We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Youth Hostal Stuttgart International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Youth Hostal Stuttgart International
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Interesting location - you have a great view of the city from the hill. The way on foot from the city centre is exhausting, but it takes about 15 minutes, so it's not that bad. Rooms are fine, but I have seen more space in German youth hostels. Shower floor was always filled with water which did not disappear quick. Breakfast as usual in German youth hostels - a good choice of different food.

The real problem for me was how to find a way from my room to the reception or the exit - the simplest way required to use two different lifts and go through a corridor through the entire length of the building, but until my departure I didn't learn it properly and always got confused between the storeys, had to use stairs or use lift more than once. I think they may put some better explanations on finding way in the youth hostel in the corridors and lifts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
2
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuggiono, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've been there for more than 10 times, it is wonderful! Maybe one of the best hostel we've ever been!
It has a great view on Stuttgart downtown, nevertheless it is closed to Hauptbahnhof or any public transports.
Rooms are clean, bathrooms are in the room and they are very confortable.
Breakfast is wonderful, bigger than hostel standard.
Prices are really, really low!
Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghiazzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

After I spent two nights in Frankfurt, I stayed in Stuttgart for one night. First impression: so many hostels are at the top of a hill....aaaaaaaaaaargh... well I could have taken the streetcar and the tram stop is really close to the hostel, so I guess it's my own fault. The upside is: there is green all around the hostel and you hear birds singing in the morning instead of city traffic - NICE :-)

The hostel itsself is quite modern and the reception is on the TOP level. The receptionists (there were three of them and almost no guests around!!) are wearing uniforms which I haven't seen in a hostel before but I believe they also host seminars and meetings. That's maybe why. On the other hand I found it astonishing that despite the clearly intented high-level-appearance you had to make up your bed yourself.

Also the groundplan is a bit confusing and a lot of going down was necessary to reach my room on the ground level.
I booked into a four-bed-room which was enormous!! If the doors to bath and restroom would be broader it would also be suitable for people with disabilities like sitting in a wheelchair but the space is definetely there. As mentioned we had an ensuite bath... really nice!
A small minus was that the tap in the restroom wasn't working and there were no handtowels and no soap at all - guess that's the price for the ensuite.

The selection at breakfast was broad and they had about 1000 different kinds of tea.

Weak points - same as in Frankfurt were
1. the "juices" weren't worth the name: it's a disgusting mixture of water, sweetener and colour. I would suggest: go for the real thing or leave it. There are enough people noticing the difference
2. pay-internet. I'm just not used anymore to pay for it. In other countries it's just standard to have free WiFi in hostels.

All in all a big, modern and clean hostel in quiet surroundings - a bit strange mixture but can be recommented nevertheless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckysunnystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTASH,CORNWALL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

The hostel has recently been refurbished and is very modern. The staff were excellent and very helpful, especially at reception. There was a continental breakfastI and in the evening the bar was inexpensive. The only downside was the location, it was on a hillside with great views of Stuttgart. this meant lots of steps to reach the hostel. It took ten minutes
to reach from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank headsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#4 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#7 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostal Stuttgart International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostal Stuttgart International

Property: Youth Hostal Stuttgart International
Address: Haussmannstr. 27, 70188 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Youth Hostal Stuttgart International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing