We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay here.”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay here.”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have no complaints about our stay, free parking, easy walk into the Christmas Market, comfortable bed, and a great breakfast every morning. What more can you want? It was the perfect start for our Christmas Market tour of Germany.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quadchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
57
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Most of the hotels in the city center area of Stuttgart are large business type hotels charging large, business type rates, so it was a pleasure to find the City Hotel for an affordable price. We were able to walk to the pedestrian area of the city where we visited the Christmas Market and it was a pleasant, not too far distance.

The hotel was quite easy to reach driving into Stuttgart and offered parking onsite, always a plus. The rooms were on the small side (as were the bathrooms) but adequate for sleeping which was all we really needed them for. The beds were comfortable and the duvet warm and everything was clean. Breakfast was included and was average, soft boiled eggs available on request but not all delivered, but a nice cheese selection. The hotel was booked full but quiet and served our needs very well.

Not a fancy place and leaning towards the spare or utilitarian, but if you are looking for a clean, well located place to sleep and use as a base for touring Stuttgart or the surrounding area this is a good choice. It also is a short walk to the Metro train system.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAimClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My husband and I just returned from spending two nights at the City Hotel in Stuttgart. We arrived early, but our room was ready just 10 minutes after we walked in the door. All staff members were extremely kind and courteous. The room was basic but with nice furnishings, especially the bed linens. Ditto for breakfast - it was a simple spread but with more than enough to choose from.

The location is wonderful. We took a cab from the train station when we arrived because it was raining, but it's really only a 15 or maybe 20 minute walk. It's extremely convenient to public transit as well. There is also a large supermarket practically around the corner, as well as a SubWay sandwich shop that was surprisingly still open at 11 pm.

If you're looking for something simple, comfortable, and convenient I would highly recommend this hotel. My husband has to go back to Stuttgart for one more night three days from now, and we just booked him another reservation at the City Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank American_in_Germany4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Do not know why this hotel has some bad reviews. In easy walking distance to all facilties, we arrived by car but did not use it, public transport system very impressive although not cheap at 1.1 euros to 1 GBP exchange rate. Good reccommendations for restaurants, breakfast good, room very good, overall experience very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPSYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Staying here right now. My room is tiny and outdated, the bed is tiny and the matress is very tired and old. The bathroom is small but clean. Just a warning to anyone from the west expecting even a Holiday Inn experience, its not even close. I would put it as a "Motel" at best. The location was billed as "brilliant" but I've found its even a 10-15 mintue walk from the city center which doesnt seem all that "brilliant" to me. I have a felling the rooms on the 2nd floor might be more updated b/c the 4th floor is definitley not. When its 75 and raining and their is no AC it is very tough to sleep. So damp and can get musty. Dissappointed after all the great reviews I read prior to booking. Be warned. In room #48

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thertzler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We booked a triple room as we had our 2year old son with us. The room was basic, the bathroom small but the price we paid was the most expensive hotel we paid on the whole trip (Euro 119 for one night). My husband also complained of bed bugs during the night.
The breakfast was also the most meagre we received from all the hotels we stayed at - didn't even offer still natural water (ie no gas).
The only advantage was free parking and in walking distance to the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theleavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed here three nights while on business in March. The location (on quiet side street) is close to the main walking pedestrian shopping, sites and museums. Very clean throughout. Straightforward room, nothing fancy, covers the bases.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Wartburg Hotel
#37 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Abalon Hotel Ideal
#36 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Gastehaus Ziegler
#47 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Hauptbahnhof
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Rathaus
Zauberlehrling
Zauberlehrling
#35 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Uhlandstrasse 18, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing