not this one!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hotel Azenberg
#9 of 146 in Stuttgart
340 reviews
Aloft Stuttgart
#14 of 146 in Stuttgart
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
778 reviews
Ibis Styles Stuttgart
#6 of 146 in Stuttgart
829 reviews
Ibis Stuttgart City
#28 of 146 in Stuttgart
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Stuttgart 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Stuttgart 21

Address: Friedhofstr. 21, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Mercure Stuttgart Ruff)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: $102 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Stuttgart 21 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Stuttgart 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stuttgart
Stuttgart Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing