We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Restaurant”
Review of arcona MO.HOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
arcona MO.HOTEL
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had to go to Stuttgart on short notice, did not find a table on Saturday evening, and ended up here, hoping for a good meal. Whish we never did!
Although, it started off nicely. We were received very politely. The modern restaurant looks very well. Seats are very comfortable. Wine list is short, but well thought, not over expensive.
We decided for the autumn menu, since it was the season.
Greeting from the kitchen was an ordinary paprika soup, after which, I was served grilled duckbreast on pumpkinsalad. That salad was a tasteless grated RAW pumpkin, curled endive without seasoning, overthrown with some lines of reduced Aceto Balsamico. Luckily the meat was good quality, though again, not seasoned well.
My partner had a tasteless pumpkin soup, with what should have been Parmesan foam?
It came even worse: Tournedos of fillet of beef on Pumpkin risotto. Not only did they overcook the risotto, more mash of rice, but they managed to cut that beautiful tender, thick fillet in two. Result: overbaked meat. Why?
The dessert all the more worse: that pumpkin pastry was so hard, you could not cut it. We even tried to tear it apart by hand, it was not to be done. The "Mousse au Chocolat" was pudding instead of mousse. Becoming suspicious I ordered the "Crème Brulée". No luck, it was not more than a vanilla pudding right from a package, with caramellised sugar. I had to give it back to the kitchen since it was not burned enough. After that you could at least eat it.
After repeated complaining they offered us the dessert for free.
The waitress asked if we would like to talk to the chef, since we were not at all satisfied. Well, he comes right from school and knows nothing of the culinary scene. Imagine, he makes that risotto 24h upfront!
Please hotelmanagement, help this friendly guy, send him to follow lessons in the starred and other supergood kitchens that Stuttgart is so renown for!! Or give him a pile of good cookbooks.

I would like to give one more point for the waitress who managed to stay superfriendly and for the nice surroundings, but cannot not, since to our stupefaction, we even had to pay for the parking!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 249 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

By a strange coincidence, we had booked a business trip to Stuttgart at the same time as the local Cannstatter Volksfest. We were booked at the Mo.Hotel in the Vaihingen suburb, which is a fair distance from the actual city, 30 minutes by train. Fortunately the rail system is excellent and there is a stop only a couple of blocks away from the hotel.

The room, a mo.dule standard, is of average size, but due to the arrangement more than one person per room would have difficulties maneuvering around the furniture and each other. In fact, I would not recommend the standard for more than one person at all, since aside from the bed situation, space is at a premium. The lights and AC need the key inserted into the box by the door in order to work. Predominate colors are white, black, slate gray, and brown with accents of red.

The twin platform beds were comfy enough and could be pushed together to make one large bed. The pillows were extremely mushy however. The "lounge" area next to the window was rather cramped. The furnishings were meant to invoke a minimalist vibe with their sleek white modularity; I suspect Ikea as supplier. There was plenty of shelf and closet space (for one person) and there was a room safe as well. A coffee/tea pot and fixings on the desk were included, as well as bottled water.

There were some odd design choices. The sore thumb in this area? The minuscule flat-screen TV randomly attached to the side of the shelving unit. It was scarcely large enough to be seen from the nearest bed. Next to the TV? A long bare wall, an ideal place for a decent-sized screen. That wall, if not destined for a TV, could have anchored at least a picture or something to distract the occupant from the possibility of something greater.

The bathroom appeared almost as large as the sleep area. The shower was big and with a strong showerhead, but no tub. There was a towel heater; pity the towels themselves were the thinnest and smallest I've ever encountered. Oddly, there were no facecloths. Soap/shampoo and handsoaps are provided via dispensers. Other amenities included a hairdryer and the biggest prize of all - a sewing kit.

Decor-wise, the designers made an odd choice to cover most of the walls with small beige tiles which, while not grossly grotty, weren't pristine either. A shame, as the bath objects were white, sleek, and solid with silver fixtures, and the floor used a great black tile; but the beige dragged the vibe down from almost chic to subway ick.

Other notes -
The hotel's location is stellar, attached to the mall, close to the rail station and several great restaurants and biergartens. Parking was not so convenient, being across the street and costing nearly $20 daily.

The hotel's restaurant, while staffed with wonderful people, was grossly overpriced.

Service overall was very friendly and helpful.

Only some areas of the hotel have wi-fi access.

The average room cost was over $150, not including the daily parking fee.

One can see what the mo.hotel was reaching for in *most* of its design and furniture choices, a chic boutique hotel worthy of a premium price tag. It is almost at that level, but it seemed that when the place was rising to the occasion, some random cheap element was thrown in, and sunk the whole premise. I'd stay here again, but only if the job was also picking up the tab again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed at the MoHotel on business. The location is great; walking distance to shopping and restaurants as well as light rail; but the rooms are very small. The TV is no more than a average size computer screen; no refrigerator. Clean and comfortable rooms but the price was well over $200/night; way too much for what they offered. The Staff are very professional and courteous; particularly Christina - the front desk operator who was on watch when we checked out. She was very courteous and cooperative and is a credit to the hotel. If one stays in the room merely to sleep, it is adequate; but very lacking in amenities.

Room Tip: No pool and again rooms rated poor due to size.; B'fast buffet good but VERY expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCRAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I requested 7 rooms by phone and get the information that´s fine. Also price was on the level it was published via web tool. Sending an email as confirmation and requested confirmation by the hotel as well. After 3 email reminders and several calls I was informed that I can get the rooms but price level is 70% higher than agreed on. By escalating it to the director level I was informed that I can get the rooms 45% higher than agreed.

So long story short: Think about if you want to book this hotel for business trip and do not trust the verbal information of the hotel employees!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel was generally nice and modern but details make a hotel excellent. For example, our first morning we were woken up at 8.30 by the maids rashing in the room without waiting for an answer. Just woken up we didn't know what had happened! We realised later that there were no "Do not disturb" cards behind the door but we thought that an efficient maid would notice that and would replace the missing card. Nothing like that happened and the next morning we were also woken up at 8.25 this time. We mention that to the reception and although they wrote down the problem and a note to the maid not to come into the room(!!), nothing was differrent the other morning.
Another detail were the towels which were not white but worn, stiff and quite darkened like when mixed with coloured clothes. The hair drier hadn't been cleaned by any maid for long and it was sticky and dirty.
Finally the TV screen was so tiny that looked like a laptop on the wall.
All in all, the hotel is nice but too expensive for what it offers and its distance from Stuttgart. In other cities, you get a 5star with this money at this distance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My boyfriend stayed here for business for a week and I met up with him on the last two nights.. It was a nice place to come 'home' to after I had been traveling all day. It is very modern in design and it very quiet. I didn't have much interaction with the staff, but when I did they were pleasant and friendly. They have fresh apples and packages of gummy chews at the reception. We had a double room. There is lot's of closet space to hang clothes up along with shelves for other belongings. There's a desk, chair, phone and outlet for charging up the cell phone. (no wireless) We also had a round table and a cozy chair that is perfect for sipping tea in the morning.
The bed was extremely comfortable. There are black out curtains and makes the room terrifically dark for sleeping in. The bathroom is large and spacious for two people to get ready without knocking into each other. The glass shower is large enough for two people to share. As someone else mentioned, the water pressure is good but it switches from hot to cold for no apparent reason. The towels, bedding are comfortable and smooth.
He picked this hotel because of the perfect location next to/on top of the shopping center. The large grocery store was very convenient and a great place to pick up yogurt, juice, and pastries. The breakfast at the hotel was very expensive. We didn't eat there. We also bought a lot of German chocolate there on our last day for gifts. Great assortment. I didn't buy any clothes, but window shopping left me with wanting everything I saw.
The hotel is also walking distance to several bars, restaurants, gas stations and it's close to the train station. It's less than 1/2 drive from the airport. We parked on the street and paid the meter. It's free after a certain hour in the evening until the morning. The hotel also has parking. We didn't use the gym or spa area but walked through and it would be a great place to exercise and relax for someone staying here for business.
My boyfriend travels to Stuttgart often and said this will be his hotel of choice from now on. I couldn't agree more. A fun thing for me is "MO" are my initials and the first two letters of my hometown. Two more reasons mo.hotel is my favorite!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This was a convenient and fabulous find. The mod decor was a bonus. Found the room to be comfortable, although I could not figure out the rolladen once they were lowered by the cleaning staff, and the front desk service was above expectations. Really enjoyed the fitness center and sauna. Breakfast was superb.
The location was ideal for our business in Stuttgart, including the walk to the S-bahn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAC_NoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart
#14 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,062 reviews
DORMERO Hotel Stuttgart
#17 of 146 in Stuttgart
740 reviews
Holiday Inn Stuttgart
#29 of 146 in Stuttgart
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Partner Hotel Freihof
#63 of 146 in Stuttgart
22 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arcona MO.HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arcona MO.HOTEL

Address: Hauptstr. 26, 70563 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range: $89 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — arcona MO.HOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The arcona MO.HOTEL is the ideal starting point for all of your visits in and around Stuttgart. The rooms are tasteful, individual, modern and functionally designed for you. Relax in the spacious sauna and fitness area. Our Weinwirtschaft lounge and restaurant and [mo.od] bar offer plenty of room for hospitality. Always thoughtful of your needs, our team of chefs consistently find the balance between creative and classic dishes. Additionally, we offer a large perfectly equipped event area to fulfil your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your arcona MO.HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mo Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing