We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very good”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #51 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not very good”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Old interieur, the worlds slowest elevator, and i got a very small room. Really not a hotel to my liking. The staff was very friendly though. Bathroom was not cleaned properly either. Generally i was just glad i only stayed here 1 night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rune-rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    54
    44
    27
    10
See reviews for
14
23
10
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is oudated, some of the bathrooms renovated but (again!) no curtains on bath tubes which means you will have bathroom loor completely wet after having a shower or a bath. Rooms are small and some are looking at Sophienstrasse (now under reconstruction and with huge construction site hundred meters away) or inner court, which is more quiet and nicer option. If you manage to get a right price (and not officially listed), then to stay few nights here has advanntages as you are in a center of a town, righ at the beginning of pedestrian and shopping zone (but exactly opposite to the railway station as you have to stroll some 20 minutes to reach it on foot walking the pedestrian street). Smoking rooms are available and breakfast is charged extra. Choice is fine, salami, cheese, juices, some cut fish (like salmon), fruits, boiled eggs. Staff is young and very helpful. This hotel makes no impression and is really just to stay over night. WiFi is for free, password you can get at the reception, quality of signal varies depending where in the room you are. They have set of two pillows, which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms more quiet if facing inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filotije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed twice at the Royal hotel in Stuttgart.

Both times the stay was paid for by the company. I booked this hotel although it was not on the company list of hotels, (it was slightly cheaper than those.) And I was very glad I did.

The main reason - the first time - was its strategic location. The hotel is 3 minutes from an important S-Bahn station which I used to commute for work during my stay. Also rather close to downtown clubs and restaurants, I think one stop from the trainstation.
The staff was way above any expectations, friendly, clever, knowledgeable and even... warm. I had their names in a notebook but don't have it handy now.
For a foreigner with no German they have been extremely helpful and provided maps, guidance and translation.
So the second time the reason was the good experience I had the first time. The trips were a bit earlier than stated, but only found the time to write about this now.

Well, this hotel is not for everybody.
The Royal hotel is quite oddly decorated, and many things mentioned in the other reviews are true, it is retro, it does smell a bit of stale cigarettes in the hallway, it is not the freshest or hippest, the rooms are decorated in unexpected colours and they are not very large. However, all these can be overlooked as they are compensated by the staff and the location.

Just next door down from the hotel there is also a small Turkish kebap place with a few chairs, open late when most other place in the area closed already, which serves lentil soup with brined chili peppers (and other typical dishes of course) that surpasses many places in central Istanbul. A few doors down there's an Irish pub, also friendly and properly ran. So, one can choose between meze with ayran and a pint of beer with potato chips.
Breakfast at the Royal also was not bad at all, some of the cheeses are kindly recommended, and the tea was nice; quiet place where they serve it too.
Also of importance for a working traveller there are two supermarkets open lat(er) in the area - I got to the hotel after 7.30 p.m. every night and the only stores open were this pennymarkt and another one. I came to Germany from a city where most supermarkets close at 10.p.m, some at midnight, and there is a mall open 24/7. In Stuttgart everything closes down at precisely 19.00 hrs, and the only chance to buy anything late at night is the trainstation. The Royal is within decent range from all these.

During the second stay on Sat I had a medical problem emerging so I tried many pharmacies for a product that contained barely a trace of antibiotic, but they don't dispense that w/o a doctor's stamped recipe. So on Sunday morning the staff at the receptioned googled and phoned a few hospitals until they found the only doctor in Stuttgart that would see a foreigner AND on a Sunday for a medical emergency. They also phoned the doctor and told them I was coming, printed a map for me and translated all needed info into English.
The address was on the outskirts, but very luckily so it happened to be just less than 20 minutes on the Sbahn line near the hotel, and then some half a mile walk. That really was very helpful and all ended quite well. It would have been a nightmare w/o help from the girls at the desk. Thanks to them again.

I really doubt that I would have gotten similar assistance in a large hotel chain unit, where they have so many processes and procedures.
So, kindly recommended to those who think they have similar expectations and needs as described above.
Not a hip or vibrant location, but for me it was perfect on those two occasions.

Room Tip: I triple checkeed I booked non-smoking. Very few available I recall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent location and nice room close to the restaurants and bakeries very good price

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mohd a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester county, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friend and I spent three nights at the Hotel Royal and could not have been more pleased with our stay. The hotel was clean, comfortable and most conveniently located. The staff was lovely and helpful. We had breakfast every morning and one dinner in the hotel....all delicious.Thank you for making our visit to Stuttgart so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for double rooms to be used for single occupancy. The space was quite large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is really well placed, right next to the Stadtmitte S'Bahn station so it is very easy to get around.

Staff are excellent, really very helpful and pleasant and always happy to help.

The rooms are quite well sized (better than some I have stayed at in Germany), but suffer from being rather warm, with no air conditioning and windows that open, but either they only open a little or too much and then bang shut.

Breakfast is OK, standard fare for this part of the world. On reflection, if I wanted to stay in the city centre, this is where I would stay, given its location, and the fact it is clean, tidy and nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

It can be difficult to find acceptable and affordable accommodation in Stuttgart. The Schlossgarten Hotel is probably the best, but these days it's way above my budget for business travel. So in February I ended up in this hotel. Some find its 'decor' charming, but really this is just the result of decades of negligence. I was put up in a room in a building across the street from the actual hotel which reminded me of going to the local council offices in a German cities in the Seventies. Only that it was dark, and very cold inside. Even though the room itself was relatively spacious, its layout didn't really make one feel comfortable.
Reception staff weren't all that helpful and couldn't really help with restaurant recommendations in the area. Breakfast was below average for a German hotel at this price level.

Room Tip: If Stuutgart is too busy, try to get a room at a hotel outside the city and commute to your meetings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stuttgart hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Wartburg Hotel
#35 of 146 in Stuttgart
99 reviews
Feuersee
Rega Hotel Stuttgart
Rega Hotel Stuttgart
#37 of 146 in Stuttgart
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Find
#93 of 146 in Stuttgart
87 reviews
Rathaus
Hotel Merit
Hotel Merit
#118 of 146 in Stuttgart
153 reviews
Hotel Centro
#63 of 146 in Stuttgart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Sophienstr. 35, 70178 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Rathaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located Hotel Royal is situated in a quiet side street, but still in the center of the state capital. The main shopping street 'Königstraße,' the Gerber Shopping Mall, and the public transportation hub Stadtmitte/Rotebühlplatz is within walking distance. Fair grounds, airport, and main train station, as well as major touristic attractions are easily accessible from here. The hotel combines modern expectations with a cozy living atmosphere in comfortably furnished guest rooms. Wifi is free of charge. The rooms are equipped with flat screen televisions, Aloe Vera beauty products, and a bottle of complimentary mineral water. The hotel's restaurant is known as a culinary highlight offering national and international cuisine. A parking-lot, as well as a parking garage are situated directly at the hotel and are available for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing