We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but...kind of strange”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Youth Hostal Stuttgart International
Reviewed May 31, 2012

After I spent two nights in Frankfurt, I stayed in Stuttgart for one night. First impression: so many hostels are at the top of a hill....aaaaaaaaaaargh... well I could have taken the streetcar and the tram stop is really close to the hostel, so I guess it's my own fault. The upside is: there is green all around the hostel and you hear birds singing in the morning instead of city traffic - NICE :-)

The hostel itsself is quite modern and the reception is on the TOP level. The receptionists (there were three of them and almost no guests around!!) are wearing uniforms which I haven't seen in a hostel before but I believe they also host seminars and meetings. That's maybe why. On the other hand I found it astonishing that despite the clearly intented high-level-appearance you had to make up your bed yourself.

Also the groundplan is a bit confusing and a lot of going down was necessary to reach my room on the ground level.
I booked into a four-bed-room which was enormous!! If the doors to bath and restroom would be broader it would also be suitable for people with disabilities like sitting in a wheelchair but the space is definetely there. As mentioned we had an ensuite bath... really nice!
A small minus was that the tap in the restroom wasn't working and there were no handtowels and no soap at all - guess that's the price for the ensuite.

The selection at breakfast was broad and they had about 1000 different kinds of tea.

Weak points - same as in Frankfurt were
1. the "juices" weren't worth the name: it's a disgusting mixture of water, sweetener and colour. I would suggest: go for the real thing or leave it. There are enough people noticing the difference
2. pay-internet. I'm just not used anymore to pay for it. In other countries it's just standard to have free WiFi in hostels.

All in all a big, modern and clean hostel in quiet surroundings - a bit strange mixture but can be recommented nevertheless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckysunnystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2006

The hostel has recently been refurbished and is very modern. The staff were excellent and very helpful, especially at reception. There was a continental breakfastI and in the evening the bar was inexpensive. The only downside was the location, it was on a hillside with great views of Stuttgart. this meant lots of steps to reach the hostel. It took ten minutes
to reach from the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank headsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tenko89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank rakukuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zur Stadt haben super Ausblick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reinhold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,283 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
778 reviews
IntercityHotel Stuttgart
#58 of 146 in Stuttgart
273 reviews
Rathaus
Zauberlehrling
Zauberlehrling
#30 of 146 in Stuttgart
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostal Stuttgart International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostal Stuttgart International

Address: Haussmannstr. 27, 70188 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Stuttgart
Price Range: $37 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Youth Hostal Stuttgart International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing